Chevron Left
Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
10,359件の評価
1,350件のレビュー

コースについて

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
Informative course
(132件のレビュー)
Relevant project
(132件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

BC

Apr 29, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

JC

May 26, 2017

I found this course a little bit easier that some of the previous courses, however, it allowed me to gain experience managing a larger projects that encompass several languages and multiple programs.

フィルター:

Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python: 1251 - 1275 / 1,318 レビュー

by Leonardo B L

Nov 10, 2017

Could have more hands-on exercises.

by Ankush V

Jun 28, 2018

Assignments could be a lot better

by Hoda M

Nov 02, 2019

too easy assignments, no points!

by Rohit K S

Oct 13, 2016

Could have been more hands on.

by Sorokin A

Jun 20, 2018

too easy for final capstone.

by Karttikeya M

Dec 05, 2016

It is a very light course!

by Weerachai Y

Jun 23, 2020

thanks

by Weidong X

Feb 27, 2017

good.

by Mandaliya H

Jul 13, 2020

good

by Alan M R

Jan 10, 2018

As an experienced programmer, I am disappointed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; the capstone project. Overall, the course is well structured; content switches between running a sample project and a student project. Collaberation is encouraged. Unfortunately, the example project is poorly written and buggy. I finally lost confidence in the instructor when I saw circular programming in program gmodel.py between function "fixsender" and array "mapping". The student selected project was entirely optional. There are comments in the forums from students pointing out bugs; other comments stated that the course's exercises left commenters unable to perform the final, capstone project. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Example code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

by Maytat L

Apr 22, 2020

The specialization has been great so far until this last course.

This course divides into two tracks: Normal and Honors.

Normal just simply let you complete 20+ multiple choice quiz based on knowledge in the specialization. Then you earn a certificate.

Honors track is what I disliked. Assignment lets you simply run the codes provided by the professor and get in peer-reviews. You just run it, that's all for the honors certificate. It makes sense to just run it because the professor's codes in this course were ways beyond our knowledge gained through the specialization. They were like 5 times longer and more complex. It took me days to figure out a few lines of codes but eventually you no need to understand any of it, just run it.

The improvement for the course would be bringing the codes difficulty down and let us actually edit them for the assignments.

by Cornelia C

May 29, 2020

This is my least favourite course in the specialisation. It was easy to get the certificate as it involved a test that covered principles of the previous 4 courses, which was absolutely fine. When I started course 5 I was very keen to do the honours programme - as a test of my new knowledge and a challenge of pulling together all that I have learnt in a practical project. But as I watched the first few videos, and looked at what was required I decided that the Capstone won't do that for me. It seemed like a lot of given code again (as I experiences in Course 3 with the Twitter URL and API), and merely having to run the code. I then decided not to complete the Capstone, and rather look for something where I can reinforce all my learnings. I honestly loved all that I learnt, but felt a bit let down by the ending.

by Muratcan A

Jan 05, 2018

I think this capstone course was very rushed and did not actually teach much. It gave me a lot of material (the pre-written codes) to analyze and study, though. And I'm glad for that. However the assignments were little more than "print this, press enter, take screenshot". i.e. no coding involved - which was a disappointment. I have mixed feelings about this course. I had higher expectations. The codes will be very useful, I will be studying them to really nit-pick and understand them and learn all about the functions etc. which are new to me. Other than that I'm actually not very happy about this final course of the specialization. The specialization overall was great, but it was like a great movie with a cheap ending - no climax. Sorry :)

by Jakub S

Jan 17, 2018

The last course was a disappointment. Instead of letting you use all your gained knowledge and actually wanting from you to use it, you are presented with a complete code and all lectures are just about describing the code and you just running completed scripts and putting printscreens into peer graded assignments. I get the fact that you have to know how to read scripts and the point of looking on projects that are not about just one one script, but I got the impression that this course was about nothing actually.

What a shame, because the first three courses are really enjoyable and the satisfaction from cracking the problem and writing a working script is great. This course can be completed with 0 knowledge.

by Michael D

Mar 26, 2019

This capstone could be better. The assignments are simply to run code you do not write and the grading of those assignments needs tighter, and more clear, requirements to ensure the graders see what they need to see in order to validate the assignment. The optional assignment, in my opinion, should really be the capstone and students should be required to upload their code and then present a short recording of their data project. That was how a similar capstone from a Duke University Specialization was and I felt like that was a good, real world, use case of the skills learned.

by Kunal B

May 07, 2016

As a captstonse course I expected this to be more challenging than other courses in the specialisation, especially the assignments which should have required to put in some real effort rather than simply executing pre-written scripts and uploading screenshots. Rest of the courses in the specialisation were superb, combined with the awesome teaching skills of Dr. Chuck but capstone was quite disappointing unfortunately.

by Anton S

Apr 09, 2017

Sorry to say that, but this course has nothing related to programming. I like Dr.Chuck courses, especially 2-4 in this specialization, but this course has no programming challenge and check only your ability to make screenshots. If you have any programming experience you don't need this course it doesn't pay off your time you spend for this. Sorry again, but it's my opinion.

by Alie E A A O

Aug 18, 2019

This course i don't like it at all . because i don't feel the aim of it . i don't know what is the important of visualizing the data in email or website. The instructor needs to teach the aim , Also i don't like the way of teaching programming by downloading the code and running it only. you should do it from scratch to understand it well.

by Carlos A R R

Jul 05, 2017

Assignments don't require any programming, which is disappointing for a capstone course about programming in Python.

Update: Removed one star after taking the course "Introduction to Data Science in Python" which has much better and challenging assignments. This course should require a similar project that tests all the skills learned.

by Francis C

Aug 06, 2018

Far too shallow compared to courses 1-4 of this specialization. I was just going through the motions towards the end. Really needs to be re-thought, in my opinion. Far too much "you don't need to know about these 50 lines of code" for my taste,so I didn't feel any sense of ownership of the material.

by Greg L

Aug 12, 2017

This was a shocker - spoon-fed course with zero intellectual challenge. I paid for it but value it at zero. Previously I had thought it OK for learning Python, but the capstone had zero value, and no need to write a single line of code. Pretty annoyed is my summary, a waste of time.

by Tamaz L

Jun 04, 2016

The only thing I had to do in this course regarding the required assignments was to change python 2.7 code to 3.4 as that's what I'm using.

Presentations didn't add much towards the learning either. Definite downgrade from previous courses, especially from the first three.

by Jasper R

Jan 10, 2020

Personally, I think I learned relatively little compared to the other courses. It was nice to see a bigger project which combines everything we have learned. But i preferred the other way of learning. Furthermore the whole specialization was very learnful!

by Gavrilo L

Jul 24, 2020

I think this is the worst course in the series, the code explanations are not as good as previous courses and also I wish there was a bit more guidance with what you want to do and structure for people that do NOT want to do a random project.

by Bhushan G

Aug 14, 2019

I would suggest coursera to somewhat lower the difficulty of the captone cause right away dealing with page rank and gmane was very difficult for me atleast. There should have been more smaller comparitively less difficult more projects.