Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
24,828件の評価
4,463件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 4151 - 4175 / 4,338 レビュー

by Maiorov A A

Jul 22, 2019

In the previous courses all the assignments could be completed just through making a code with the parts that were explained in the videos, but it's slightly another thing in this one. In the second assignment there were included such things as SSL and one cannot make the task right without adding SSL in the code (SSL weren't among the course topics).

Nevertheless, the API part is the only one which I had troubles with, other ones are great as usual.

by Tolga S

Apr 17, 2016

All in all, I liked the class. I would like to learn about this topic and the database access using Python, and I still think this is a very good beginning. I like the enthusiasm of the instructor, but I think he short sells many of the things he is teaching. I would also suggest providing more challenging assignments, for instance, as optional ones. These may be such that they require reading the referred text in addition to watching the videos.

by Levin F

Jan 21, 2018

I have rated the two previous python courses with five stars. What changed now is that I have realized that I didn't have enough practice all along. I really wish they added practices which are not mandatory but still fully supported by the auto-grader. I really don't think this is too much to ask for, considering I am paying $50 per month. Otherwise: good lessons, challenging practices, and great support from the course forum.

by Jeffrey W

Apr 17, 2018

This course was good but still slightly disappointing. I feel that the teacher should've more thoroughly explained a couple of the topics on the course, including hyperlinks, anchor tags, and how the material in the course connects with the real internet. Additionally, the homework assignments were a little too hard and introduced topics that were not thoroughly covered in the videos.

by jose m c

Jul 15, 2019

El contenido del curso es denso, sin embargo el Dr. Chuck nuevamente explica detalladamente que esta sucediendo en el código, como facilitar el trabajo con el uso de librerías que son muy útiles para este tipo de tareas, el curso en lineas generales es confuso pero no porque haya habido una mala explicación del mismo solo que el contenido del curso lleva tiempo entenderlo.

by Davide C

Jun 06, 2016

The course was a bit too shallow for me, the techniques shown are very basic examples of what can be learnt using stock python libraries (json, socket, urllib, ElementTree) or external (BeautifulSoup).

I really expected something more, for instance authentication techniques, or methods to parse complex websites, rather or in addition to the basics shown here.

by John L J

Mar 19, 2020

The course is solid, and give a great down and dirty, fast paced understanding of the subject matter. My only con is your REALLY need to pay attention to every aspect of the codes otherwise you will miss key information necessary to make the assignments doable instead of hair pulling frustrations. However once you find that everything falls into place.

by Aditya K

Oct 02, 2016

The course did give me the the theoretical and syntactical basics in terms of how web programming is done using python. Chuck Severance is brilliant in his ability to explain complex concepts by reasoning via analogy. It would have helped if the problem sets were more challenging and in tune with real world applications.

by Aly T

Jul 01, 2017

The quality of the documentation for this course dropped off compared to the first two classes. The problems are complex enough for first time programmers that it can be difficult to follow. Reviewing the discussion forums is barely helpful because the salient details get redacted to the point of being unhelpful.

by Judith T

Aug 11, 2017

This course had way too many explanatory gaps around encoding and decoding - yes, I understand what they are, but not when to introduce them into the program and not always how to call them - and around parsing XML. I ultimately could not get the library recommended to work at all and used an alternate library.

by Swati C

Aug 14, 2019

Not as informative as the previous 2 courses in this specialization. The instructor had to skim lightly over a few code chunks, not deep enough of a dive. It's a good introductory course to accessing web data, but left the impression that there's a lot more to be learnt if one wants to specialize in this area.

by Moniruddin A

Apr 13, 2016

This course is good for those people who has never program in Python. But for experience people there is nothing new in this course.

I would really appreciate if

1) the target audience is mentioned in a course it would be really helpful

2) what a person would achieve after completion of a course .

by Brett K

Sep 18, 2017

It's not bad -- the lectures are good -- but the programming exercises are quite easy. Often you only need to change one or two lines from some provided example code. Code reuse and not reinventing the wheel is a great idea in the real world, but in a class, things could be made more challenging.

by Ignacio G B

Aug 31, 2019

Interesting. However, a little bit long for the little content. The code doesn't seem very elaborated nor pythonic and as if it were done in a hurry. The assignments do not ask you to program, but just to do minor changes to the code. Assignments have realistic expected times for completion.

by keshav k

May 09, 2019

the first two courses were really good but this course require some real skills and intrest of programming

many times i got struck in between and it was tough to find a way out but finally it took me 15 days to complete the course as compare to first two which took me around a week

by George A

Jun 26, 2019

Not as good as the first two courses. The regular expressions section was great but the rest of the sections had assignments that were bad. I'm talking wrong starter code was posted, or just really easy assignments that required changing one line. Don't pay for this course.

by Mostafa F

Sep 14, 2017

I guess for the assignments, it might be easier if the course take a step-by-step approach, so the students start coding very easy programs to access the data on web from scratch, and then the code evolves into something very complex in the final course, the capstone.

by Seth C

Dec 14, 2017

While the first two courses were very linear and easy to follow, this course seemed out of step and like a mesh of information. On many of the homework problems I didn't feel capable of answering the question. I will need to go through and read more about this stuff.

by Mihir A

Jan 20, 2020

A decent course but could be better refined with more lectures explaining the topics in more detail. I really wish I didn't have to go searching for various tidbits of code when doing the assignments but I was forced to due to a lack of content in the lectures.

by 罗杰

Dec 29, 2019

Some of the content is difficult and seems not useful. And also there are some places lacking essential explanations. The quiz of Week 6 is not so related to the lecture. Overall, this course is not so good as the previous one 'Python Data Structures'.

by Brandon A

Dec 08, 2016

Pretty good intro into accessing web data. Should be updated to use python 3 in my opinion since this is for new python users. Most of the course is useless to me because python 2 and python 3 are very different with beautiful soup and this and that.

by Katrin K

Mar 31, 2016

Nice but quite simple. And I missed the teaching of good pythonic programming style (something that is more than just script step by step but encapsulate functionality in functions, use advanced programming techniques, test your code and so on).

by Marc-Michel W

Nov 12, 2018

From chapter 12 on wards in the textbook, I think that there should be more in depth explanations into the functioning of the specific tools being used to parse html (urllib and beautifulsoup) and those for working with XML and JSON.

by Thomas F

Jan 18, 2018

Started off this specialty with two thorough classes. The content has gotten more complex, but the explanations aren't keeping up. Spending much more time on assignments now, having to re-do things over and over is frustrating...

by Martina G

Jun 11, 2018

I've done the first two courses of this specialization and found them easy and funny, This third part was confusing me and out of my confort zone. I finished the course but I probably need to come back again on this arguments.