Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
34,019件の評価
6,091件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 76 - 100 / 5,960 レビュー

by Barrie C

Apr 12, 2019

Dr. Chuck again does not disappoint. This class gets into the nitty gritty of web scraping using html, xml, JSON and APIs such as Google geo and Twitter. A lot of the framework is given to you in the sample code, but the trick is modifying the code for the specific task they give you, so reading the book chapter and paying close attention in the lectures to how each format is structured will help you. Also use the forum if you need to--if you have already programmed before and sailed through the first two classes in the specialization, this class may surprise you with its increased rigor but once again Dr. Chuck and his staff on the forum will get you up to speed.

by Xavier Y

May 23, 2018

Excellent course, I highly recommend it. Ch. Severance is an excellent instructor, I must have said it already twice, but I can still say it again!

This course didn't make me an expert in accessing Web data, but tought me basic knowledge of what Web Services are and how to work with them in Python. Before, I have heard a bit about these concepts, but I was reluctant to using them because I didn't understand what they actually were. Now, I'm way more confident about this, and I know I'd happily delve into more advanced tutorials or courses on this topic if I needed to. This is the best profit I made from this course. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck, see you in a next course!

by Luis W D M

Aug 29, 2019

As the two first courses in the "Python for Everyone Specialization", this course is great. I had never done any programming in retrieving data from the web before and it was really fun being capable of learning and doing it.

However, since the lecture videos exploit a lot of the API set ups for Google and Twitter services, I expected assignments would demand these kind of things. On the other hand, as it is a begginer's course, I thought extremely useful as my first contact in retrieving data in different formats (html, xml, json) and in understanding what an API is.

Once again, thanks for Professor Severance and all the staff supporting this specialization!

by Mir A

Nov 15, 2016

I have got a very handsome introduction to the regular expressions , web services and API . The lectures are very easy to follow. It is better to answer the quizzes right after watching the vdo lectures. The questions are mostly from what has been described in the lecture. The assignments are a little more insightful. May require basic google searches to acquire knowledge of accessing the data structures. The assignments addresses rudimentary practical problems but very substantial for starters in this field of programming. Thanks to Dr Chuck. The course is very well organized and have materials to hold the attention of the person who is following the lectures.

by Yashodeep P

Jan 05, 2020

This course is a really good head start to know more about the web and how to parse data from the web.Dr. Chuck explained all the details very well and the assignments are comprehensive. In the initial weeks, the assignments are simple and not so complicated, but as the course advances, you will spend hours to figure out the assignment. At times this is often frustrating but once you get the final answer correct, the accomplishment makes you very happy.I really loved the course and would be looking for other material online to get a deeper knowledge on this subject. Apart from that, I will definitely enroll in all other courses under this specialization.

by Malhar B

Jul 01, 2018

Great instructor, great class, and very easy to follow. I learned a LOT!My only critique, is that many times when I am trying to fully understand how some code works within the presentation, the presentation will suddenly show the instructor speaking briefly, and then go back to the code. We don't need to see Steve. When he's trying to explain how code works during the presentation, just show the code. This allows me to understand what's going on while he's still speaking. Otherwise I need to pause the video, and by that point I'm no longer focused on what he was talking about.Otherwise, this course is near perfect, and I've learned a ton from it. Thanks

by Nikita N

Feb 19, 2017

Amazingly excellent course. Many thanks for Dr. Chuck for creating that. Everything explained very well, enabling doing simple steps to quickly achieving results. For those who alreay know some programming I would really recommend starting from this course and skipping the first 2 courses. Skipping means it's better to read the first 10 chapters Dr. Chucks's book through and start this course right after that. It will save your time allowing not ot do too simple tasks but just read about the Python syntax. The course is also great because of Dr. Chuck's talent to explaing everything with fun and ease. Definitely 6 stars out of 5 for the course!

by Kainka

Mar 01, 2017

This is not another general Python course which leaves you with an 'idea' of what can be done and you struggle to actually do it. This course is in fact giving you all the relevant tools you need and leaves you with a set of practical skills allowing you to write Python codes to extract Web Data that can be used for further analysis. Creating a web browser, screen scraping, parsing XML, or JSON are among the actual skills you're getting and this is all possible thanks to the first class lectures and materials provided by Dr. Chuck. He has a particular talent and desire to teach and explain things to you so you will understand them for good.

by Shubhankar S

Jun 11, 2020

I am really grateful to the instructors especially Tamara ma'am. They have never let your morale down and keep boosting your confidence and skills. Whenever I was in trouble, those daily tips for solving the assignment always lead you to your goal closer and closer one at a time instead of giving all the hints at once for helping us understand the contents of the course. And truly I became one of Dr Chuck's fans. I was in awe of his teaching skills and it was good to hear his lectures and explaining hard concepts in a pretty satirical way.Thank you so much and I hope that Dr.Chuck and the teaching staff have seen my appreciation message.

by Jason J

Dec 05, 2017

Dr. Chuck Severance is an excellent teacher. Between his book and the video lectures, I feel 100% comfortable with the material. Granted, this is still a broad overview and we didn't dive too deep (this is a good thing) into REGEX, XML, JSON, along with different libraries (urllib, beautiful soup, etc) but I'm no longer intimidated by the terms and have a great understanding of at least what they are and why there are used. This class is a great foundation upon which one can build with further study. I'm looking forward to finishing the database course and then continuing on the next Python Data Science track offered by UMich.

by Shannon R

Oct 20, 2017

I absolutely loooooooove Charles. His teaching style is so clean and concise, this is clearly his divine purpose in life. The order in which the information is presented is perfect, I feel like I am finally able to make sense of how my computer actually works and does stuff on a daily basis. His passion for this material definitely translates in every lecture, which makes me excited for each new topic. I love the visualizations he includes or draws because it really gives me a grasp of how a program is working as we progress through each component of the program. I wish he taught the data science course too. Thank you Charles!

by Do H L

Jan 05, 2016

Dr. Chuck is an exceptionally-inspiring teacher. He explains complex concepts like XML, JSON, HTTP, API, RegEx in such an eloquent and down-to-earth fashion that despite having the videos at x2.0 speed, I can grasp everything he tries to deliver. Amazing! This course, and many other Dr. Chuck's courses, are really how online courses should be. Excellent instructor, fair share of hands-on programming assignments.

However, I just hope that there are many more programming assignments, maybe many optional challenging, extensive programming assignments or even projects would be an ultimate Coursera experience.

by Sidra F A

May 31, 2018

There are times in this course when you would want to go and hug Dr Chuck for making it so simple and easy to understand few of the most complex concepts in language and specially for people having no prior knowledge of the subject. One gets this feeling quite often "keep going, you can do this, its easy".

Also, this will be my first ever course on coursera that I'll complete and not just leave in the middle because this is how an online course should be - doesn't waste time, has condense information in every minute of the video lectures and stays true to topics without going under/overboard.

by Jenkins P S J

May 22, 2020

The course content is excellent. The way of teaching of the great Dr Chuck is very engaging. This is the third course I have taken under him and surely, he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He breaks down the contents into nice little pieces and presses one those areas which are important. The assignments are a bit challenging compared to the previous two courses and encompasses everything that are thought in the course. The bonus contents are awesome and love watching them after doing the assignments. Overall, as a great learning experience with Dr Chuck as it always will be.

by Maksym S

Nov 16, 2015

I'm not exactly new to python, but my typical use-cases looked more like hacking rather then conscious programming.

Said all this, I've found the first block - introduction to Python, to be very basic and slow paced, but starting from the Web it is all good stuff only.

It deserves to become one of the coursera classics. Great combination of pedagogical talent, humor an knowledge of the subject. It also tremendously helps that the course is backed by the book so it is always possible to look back for that "Introduction to Python" part, that I've skipped ;)

by beliefs22

Jan 01, 2016

I've taken a number of courses on Python through Coursera and this was the first course that I was able to follow through to completion, and I believe that is a combination of Dr. Chucks teaching style, and the activities he uses to convey the information. It was amazing to learn about things like using APIs and mixing python with Databases in a way I could understand at my level of programming knowledge, and it enabled me to start thinking about my own projects in a completely new way.

I'm really looking forward to completing the capstone project.

by Michael R

Jun 07, 2016

This course has been a Godsend to me. I was so confused about so many things and all the other resources I could find out there just assumed that I knew things about which I was, in fact, clueless. I got the book and watched a lot of the lectures twice but in the end I really feel like I got it. The assignments were manageable and doable after the course lectures and I have gone back and done a number of them over again to solidify things in my mind. I feel like the web is my friend now, not a source of cheap tricks and booby traps. Thanks!

by Joe W

Jun 15, 2017

While I'm an experienced programmer I'm relatively new to Python and had never done anything with either XML or JSON before this course. Yet here I am understanding it all and successfully doing genuinely useful things with them in Python.

There can't be that many courses that can get a beginner useful in just six sets of lessons. Novice programmers should take this at the recommended pace and do not move on until you have 100% on all assessment items. Experienced programmers should be able to complete this in a couple of days. I did. :)

by Jarosław G

Oct 14, 2018

I am totally new to programming. I have experience working in a technical environment

and have a lot to do with IT in my daily job, but I wanted to learn something new. I made

different attempts to learn to programm, but all of them failed. Now, I have been doing the whole module

of Python for Everybody (5 courses) and I am enjoying it a lot. Lectures by Dr Chuck are really insporational, well prepared and

easy to understand to a person who does not have any experience with programming.

I am becoming more and more involved into python:).

by Juan O L

Jan 20, 2016

I think this course is a really good overview of how to use Python to retrieve web data using the two most common data interchange formats: XML and JSON. Not only that, but you also get a brief yet good introduction to what XML and JSON are, as well as the basics of network communication and regular expressions. I was hoping the assignments would be a bit more challenging, but the free textbook provides additional exercises to practice with. As always, Dr. Chuck's style helps makes this course (and his other ones) a great one.

by Juan D

Jul 08, 2016

I learnt Python with the introductory course "Programming for Everybody". Then, I completed this course and it added a whole lot of tools to my knowledge. It is amazing how much you can accomplish in such a short course. The assignments are very well oriented, so by basically modifying the code you wrote for this class you can already do a lot. It also gives you a very good basic knowledge about web programming, so you can now understand and interpret many things and concepts you are seeing all the time. I recommend it a lot.

by AKANKSHYA N

Jul 21, 2020

This course is like the cheery on the top. It makes you use the web data , you will learn about retrieving the html, xml pages and you can even search for any particular element and also can add up any element from the source page. The best part is in the last week of this course, where it teaches about how you can use APIs of googlemaps, twitter . At the end you will be able to write a program of 30 lines to just take input of any location(even some parts of it) and it will give you back complete info about it. Loving it:)

by Sarfuddin A T

Aug 08, 2020

Dr. Chuck is an expert and an efficient teacher of the course. However for me his lectures were sometimes pretty fast when I had difficulty following him and its very normal in a online course. I faced difficulty mainly in the week 4 and week 5 specially webpage parsing using xmlTree where I took longer time then normal. However Teaching staff from the course patiently provided suggestion for correctly solving the problems.

Thanks are due to both University of Michigan and Courera for arranging Dr. Chucks courses.

by Derek O

Oct 16, 2017

Great course all around, truly feel like I learned a lot! Really appreciate how Dr. Chuck takes concepts and topics that could easily get mixed up or "over-thought" (my bad habit haha) and orders them in a way that flows well and makes sense to the relative rookie like myself. Thanks so much for making someone who used to think he'd never be able to code feel like "Hey I can do this stuff!" It will make a huge difference in my career and my personal confidence. Please keep making great courses! =) - Kind regards, Derek

by Mohd A N

Jul 18, 2020

This is the 3rd course of the Python specialisation that I've completed from Coursera and taught by Dr. Charles Severance. This one was far-most the most teaching centred of all the three, and now I feel I've a good command on python to write my own back to intermediate programme. I even built an Instagram video downloader with the knowledge I gathered from this course.And as always, Dr. Chuck is a really interesting instructor, plus his website is the perfect place you could simulate your learnings.Happy learning!