Chevron Left
Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
6,027件の評価

コースについて

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

人気のレビュー

OK

2020年6月26日

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM

2020年5月13日

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

フィルター:

Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python: 726 - 750 / 1,002 レビュー

by sam s

2020年6月22日

It gives you a nice overview knowledge of the concepts. The instructional videos are too brief in my opinion. Some concepts do not have enough instruction to learn unless you have a computer science background and some assignments are frustrating because they do not give enough of the tools to even understand posts on stack overflow. That being said, by the end of the course I was able to make a very pretty graph and learned some useful academic concepts on plotting style in addition to the programming knowledge.

by Max P

2017年11月30日

Interesting course with several ways to plot data in Python. I think it briefly goes over the main topics, but I would have liked to see some more examples and explanation. Also, the assignments at sometimes focussed to much on a particular plotting exercise, whereas I would've preferred more exercises with a bit simpler plots yet exposing me to more libraries. On the other hand, the assignments were very relevant and insightful.

by Marianne O

2018年9月17日

Another great course, very informative and useful with good real-world assignments. Very clear lectures and the Jupyter notebooks are very useful too. My only gripe is that assignments are graded by other students. Not ideal. Some students don't fully grasp the concepts. You can resubmit so that you'll be graded again, but... that doesn't guarantee you'll get better graders. But that aside, it's a great course!

by Cathryn S

2020年5月22日

Excellent course, which will teach you a lot if you put the effort in. I spent a lot of time exploring matplotlib, and python, as well as reading the design resources.

Unfortunately, when I marked the final assignment, 2 of the 4 I saw were clearly plagarised. This seems to be an ongoing problem, and so the certificate itself should be treated with caution. That's why I've given it 4 stars, rather than 5.

by Tahir M

2017年6月27日

This course teaches the extremely important concept of high-quality visualization in data science. Having performed similar staff in PhD, I did not have much difficulty in assignments, but it can be tough to learn and apply the concepts for beginners, if they do not spend some significant amount of time for the assignments. There could be more practical quizzes or practice exams to aid learning.

by Frantisek H

2017年7月15日

The course taught me well how matplotlib works, as well as quite a bit of theory of making plots and what to look for. This knowledge is very useful and applicable in many situations when doing data science. On the other hand, it required perhaps too much work. Ocassionaly I had a feeling some of the work was repetitive and not leading to new knowledge any more. But overall, very well worth it!

by Victor M S D

2017年7月1日

Great course, I wish I could have more time between evaluations to explore more details and artistic details of matplotlib figures. It have four weeks and the necessary contents are mostly in the course but there are many interesting external references that help in the course if they are read. Stackoverflow questions and answers are very useful to accomplish some course objectives.

by Benjamín V A

2021年1月14日

I had a lot of trouble with some of the assignments and often I had to see other peoples solutions before being able to come up with my own because I just did not understand what was being asked of me. But I really liked the final assignment where they just ask you to use what you have learned for something real, so in the end I am satisfied and I have learn a lot of pyplot.

by John K

2020年12月27日

This course is a great introduction and application of charting and plotting in the Python matplotlib module. It also covers the fundamental science and theory behind making impactful charts, which has had a big impact on how I think about charts and present data. I especially enjoyed learning some of the more sophisticated capabilities of plotting with matplotlib and pandas

by Tallula J

2021年9月10日

I learned so much from this course. The assignments were interesting and the lectures engaging. My one complaint is that as a complete beginner to this field (even after the Intro to Data Science w/ Python course), the assignments were incredibly difficult. Completing them was often a several week endeavor, but finally completing the work was always satisfying.

by Shah S M

2022年7月30日

G​ood course on teaching you the fundementals of matplotlib. However, there were many things which could have been expanded on. The entire course felt more like a continuation of the last course as opposed to its own course. However, the assignments and the course content were informative, and will give you a solid introduction to matplotlib.

by Nan B

2019年10月22日

The material of the first week is extremely good and inspiring. However, the following lectures and assignments aren't directing us to the exact result. Could have given more lectures on how to generate those high-quality graphs. For now, everything is too basic to that goal. Looking forward to the more advanced data visualization stuff!

by Darell B

2018年5月27日

I found the course to be very informative and requiring the student to think differently about data and how to represent that data. I also like the ethical aspects of the course, that require the author of the charts to really thinking about the message being conveyed, how it is be presented and the message that might be inferred.

by Dairui Y

2020年8月26日

Overall great class, you will nead tons of research outside the class material, but you do learn a lot. P.s. so many learners just copy and paste the final project which is annoying. I was expecting to see some new way to to analyze problem by utilizing new skill that people acquired from this class. Otherwise all good.

by Gennady I

2017年3月19日

Good intro to plotting, charting and visualization in Python. Focuses mainly on matplotlib. I feel good about the content that I learned, but also feel like I wanted to learn more in this class. Maybe more coverage of other python charting libraries. More examples of financial type charts -- High/Low/Open/Close etc.

by Fabian G

2020年4月26日

Theory part was kept quite short and most of the time is spent programming, which I liked a lot. You will need to research lots of stuff on your own to finsih the assignments. Maybe some more information would have been helpful at times.

Overall a solid course and I certainly improved my coding doing the exercsises.

by Yonatan S

2019年10月23日

Good introduction to working with matplotlib.

All the parts about theoretical/aesthetic considerations when making figures were, in my opinion, very fuzzy, unenjoyable and somewhat of a waste of time. These are things which should be taught through experience or many specific examples, not long-form articles.

by Emily B

2020年11月28日

Great course. I learned how to use matplotlib. The professor is excellent and all of the material makes sense. The only regret I have is that the class was a bit too short and relied too much on googling features of matplotlib. But, that's how industry goes so I am OK with the course overall.

by Ben B

2017年12月14日

Most of the learning was self-directed as I worked through the assignments using Stackoverflow and other online resources and documentation. It would have helped to provide a lot more instruction on customizing templates such as the Seaborn library, adding notations, and fixing alignment issues.

by Dillon M

2020年6月3日

Provided enough structure and worked examples to give a meaningful introduction to the topic, but left the assignments open-ended enough that they were interesting and challenging. I ended up spending a lot of time on the various assignments, but actually found the whole process quite rewarding.

by Victor A D S

2020年4月8日

This course is okay. I think it tries to cover to much ground in to few lectures, particularly when it comes to more advance features and functions of matplotlib like animations and interactivty. It devotes a whole week to theoretical discussion of graphic design which is okay but not great.

by Sergio P d R

2020年4月26日

Good course overall. Like previous one, you can do as much as you want. How much you learn is completely dependant on you. It is not difficult to pass it, but if you want to get the best out of it during the assignments, you will have to spend some time in stackoverflow and matplotlib help.

by Christos G

2017年9月1日

Great exploration and navigation through the not so straightforward matplotlib for Python. The lecture would have been perfect if there were not so many references to a local library, which helped with the concepts but left the student with nothing to reuse in the future.

by Katya H

2017年4月4日

good lectures and theory. I miss automatic code evaluation and more numpy data transformations. I suck at these and I was hoping this course would have more of the same kind of tasks as the first + plotting.

Overall, good class as a starter point for plotting in pandas.

by Juan M

2018年9月17日

The course and material is great. The videos are not too long, but they provide the necessary guidance. I do think that the peer-reviewed grading could be improved. Feedback is minimal, and I do not think anyone really gets feedback on the quality of their code.