Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
41,277件の評価
7,519件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM
2020年6月18日

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
2016年12月2日

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 126 - 150 / 7,405 レビュー

by Jarosław G

2018年10月14日

I am totally new to programming. I have experience working in a technical environment

and have a lot to do with IT in my daily job, but I wanted to learn something new. I made

different attempts to learn to programm, but all of them failed. Now, I have been doing the whole module

of Python for Everybody (5 courses) and I am enjoying it a lot. Lectures by Dr Chuck are really insporational, well prepared and

easy to understand to a person who does not have any experience with programming.

I am becoming more and more involved into python:).

by Juan O L

2016年1月20日

I think this course is a really good overview of how to use Python to retrieve web data using the two most common data interchange formats: XML and JSON. Not only that, but you also get a brief yet good introduction to what XML and JSON are, as well as the basics of network communication and regular expressions. I was hoping the assignments would be a bit more challenging, but the free textbook provides additional exercises to practice with. As always, Dr. Chuck's style helps makes this course (and his other ones) a great one.

by Juan D

2016年7月8日

I learnt Python with the introductory course "Programming for Everybody". Then, I completed this course and it added a whole lot of tools to my knowledge. It is amazing how much you can accomplish in such a short course. The assignments are very well oriented, so by basically modifying the code you wrote for this class you can already do a lot. It also gives you a very good basic knowledge about web programming, so you can now understand and interpret many things and concepts you are seeing all the time. I recommend it a lot.

by AKANKSHYA N

2020年7月21日

This course is like the cheery on the top. It makes you use the web data , you will learn about retrieving the html, xml pages and you can even search for any particular element and also can add up any element from the source page. The best part is in the last week of this course, where it teaches about how you can use APIs of googlemaps, twitter . At the end you will be able to write a program of 30 lines to just take input of any location(even some parts of it) and it will give you back complete info about it. Loving it:)

by Sarfuddin A T

2020年8月8日

Dr. Chuck is an expert and an efficient teacher of the course. However for me his lectures were sometimes pretty fast when I had difficulty following him and its very normal in a online course. I faced difficulty mainly in the week 4 and week 5 specially webpage parsing using xmlTree where I took longer time then normal. However Teaching staff from the course patiently provided suggestion for correctly solving the problems.

Thanks are due to both University of Michigan and Courera for arranging Dr. Chucks courses.

by Derek O

2017年10月16日

Great course all around, truly feel like I learned a lot! Really appreciate how Dr. Chuck takes concepts and topics that could easily get mixed up or "over-thought" (my bad habit haha) and orders them in a way that flows well and makes sense to the relative rookie like myself. Thanks so much for making someone who used to think he'd never be able to code feel like "Hey I can do this stuff!" It will make a huge difference in my career and my personal confidence. Please keep making great courses! =) - Kind regards, Derek

by Mohd A N

2020年7月18日

This is the 3rd course of the Python specialisation that I've completed from Coursera and taught by Dr. Charles Severance. This one was far-most the most teaching centred of all the three, and now I feel I've a good command on python to write my own back to intermediate programme. I even built an Instagram video downloader with the knowledge I gathered from this course.And as always, Dr. Chuck is a really interesting instructor, plus his website is the perfect place you could simulate your learnings.Happy learning!

by Anand B S

2016年10月17日

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

by Jonpaul W

2016年3月2日

Good initial overview to the topic. Most code is actually provided to the student, preventing deeper learning via trial & error. However, it is a tradeoff of making the course accessible to a large number of students versus being too challenging and preventing newcomers from enjoying the subject. Dr. Severance is excellent -- entertaining and clearly very knowledgable. For any novice programmers looking to understand how Python can be used to access the web and scrape its data, this is the best place to start.

by Leonard M

2018年9月13日

This is the 3rd course of the "Python for Everybody" specialisation in Coursera.While the first 2 courses were too easy, I found that things started to get more interesting with this one. We learn about Webservices, XML and JSON manipulation and web scraping with Python. The level is still easy but the teacher is engaging and the code examples are well done. With some imagination, one can easily reuse this knowledge and go to the next level.This is a good course to learn the basis of web services with Python.

by Vitalii U

2018年5月27日

Excellent course as the previous Python for Everybody courses I have taken before. It gave good understanding on how programming languages interact with web services. On top of this it gives good introduction to API. Examples and assignments really help not only to get theory, but ho to use the knowledge in practice. In addition this helps better to remember the materials of the course. Great initiative and really good introduction to programming which could help to take more advanced courses in data science.

by Joseph G

2017年5月9日

This is a very good course. My goal from this course was to get knowledge about using python to extract data from websites and apis. I come with a business intelligence background and I found this course very useful and is definitely going to add value in my career. The professor was great and it was a pleasure to watch his videos and hear his knowledge. I will recommend this course to anyone who is interested in making use of a beautiful language (-Python) to extract data from the internet. FIVE STAR

by Edward F

2017年5月31日

I took the Python Specialization, which included this course, so I'm going to provide the same review for each of the component courses.

I think this is an excellent course for beginning programmers. Python is a great language for someone starting out - easy to learn - with a lot of power available for more advanced projects (e.g., machine learning).

But, most of all, you have to love Dr. Serverance. I can't think of a more entertaining and enjoyable person to teach programming. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

by Аитор Х

2018年7月23日

Wonderful course, the way Chuck explains it is the cherry on the cake that makes all the specialisation even more valuable. The content itself is really useful and a good starting point for projects that require the use of APIs. If something I wish there was a video explaining how to understand the "def augment" that Dr-Chuck did, referring to the "oAuth.py" of the twitter API but overall I'm really happy with all I've learnt and I would definitely recommend this to all curious people out there.

by Alan P

2015年10月30日

Awesome.

Truly awesome.

Professor Severance (a.k.a. 'Dr Chuck') is an amazing teacher, explaining the content in a clear yet engaging way - truth is, it gives the impression of being a wonderful human being tout-court. The coding exercises are very well crafted, and show how to use tiny Python snippets to carry out heavy tasks.

So if you've never really sat down to learn regexes, or if you want to have a minimal web crawler/scraper running in less than one hour, this class might be your cup of tea.

by Christopher T

2017年12月20日

Dr. Chuck's courses are great!! I am enjoying them immensely. I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Chuck in person. He is personable and engaging. Take the chance to meet him if he hosts live office hours near you. These Cousera MOOCs are easy to navigate and provide a wealth of valuable material for people at all levels. The first assignment of week 6 was the hardest yet, but following Dr. Chuck's lectures and with the help of some very wise mentors and tutors the code problems are easily solved.

by Venugopal A

2016年2月4日

It was really helpful. I have 18 years of software development experience, but never learnt python and after going through this course, I could understand the power of it and how it can be used. I could learn the concepts very well and of course had to google to refresh myself, but its well organized and put together in a way we can learn easier and faster.

Thanks to Dr Chuck. Sometimes your comedy was above and beyond, but at the end of the day, it was a good course and learned quite a bit.

by Manuel A A T

2016年7月20日

Absolutely a MUST for anyone looking for a smooth intro into APIs, HTTP requests, and data exchange on the web. As always, Dr. Charles' magnificent pedagogy will guide you step by step up to the point where you will be sending requests and fetching data from your Twitter account. Create one if yo do not have it yet. :-)

It will be absolutely beneficial to update this course to discuss the Twitter library available in Python, wish is far easier to use than the currently explained method.

by Hui C H J

2021年3月18日

I have enjoyed learning about how python is utilized for almost everything we do on the internet. I had a lot of fun learning about html, xml and json with Dr. Chuck, who made the concepts easy to learn and understand. The homework assignments allowed you to better understand the lecture material by providing ways for you to practice what was learned. I can't wait to begin the 4th module of this specialization. I highly recommend this course if you've enjoyed the 1st and 2nd modules.

by Jeff N

2016年2月7日

Outstanding Course for a newby. All about programming. Lectures and problems are clear and relate directly to the subject not related topics like statistics and other disciplines which add nothing to the Python and Python programming focus. Dr. Severance has built a great specialization here. Problems can be challenging but doable within the time frame represented by the course description (give or take a couple hours on some of the more challenging ones. I've learned alot! Thanks

by Ian S F

2020年4月21日

Great course. A lot of fun!. I'm a finance guy that knew a little bit about data structure only in MS Access that could modify the sql in there a little bit. I figured I could use the quarantine to learn something new at night and on the weekends.

I started the first class to get an understanding of python so I could take the statistics classes with python. Decided to try and finish out the specialization first. Glad I did. On to the next...

Thanks Dr. Chuck and support team!

by Artjom S

2016年1月18日

I like this course, but for me it was a little bit harder to understand some basic stuff. Ie, in JSON for me was confusing to hear "a list of dictionaries".

Furthermore I didn't know what kind of operations I need to apply to them -- therefore I was checking for types of integers and even "brute forcing" a combinations of possible operations.

As I have finished this course, I'l definitely check again previous chapters to build a better fundamentals in my head.

Thank you dr Chuck!

by Rodolpho M I

2020年7月7日

Like the first two courses from Python for Everybody specialization, I liked it so much. The material is excellent, Dr. Chuck is clear while he is explaining the concepts and all the codes through the classes. But, in this third course, we saw contents like regular expressions and how to extract and use web data in Python, which are more complex than all the contents of the first two courses. So, because of that, I think this course could have more exercises for us to practice.

by 王桢

2017年9月2日

It's more about width rather than depth in this course because learning and using all of the skill in accessing and processing web data through python needs to spend far more time than this. Still this course provides me a good start and a broad understanding of what's going on with areas such as regular expression, XML, Json, API and python's connection with them. I even got some skill and code in my computer to do some tricky operation on the web with python and it is good.

by Brian D H I

2020年9月22日

This course is great! After reading some of the other reviews I think some people missed the point, some said that the course was too difficult but I disagree, the level of difficulty was perfect, Dr. Chuck thought you enough to be able to complete the assignments as long as you really tried and not so much that you would just need to copy and paste the answer from the lectures. I loved this course and I'll continue to take the next one in the coursera specialization.