Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
41,451件の評価
7,553件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM
2020年6月18日

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
2017年6月16日

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 26 - 50 / 7,440 レビュー

by Matt M

2016年3月4日

Took the first two courses which were fine but this one started off poorly and just got worse, unfortunately. I'm wondering if I can get my money back.

by Hakan T

2019年12月31日

Horrible TAs. They should all be changed. They are extremely rude and annoying.

by Minhao S

2019年6月29日

teaching staff.......no good, helpless

by SHARATH C

2020年5月28日

explanation was not up to the mark.

by Asem A N

2019年5月23日

really hard assignments

by Misha S

2018年11月30日

Time wasting & rubish

by J A M

2015年12月23日

Yet another excellent course... My prior reviews were so ravingly positive that I now feel compelled to offer a very minor area of potential improvement: Dr. Chuck might have considered going a bit deeper into Geojson API and perhaps even done a second API. Also there were some glitches in the Geojson assignment: My python Spyder was left frozen a couple times before I got things working.

I understand that some students would have complained due to the length of Week 6, but if you requested the simple first assignment completion after the first 10 minutes of video lecture, you could have snuck in two concrete API assignments later on. Also, you could have had a Week 7 with the second API and alternate Web Access assignments. In sum, I was left wishing I had a bit more API experience.

Nevertheless, I give this class 4.75 stars, which rounds up to the usual 5 stars. I've completed three of Dr. Chuck's classes and I'm on the fourth. Dr. Chuck is the incarnation of the super MOOC professor. Long live Dr. Chuck!

by Michael O

2019年10月29日

Disclaimer: If you're taking the Python for Everybody Specialization, I HIGHLY suggest starting the Python 3 Programming Specialization (also University of Michigan) after completing the first two courses. Get to Week 2 of Course 1 in that specialization and then start Course 3 of Python for Everybody.

I really appreciate the University of Michigan and the staff involved in providing these courses.I completed the first two courses of Python for Everybody and started the Python 3 Programming Specialization (another University of Michigan specialization) before taking this course.Unlike the first two courses in this specialization, I do not feel like I've committed the code to memory. Especially when it comes to XML. I can comfortably talk someone through the steps of working with XML/JSON, but would likely need to look up the syntax to code it (which I hope was the intention of the course).

by Miguel A V C

2021年3月29日

I had low expectations for this course as the most helpful reviews complained that content was rushed and assignments were difficult. However, I found this course really enjoyable and easy. I think that people is complaining because they were spoon-fed too much on courses 1 and 2 of this specialisation. I only had to look for help on the forums once, and to be honest the teaching staff is a wee bit unhelpful and often confuses people more.

My background: I started python from scratch with this specialisation and only have 20 months of experience in programming with MATLAB.

by Kaida Z

2017年7月3日

This course is great to introduce you to regular expression, HTML, XML and JSON. Based on this course, you may dive into many other materials to further learning how to use python to access web data.

by Avisek G

2017年9月13日

The course teaches the basics of how to interact with the internet using Python. The course is simple, well explained, has great interviews with people who were part of the creation of the internet.

by Ichiro H

2019年7月8日

Great course for introduction to parse Web Data. However, google map and twitter API seems to be changed a lot, so those examples won't work any more. It took me a few days to figure that out and felt a bit stressful. Hope re-recording take place soon so that many other students would not stuck there.

by Nicolas C

2019年5月18日

I think that the average user will be overexerted by the complexity of this course after week 4. You have to consider that most participants barely have experience in programming at all and I am pretty sure that some will get lost, lose interest and definitely will not be able to reproduce this kind of web scraping for their own projects.

The step from scraping through simple HTML to using libraries and APIs was too much in my opinion.

by Ayush B

2019年2月9日

I would give 0 stars if I could

by Evgeny K

2021年2月17日

When I was about to start this course after the introductory ones, I was a little upset by the reviews I spotted. The average rate of this course is high, yet the "most useful" reviews are negative. Maybe because of this, my own opinion about the course is "well above expectations". I will try to address most common points of criticism from other reviews, and hope this helps future students to make a decision.

First, it has been claimed that the difficulty of this course is so much higher than in the previous two courses of specialization. I would not say so. Surely, it is more difficult, since it is expected that the students progress as they learn, but I have not felt that the material was enormously sophisticated. Also, the "entertainment" pieces have made a good deal of pushing the brain to relax.

Then, it has been argued that the stuff in the forums is not polite and does not want to help, mainly making fun of the students. To tell the truth, I have not used forums much. I have asked one question and looked at about 20 most recent conversations at random. I have to say that I noticed noting rude in the stuff replies. In contrast to many other courses I have attended, the forum is alive, which is great! I have received a polite and comprehensive answer to my question in just about 4 hours, amazing! One thing is that the stuff is extremely attentive wiping out the code of the assignments and preventing discussions spoiling correct quiz answers. This may seem "rude" to somebody loving to have the assignments partially disclosed in the forums - but guys, we are not for cheating here.

Finally, I will cite some reviews. "Some assignments basically require you to have previous programming experience"; "If you're a professional looking to learn Python for the first time, you're better off buying a book that provides the answer to an exercise with step-by-step rationale for the process"; "There was not a single assignment that I did not have to rely on reading tons of extra info from Overstack or other coding sites.". "The explanations are lacking and I'm left super confused."

I would say - nothing personal, everybody has its own opinion, and impressions can be different. But these seem incorrect _to me_. Yes, this course does require some prior programming skills - but this is course 3 in the specialization, and previous courses are intended to get the required experience. As for the book - I cannot imagine number of pages (guess would be thousands) to cover every bit of access to each type of web data step by step from scratch. The same about lack of details. Come on, you cannot expect learning, say, XML at the level sufficient to apply for a job after 30-60 minutes of lectures! This is enough to give an impression and possibly guide the students in future courses choice, but not to start as a professional programmer. Moreover, I am not sure I will need to parse json a lot, and I would be unhappy to have a separate course on this. Yet, it is good to know that such thing exist not to be confused facing it, and the lectures in this course are perfectly suitable. As for the assignments being poorly related to the in-class material... Well, I would say I have been upset by the _presence_ of too detailed "working examples" preceding the assignments! I ended up with making my assignment first and then watching the example to possibly find some drawbacks in my work. And I have never used anything besides the examples provided in the textbook and python documentation to pass the assignments.

Ok, I feel that I have written too much already. The last point is about the amount of assignments. During the previous courses it seemed to me that there could be more of programming tasks - 1 or 2 per week is not enough to cover, say, lists, which is essential to whatever you use Python in future. (On the other hand, since we have learned the basics, a lot of calculus tasks are available to us for practice on our own) Well, as for _this_ course, I feel that the assignments are just fine. I cannot claim that I can solve some arbitrary json or xml issue - but if I need, I have gained proper basement to learn the necessary details and features and to understand tutorials.

Hope this helps future students whether they enroll in this course or no.

by Rory P

2016年9月23日

Professor Severance is awesome. I really like how each video is an in-depth look at a specific example and that he tells you what to ignore and when. I think his sense of what's important is spot on as I've already started to apply some of his lessons to personal work and find that as I work through personal projects, the next question I have is usually covered in the next lecture or soon thereafter. The videos build on one another in a very coherent manner and the assignments are applicable to what you learned. I think the assignments could be a little more challenging and that more references to the book should be included in the lectures as the book is also very helpful and a great primer for each week's material, especially when it comes to understanding parsing XML and JSON more. I think more chapters on this in the book could be very helpful though.

by Sarvesh M

2020年11月26日

This is the third course of Python for Everybody specialization. I love this specialization and I hope whoever took this specialization is greatly benefited by this specialization. I started with the first course which laid the foundation of my python journey. That first lecture in which we learnt the hardware of computers got me a lot more interested in computers and technology. I have to thank UMICH and Coursera for all these courses and I have to thank the instructor, Dr. Chuck for this wonderful specialization. I look forward to meet you in the next course of this specialization which is Using Databases with Python. Thanks a lot and I would encourage anyone who is planning to learn python programming to enroll in this specialization and complete it. This is just awesome if you want to learn python programming. Thansks a lot.

by Ed H N C

2020年11月1日

Thank You Lord for the strength!!!

Thank You for the support of my family for not bothering me during days and days of solving these assignments.

Thank you DOST Caraga for the the learning opportunity.

Thank you for the loads and loads of coffee.

#HardLife!

by Monirul H

2020年4月12日

It's not that easy like previous two courses. But I'm glad that I had a little bit idea about regular expressions, networking, xml and REST before starting this course.

by Ashwin L

2021年2月20日

The course gives good start to python programming. Wanted little extra knowledge on the data structures in python but that maybe a story in some other python course.

by Prajanand k

2021年1月30日

Using Python to Access Web Data of good coursed of python skil

by Ayatullah K

2020年11月19日

The first two courses needed to completed this course successfully.

I have previous experienced of programming with c++ and javascript. So this wasn't

difficult to me. However, I have learned a lot of about web services. How to retrieve

web data with python and manipulate them. From week 1 to week 4 was, how can you

retrieve web pages, how to request a server and get back web data using some python

libraries like urllib(a python library to retrieve web page). Overall, for the assignments

you have to know programming logic a little bit. After retrieve web pages you need to work

with data. So you have to know conditon, loop, list, dict etc. All the assignments of this

course is calculate sum or count of a list of data.

The last two weeks you will get familiar with xml and json. These two is the communication system for

service provider and consumer. How easy they communicate and exchange their data.

It uses for the service oriented approach mostly.

by HARSHIT n

2020年7月19日

This course is very good except the API part. I think they must upgrade this part and elaborate this concept.

by Juan D L L

2020年8月28日

I think the integration between extracting data from local documents (2nd course) to extracting data from web documents (this course) was awesome. I have some experience managing JSON and HTML syntax, and I had no problems on the assignments. However, the course's covering REST and APIs were rushed, and I think the assignments were not that challenging, because they could be done by modifying the last lines of the provided sample code (I recommend writing all the code by yourself).

If you want to have full understanding of the concepts involved in this course, you have to research A LOT. But, as Dr. Chuck said, the goal here is to at least tell you that that stuff exists.

by Alexander C

2015年11月18日

Compared to other Python Courses I have taken this is course has no meat on them bones and is NOT worth $80 at all even for a certificate. However for FREE? ok. Worth the introduction to some useful tools. Spend your time and money on a more valuable course like Fundamentals of Computing Specialization, which is awesome, and is about the same price as of this writing.

This course offers no challenge, little content, and the assignments let me down. Assignments are basically handed to you where you only need to alter one line of text to get the right answer on what is supposed to take an hour.

Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python thru Rice U has content and weekly mini projects that really push your learning ability and after taking the courses, I felt like I really got something out of it.

This course barely scratches the surface of "Accessing Web Data" and does nothing to challenge your coding skills. The positive side, it introduces you to Web API's, the basics of Beautiful Soup, and other BUZZWORDS. At least structure assignments to combine all of the efforts learned in previous chapters onto one another.

Side note... what is the professor doing filming lectures on vacation or at lunch? This does nothing to add to the content of the course and is distracting and unprofesh.

The meaningless assignments let me down.