Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
42,283件の評価
7,717件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content

(256件のレビュー)

Practical assignments

(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM

2020年6月18日

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA

2020年4月23日

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 6101 - 6125 / 7,609 レビュー

by Zihan Z

2019年10月8日

-

by Kunigari V K

2018年11月3日

-

by Ekramullah C

2018年9月26日

o

by Lawanya D

2018年7月22日

f

by JPFv2.0

2018年2月6日

G

by Istvan P

2017年12月13日

Y

by Hassan M

2016年10月12日

G

by Achinta D

2016年6月22日

.

by Lezlie B

2016年2月7日

g

by Miguel P

2016年1月14日

c

by Tom G

2017年1月20日

This is the third of 5 courses in Python 2.7, so the full 5 courses are excellent for a Beginner to become a solid Intermediate, this Web Access course alone should only be taken by those with some Python programming experience (like the prior 2 beginning courses on programming and data structures in Python). I did the course using Python 3.5, from Anaconda, after starting the more challenging MIT 6.00 courses (2 of them), which use 3.5 but are faster paced yet with more challenging problems. [Some issues switching from 2.7 to 3.5 -- there now is a revised Open Source book using py3x] Dr. Chuck's course offers true high quality learning but allowing me to work my 40 hrs /week and do the course, altho it took me two sessions to finish. Now fully completed after switching to the next later session. NOTE - these MOOCs allow one to switch to the next session when one falls behind; this is better for getting TA help in the forums when there is a problem. Thanks!

(above is same as Class Central, below is new)

How could it be improved? By having for each required assignment a similar but more difficult optional assignment, which can be further discussed in the forums. I'd expect that switching auto-grade assignments & sample code to be py3.5, especially the print() change, would be fairly easy and allow students to choose which version to do the assignment it.

by suzy s

2017年6月12日

I really appreciate all of Dr. Chuck's lectures and courses. On this one though, I missed the 'picture in picture' feature of the slides- in courses 1 & 2 the slide content was always visible (with Dr. Chuck lecturing in a split screen), but in this course the content is interlaced with the video of Dr. Chuck, and it makes it harder to see what's going on with the code and his annotations when it's flipping back and forth between his face and what he's doing. I didn't know how much I appreciated that slide format until it was gone! I also prefer the long (40min/lecture) format, as opposed to all these short units as separate video things-- it made it much harder to go back and find/rewatch something because I couldnt remember what short segment the topic was covered in, as opposed to just searching a giant transcript. Also (maybe this is just me?) the links to navigate within the course aren't there (just below the floating 'coursera' header), so I had to constantly go to the home page and re-find my place after submitting assignments- extra aggravating with the increased number of shorter videos. But, I felt content is 5/5 as always- just didn't like the new presentation format. I write this only as feedback, not a complaint, I'm truly very grateful and pleased with the courses.

by Peter K

2021年12月14日

Although considerably harder than the first two courses, it is still mostly well explained and worthy of 4 stars. Where it falls down is in the JSON section I think. Although I agree that XML is richer, it is not harder to use: in fact, I think it is easier (but that may be my bias of 25 years' exposure to SGML/XML with a language that processes SGML/XML *brilliantly* but is almost exclusive to publishing (OmniMark). The JSON nested dictionaries and lists are just plain confusing and hard to read IMHO and if you did not have the sample code it would be very hard to complete the first assignment of Week 6. The bit that Chuck fails to point out about XML is that it has an inherent bias to handling complex *documents* rather than extracts of repetitive data. It is impossible to mimic Docbook or any other complex document with JSON, and it was a bit annoying that this key point was omitted (or at least I don't recall it being pointed out - all that was said was JSON is better, easier, preferrable, etc.). Overall though, this was a very good course again, though if you had little expeience of either XML or JSON, you could struggle and/or will take longer to fathom this course.

by Robert E

2020年8月11日

Some of the instructions for the assignments were vague. For example, I spent entirely too much time trying to use regular expressions with the first Beautiful Soup assignment. I eventually found a staff post in the discussion forum saying not to use regular expressions, but that information would have been very helpful in the assignment's instructions, especially given that substantial video lecture time was spent on regular expressions. Also, I think the time estimates for assignment completion were unrealistic (and unnecessary) in this course. In the first two courses of the Python for Everybody specialization, I finished all of the lectures and assignments much quicker than the estimated time. In this course, it took me much longer than the estimated time. On the whole, though, I'm very pleased with the course. I learned far more effectively than I would have by just reading a book on Python.

by A-A-ron

2017年2月5日

Once again, another excellent course from Dr. Chuck. However, the Coursera format has changed from that of the previous two courses and the submission of quizzes and assignments are now locked; they don't show progress or get marked as completed unless you purchase the certification. So, if you're auditing the course, don't bother with the quizzes and don't expect the course to show your progress (mine still says I'm on week one) or be marked as completed in your profile even though you've watched all the videos and submitted the assignments.Dr. Chuck, I understand that University of Michigan has to find a way to monetize these courses. However, since the previous courses used auto graders, and this course seems to as well, I'd like to request that the quiz and assignment features be unlocked so auditors can see course progress and completion like the previous two courses.

by Duke B

2017年3月29日

Now we're cooking with gas. This is course three of five in the University of Michigan's Python for Everybody series and things start to become real. Where Course 1 was very action/reaction in learning Python's basics, Course 2 was more abstract (and the weakest of the three so far), Course 3 builds on the other two and you get to taste Python's real world potential. Granted, this is all an introduction series and nobody is walking away from these courses into a full time developer position - but you do begin feel functionally dangerous (in a good way). The biggest takeaway from the course is giving you that taste of what is possible. We don't know how to do it yet (and the course isn't going to go beyond the intro depth) but after this third course you're likely getting smitten by Python and know you want to avidly take your learning beyond this series.

by Kazi N A S

2020年6月14日

This course, unlike the previous ones, seemed a little boring, to be honest, but maybe that's because this is the very first time I was introduced to many topics (even though I'm a current computer science student) that were taught in this course. Another thing is that it was more about using the codes that are already given and modify them to get the desired output. Because of that, I'm still not sure whether I have to learn or memorize all of the lines written in a particular file or I'd be well of just by knowing what line of code is doing what and by being able to modify and use them to get the work done. Google Maps and Twitter API is also shown in this course, so hopefully in the future when I will be I need to use them, I'll rewatch the videos and follow up with the sample code. Overall, it was a good experience.

by Thomas Z

2021年8月8日

I enjoyed the subject matter of this course, and Dr. Chuck is a great teacher, however I have a nitpick to make about the assignments.

I understand that writing similar code several times can be monotonous and sometimes we were required to use some code we weren't fully taught yet, but being provided sample code to edit frustrated me for more than it was worth. I would much prefer to stumble through the learning process myself than try to make sense of new information in code I had nothing to do with. I spent much longer trying to process what was going on in the sample code than actually solving the assigned problems.

A word of advice for anyone with a brain like mine: It is easier and better for learning if you try your best to write your code from scratch and only look at the sample code for guidance if you get stuck.

by Christian W

2020年1月20日

Overall another good course. It was perhaps not as complete at the end earlier on in the course. The last section on APIs was sometime confusing or at least glossed over some programming constructs. However, Chuck Severance has a difficult balancing act to perform. On the one hand he has tried very had to make Python programming accessible to new-coders while at the same time providing a useful and usable introduction to some very powerful concepts and methods. Overall I think he is doing an outstanding job and provides a very good basis to build on. As a bonus, I think the interviews with the computer science & internet tech luminaries are outstanding! Great to hear directly from folks who contributed so much to the development of the field.

by M.Shoyeb S

2020年5月20日

The difficulty in this course was highly pumped up comparing the previous two courses, the balancing wheels were taken off and the learner is subtlety led into the direction of reading documentation of modules or google them to get a detailed understanding of them.though i struggled a bit through the XML assignment i can mostly understand the courses approach as to why worked assignments are not the answer to every problem, unless we struggle a bit to solve the assignments, in my opinion it wont stick with you.to get a quick gist of xml and json this course is on point but if you're looking to get in-depth knowledge i would recommend taking some more elaborative courses in these technologies, overall it was sufficient.

by Elena S

2016年11月14日

I moved to the US a couple years ago and started my career from scratch in completely different sphere - Quality Assurance. I never supposed myself to be a technical person and felt uncomfortable with IT things. I have in my head the combination of tech terms and tools mixed up with huge gaps, this course helped me to systematize my knowledge and feel more confident and engaged with what I am doing. I completed 3/4 sessions and would rate the first two 5 stars, and probably give a little bit less, 4 stars, to the third one, only because sometimes I had to find on the Internet additional materials which were not covered by lecture and course materials to complete my assignments.

by Bhargava S K D V

2019年8月29日

Dr. Chuck is great! I've been his fan for years! The assignments are rigid.

Here is my only concern:

Why do I have to use the libraries that are recommended by Dr. Chuck. Can't I chose my own? I encountered some problems with 'urllib' module. I wanted to complete this course in a few days. I could complete all my assignments without having to install urllib, but for the last assignment, the assignment did not accept a solution I came up with 'requests' module. I had to crack my head open to fix the issues with that library, then submit the assignment. It was totally unnecessary. In real world scenarios, I've always used 'requests'. I've only used 'urllib' once or may be twice.

by Raghav B

2020年7月8日

Overall, this is a good course for a person new to Python programming like me. The stuff is broken down into simpler terms and is explained properly. The thing that I expected was to include all the data structures that we learned in 1st and 2nd courses to be applied, and slowly build up the difficulty level. The initial part till the XML was good, and the difficulty level was increasing. Then suddenly, more theory about Json and API got occupied, and less about data structure manipulation. Besides, I skipped all the bonus lectures, and for a person who's truly interested to solve Python, that's totally unnecessary. Keep only the required videos and remove the rest, please.

by Antoine C

2017年3月13日

Dr. Chuck's explanations are clear and all the lessons are easy to follow: focus on relevant web technologies, perfect pace, examples based on popular APIs. As someone with some basic knowledge in programming already I was expecting the assignments to be more challenging. As clearly announced on the website this course is targeted at beginners who took the previous courses from the same teacher: all exercises can be solved in about 10-15 lines of code and the solutions can be directly applied from the videos without much further thinking. The rest of you will, like me, breeze through it in no time. Kudos for the interesting interview videos proposed as bonus material!

by Jane C

2016年3月15日

There were so many new libraries and concepts introduced in the last two chapters. It became a little bit confusing and overwhelming. Yes, a huge part of coding is picking up new tools on the spot, but it would be great to understand the fundamental theories behind how some of these libraries and concepts work at least once before being plunged into that reality! Also, I think that being overwhelmed could cause a lot of students to simply quit before they have really understood how the resources out there (documentation, etc.) could help them. Also, as the students start have to read multiple docs, etc. the time expectations per week should be increased.