Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
28,533件の評価
5,129件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

DA

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 4076 - 4100 / 5,007 レビュー

by Antoine C

Mar 13, 2017

Dr. Chuck's explanations are clear and all the lessons are easy to follow: focus on relevant web technologies, perfect pace, examples based on popular APIs. As someone with some basic knowledge in programming already I was expecting the assignments to be more challenging. As clearly announced on the website this course is targeted at beginners who took the previous courses from the same teacher: all exercises can be solved in about 10-15 lines of code and the solutions can be directly applied from the videos without much further thinking. The rest of you will, like me, breeze through it in no time. Kudos for the interesting interview videos proposed as bonus material!

by Jane C

Mar 15, 2016

There were so many new libraries and concepts introduced in the last two chapters. It became a little bit confusing and overwhelming. Yes, a huge part of coding is picking up new tools on the spot, but it would be great to understand the fundamental theories behind how some of these libraries and concepts work at least once before being plunged into that reality! Also, I think that being overwhelmed could cause a lot of students to simply quit before they have really understood how the resources out there (documentation, etc.) could help them. Also, as the students start have to read multiple docs, etc. the time expectations per week should be increased.

by Timothy S

Jan 16, 2016

great energy and great class.

1. nice assignment website, but it could use a bit file up-load and nosetest to held automate grading.

2. I wish they have more web robot, crawling, interesting problem examples.

3. peer review would be nice, so a better read-able pythonic programming style can be nurtured.

4. wondering if the course grading website can be done in ipython notebook.

4. I guess the instructor mention using RESTful, it could be also nice to have an assignment or

project to make a REST server with some database(sql-ed or sql-less).

After all there a are lot of big data out there to be accessed and processed.

by Akash T

Jan 11, 2016

An extremely well-structured and useful course. As someone who had only syntactical familiarity with Python, this course taught me a great deal about the ease and power of the language. Moreover, the technical knowledge included (APIs, RegEx, etc) is highly relevant and practical.

Given that it's part of an introductory series, the difficulty level of the assignments is understandable. But providing some more rigorous optional assignments can be a welcome addition to the course.

That being said, I would recommend it to anyone looking to explore Python and the power it grants with its simplicity.

by Tiago F S

Jun 04, 2017

Using Python to Access Web Data is a good and short course, but do not expect to go deep, as it is a part of the Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python), and not an advanced course on programming. It is an excellent course for getting a taste of using Python to access data on the web.The course only lacks more live coding with more difficult examples, so the student could see a real programmer line of thought.I've used Python 3, the examples are not hard to port to Python 3, and if you are stuck trying to use Python try you can ask for help in the Python community.

by Diep T

Mar 11, 2020

I find the target of the course, to use Python to access web data, extremely useful. Been always wondered how to do it, and now at the end of the course, I've made myself familiar with these techniques. The only reason I didn't give it a 5-star is I feel like it can made more focused by giving a lot more practice and examples about what we will actually use, and maybe forget about scratching the surface when mentioning the lower level of http. I find it sort of frustrating just copy and past some lines of codes from the lecture and didn't really know it is.

by Anne W

Dec 05, 2019

I think the course has some room for improvement, e.g. the quiz questions eps. in the first couple of weeks didn't exactly seem to fit with the content of the videos - this was different in previous courses. If additional reading of the textbook materials was required, it should have been explicitly mentioned. Also, their are some hickups with the disconnect between the content of the videos and the actual state of the google and twitter API, but I think for the assignements it was nicely solved, so no issue there. Overall very content with the course.

by André C V

Oct 09, 2017

Very instructive and interesting. Was able to understand the basic of Web Data and will be able to easily get deeper into it if I wish so after having a solid basic knowledge.

I do, however, have a couple of constrcutive comments:

1st - Is it possible to release a couple of commented alternative solutions to the graded assignments to those who have already passed it? This would help us students to learn even more.

2nd- Please keep the Quiz questions solely to contents discussed on the video lectures. (some questions were not discussed in the videos)

by Alessandra T C

Oct 08, 2018

Sadly in comparison with the first two courses of this specialization in 'Using Python to Access Web Data' the difficulty increases exponentially. For me it was definitely harder to keep the pace with all the infos. Instead of the office hours and the interviews to VIPs and other relevant people to the field I'd like to see more worked exercises. Also, after May 25 2018 both Google and Twitter changed their policies about the retrieval of data. So it was impossible to follow the instuctions step by step on how to build an API in Twitter.

by Calvin B

May 18, 2017

I loved this course, however, there is some room for improvement:

(a) Putting code side-by-side with video of Dr Chuck (like it was done in previous lectures) would be better.

(b) Make the end-of-week assignments more challenging. I felt that the quizzes were good, but, the coding assignments were too easy and the solution was practically spoon fed.

Other than that, the course was really good. Dr Chuck is a natural in front of the camera. I also really enjoyed some of the more complex code samples presented during the lectures.

by Jason A

Oct 27, 2017

Great coverage of the material, however some of the sample scripts were nearly complete and required little, if any, modification to complete the assignment. They clearly tried to find the balance between providing challenging exercises and providing working packages of scripts so that students can accomplish more complicated tasks using additional tools that are, on their own, beyond the scope of the project. I just think they could have provided a bit less to make some of the later exercises a bit more challenging.

by Hyun K

Apr 19, 2019

I found this course to be a lot harder than the previous 2 (which is not an issue per se). I feel like I understand a much smaller proportion of the content than the other courses and I am having to copy a lot of code without truly understanding what they achieve (I merely know that I must for the code to function properly). The last task in particular didn't even require me to change any of the code from 'you will write a python program somewhat similar to... '. Was I supposed to write all of that from scratch?

by akash p

Feb 26, 2020

The course was good. I got to learn so much things, though it was introductory and just basic in nature but it gave me an idea that what I can do next.

I learnt Regex, parsing data using XML and JSON and Beautiful Soup. I think that there needs to be a little more depth to these topics. Though it was overall a good experience my suggestion would be to include a project at last that requires to do a real world problem solving where the students can apply their knowledge on each of the skills learnt.

by titus l

Jun 29, 2016

This course got very technical very suddenly which was really fun! From normal python to regular expression python, to surfing the web with python (by suddenly writing a web browser) and then suddenly using python to leverage on APIs. Each chapter is a really fun quantum leap in understanding!

However, I felt that the lectures could be better delivered for that chapter (less wordy, chunky notes, more examples) because it's really a whole new world each time.

Really worth the time and effort though!

by Kanishtha D

May 28, 2020

The twitter api chapters confused me a lot during the later stages. But i think the assignments and quizzes are very very well thought for such a complex set of topics otherwise students just get lost and get stuck at some assignments and quit altogether! 1 star deducted because i thought Dr. Chuck could have explained the worked twitter api assignment in a better way as he got stuck in some places and it confused me lot at that moment! However the exercise made things very clear so over happy!

by Francesco B

Jan 07, 2017

Nice course, you get an introduction to using python to access different types of widely used formats of web data.

I liked that, apart from showing how to "get the stuff done" with Python, the course also explores a bit of the history of each of the tyeps explored and tries to "scratch the surface" about how each of them works.

On the down side: I think the code already provided for each assignment is too much. One ends up not writing his/her own code, if not for a couple of additional lines.

by Tan Y H J

May 28, 2018

Professor Chuck could have reviewed the more difficult concepts in greater detail or by providing more worked examples. For example, in the quiz for Week 6, the concepts of REST and SOAP were not covered in the presentation slides but were tested in the quiz. In the HTML week, I found the assignments hard because of inadequate knowledge of the various tags which exist in html code. This is a challenging course but not impossible to learn. More resources would be greatly appreciated, though.

by Dumidu H

Jun 21, 2017

A well thought out course which goes above and beyond just teaching you how to code python. You get to hear from some of the pioneers, shapers, and creators of network related technologies on how they were able to do the things they have done and how what they did changed the course of the technology. Pretty cool.

Tip: Avoid using an IDE if you want remember what you learn better. The chances of something blowing up in your face is more but because of it you will remember better.

by Joel T

Nov 14, 2015

This course is well-developed and well-delivered. If one is a complete novice, start at the beginning of this specialty on one's own schedule (on demand at the speed of light) and at an affordable price ($0) and be confident of significant advances in one's knowledge of internet function, in general, and Python, in particular. It is a brave new world. I often feel like Wylie Coyote staring through my toes. Suddenly realizing things have changed. This course fixes that feeling.

by Levi M

Jun 05, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and found that I am feeling more confident with my skills from the previous two. However, as a point of improvement I would suggest making the final module a bit more challenging. Perhaps this was intentional but, although the final module introduces JSON well, I don't feel as though my skills improved while doing it. (Then again, the counter argument could be that it is good practice and repetition before moving on to anything too much harder...)

by Yinglu W

Mar 25, 2020

This course is well structured. I really like how it introduces the high-level knowledge in the first 3 weeks and becomes more hands-on in the later of the class. My only complaint is some of the materials are out-dated. For example, lots of the tasks can be handled by urllib3 but urllib and urllib2 are heavily along the course. urllib3 is not just a simply upgrade from urllib2, it has a lot more functions. And the "bonus materials" section is bit lame to be honest.

by Santhosh C

Apr 16, 2020

I am an Electrical Engineer with some experience in coding using MATLAB. I have completed the two courses in this specialization before this one. A lot a material is covered and Dr Chuck has explained the important parts. Spending time on reading more material using the course syllabus as a guide would be very useful. Assignments in the middle of the course required plenty of time and effort, otherwise assignments are easy once you understand what is being asked.

by Johanna G

Feb 10, 2020

This course was a good as the first two. Charles Severance is really a great instructor. As a total beginner in programming, this course was a bit harder for me than the first two ones, but through a lot of reading and tasks, you can easily follow the course. I rate this course with 4 stars because I would have liked to have a few more examples to explain and deepen the new content. But, to sum up - I can really recommend this course and want to say thank you!

by Paul J M

Mar 03, 2016

This course covers a lot of ground at a pretty fast pace. It's not going to teach every aspect of the subjects covered--it couldn't possibly do so in the time--but it teaches enough to allow students to ask the right questions later.

I would like to see more searching practical exercises to cement the learning. The existing assignments follow quite closely the worked examples which means those coding along with Dr chuck aren't going to have too much more to do.

by Tushar s

Jun 20, 2018

This course is like, even if you are beginner you are brought to the advanced level learning materials easily. You wouldn't know that with such basic knowledge you can understand this course very well. You are honed with the skills with the excellent technologies and you will learn how to use it.Dr.Chuck and his team have done really a great job teaching stuff. They are absolutely great. His team is working hard to teach people stuff and correct their doubts.