Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
33,829件の評価
6,055件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 4876 - 4900 / 5,931 レビュー

by Sreehari

Dec 28, 2015

This is a good course if you are interested in getting to know how to parse html data and xml/json data using python libraries. The techniques you learn can be immediately put to use to do some really cool things with existing APIs like the twitter API, or that of Google and so on.

by Roger M

Feb 06, 2019

The course is very interesting and educational. However the instructor explains very well the concepts. Besides I appreciate the effort to build a parallel environment to test GMaps API, since the service is not available anymore without registering a payment method (as of 2019).

by Divya A W

Oct 23, 2019

It becomes really difficult as you go with the course. First two courses were really great and simple to understand but this one was really difficult to grasp. I had to go back and forth the training to complete some of the assignments. But overall good explanation by Dr. Chuck.

by Sunil M

Apr 26, 2018

A lot of useful topics covered in this course. And presented very well, in easy to understand fashion. I would have loved it to be a bit more detailed, with more examples, variations of what all can be done, more assignments etc - so the student gets a solid grip of the subject.

by Yui Y

Jul 26, 2018

This course was a great course, just like the previous two courses. One thing I would say is that I wanted a little bit more practice. With the textbook there are many practices but it would have been better if there were more assignments so that I can make sure I understood.

by Tarek L

May 27, 2020

This course is a nice way for those who are tech averse to get their feet wet into the complex jargon of web. It is a way for those of us mortals to get a peek under the hood of the internet and get a global understanding of the major inner workings of the web applications.

by Bernhard K

Nov 16, 2015

I thought this one was better than the first (two) part(s). Short, self-paced, to the point. Easy to follow and implement. Highly recommend this one. (All I wanted is actually the JSON part, but I got so much more.)

Quizzes and assignments could be an itch more challenging.

by Brian K

Jul 18, 2017

learned a lot. Good course, fast paced. Was not able to learn how to access Oauth credentials for Twitter. Online support for this was not helpful, but it ended up that this was not needed for any exercises. Still, I wish I was able to learn the Python Oauth process.

by Raj K

Jul 18, 2020

Being an amateur in programming languages, learning about HTML, XML seemed a big deal to me. Dr Chuck was an excellent teacher in breaking down the concept to the basic and explaining it in the easiest way possible. Learned a lot from the course. Thank you, Professor.

by rubenj

Apr 24, 2019

This is one of the best courses i ever attended, dr.chuck is very very thorough on the basics, and thats where the strength is. I love this, and recommend to anyone and everyone who wants to know about, python and web-data, JSON, API's and all the interesting stuff.

by Kat H

Feb 25, 2017

I felt a big jump in the learning curve once we reached XML and JSON. I could complete the assignments because all I had to do was make small changes to code provided, but I don't feel like I've even close to understood yet! Will keep re-reading the book chapters...

by Ben T

Jul 27, 2017

The assignments are too easy in my opinion and don't require some thinking, but just some pure copy/pasting or repeating of already seen examples. I think that's something that could be improved because the content of the class and the lectures are actually great.

by Kumiko K

May 26, 2016

This course has helped me learn the basics of regular expression and how to parse html, xml, and json data with simple exercises. After completing the course, I feel ready to apply what I learned to do more complicated tasks with the associated python libraries.

by Murray B

Oct 17, 2017

Nice course and very clear and concise like the other courses in this series. As a mechanical engineer I'm not sure what use I would ever have to use this type of data processing but I imagine it could be useful for someone more specialised in web applications.

by Varun N

Feb 07, 2016

I have really liked the course and the way it has been presented. Although the course doesn't go into too much depth, it still gives a solid introduction to web data parsing and the available tools for the same. I strongly recommend this as a beginner's course.

by Cathy C d D C

Dec 15, 2018

This course was really hard for me. I did not enjoy the semantics of the final assignments. I found it more troubling than the assignment itself. Would you please state the assignments in plain English? Sometimes I did not understand what you were asking.

by Фесенко Г Е

Sep 03, 2017

Everything is extremely understandable, sometimes even too much, but the main problem of this is its assignments. I'd like to do more on the material, covered in lectures. For exemple, there is a 30 minutes lecture on Twitter API and no assignment about it..

by Arun K

Dec 07, 2015

It was a great course but I felt that the exercises could have been a bit more tough. If the exercises were challenging, then it would be a great way to learn the principle of Read-Search-Ask.

Thanks, Dr.Chuck. Looking forward to Databases with Python course.

by Shafkat K S

Mar 10, 2020

I really liked this course. I have learned so many new things here. But the API access part was a bit rough for me. Because the video was not updated. I guess there could be a simple lecture how google changed their charging and how to access twitter's API.

by dhruv g

Jul 11, 2018

its a decent intro class but I felt It missed out on a couple of things. We used beautiful Soup to parse html, used etree for xml without exploring the overlap between them much. However the course has prepared me with the skills needed to start on my own!

by Daelyn B

Jul 05, 2017

Overall it was quite an informative course, though some parts I was left stranded and had absolutely no idea how to continue with some assignments, hopefully when python 3 rolls out for this specialisation it will make it a bit easier to follow through!

by Aadit A S

Mar 15, 2020

It was gr8 but i'd really like there was a guide for how to install modules like xml.etree.ElementTree etc. I was stuck cuz my program didn't work since i didn't have the module intalled...There are guides on youtube but very few are actually helpful.

by Ang L

Jul 05, 2020

Week 5, the assigment sample coding has API included, which was not discussed at all in Week 5's lecture. The sample coding is very confusing. Please replace the Week 5's assigment coding sample with a more relevant and clear coding sample. Thanks!

by Regulus R

Oct 30, 2019

I feel the second assignment on week 6 is too easy, it basically writes the whole thing already. Also the materials in week 6 are kind of too much and too fast. Maybe it is better to slow it down and have a more detailed explanation on everything.

by Anindya B

Dec 01, 2018

This course is good but i think i need to have another course of the same topic to understand and grasp the subject more strongly! Overall experience was nice. i got early replies from the mentors when ever i asked for a doubt in discussion forum.