Chevron Left
Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
76,899件の評価
18,804件のレビュー

コースについて

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality instructor
(1484件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(4203件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

TM

Jun 21, 2017

first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience\n\nI learned all the stuff and the explanation provided was good.\n\ni would like to do more courses from here\n\nthank you!

BA

Jan 28, 2019

Lecture videos were broken into small parts whereby it's easy to understand and digest. Assessment given were relevant to what was taught for each segment. Navigating around course contents were easy.

フィルター:

Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python): 301 - 325 / 10,000 レビュー

by jesse s

Oct 20, 2018

I audit this course. As I am a student studying computer science already, this course is too easy for me.

Mr.Charles shows a great understanding of the programming and he exactly knows how to lead a new learner to understand the concept of programming.

Step by step, I still got a lot of things learned.

I definitely would support this course but I am in lack of money because I am just a poor student.

In short, this is a very nice course for new guys step to programming.

by Denise F

Feb 01, 2018

Great course for beginners, well structured and really well presented by Charles Severance! I loved how he presented the logics of programming in python, pretty straight forward and applied (not wandering much around stuff you don't need to understand if your aim is just to get started). Great job and thanks a lot, Charles! I'll surely recommend it to friends, also thinking about helping out with translation to Portuguese. Worthy the time, don't wait to take it. ;)

by Kartik J

Jan 23, 2016

I really had good time learning this course. And this course instructor Charles Severance gave amazing details and intro towards programming, many lecturers just go with direct definitions and concepts present in some textbook but don't go with simplicity. Many new students need something that is simple and clear so I think sir Charles is best in doing that and hes my favourite lecturer now. If the courses are this fun and interesting I wouldn't mind paying for it.

by 姜媛溪

Dec 19, 2017

I highly recommend this course for those people who has basically no coding experience. I took some programming course like financial computation using MATLAB in college, but I did learn it well and that was not a happy experience. But this course, you can learn everything about python from a very beginning level. If you watch the lecture video carefully, you can finish the assignment easily. In the meanwhile, you start your very first step to become a programmer.

by Christopher T

Nov 11, 2017

This was an excellent course. It's easy to understand and all the tools are provided by Dr. Chuck and his excellent staff of TAs and mentors. I like Dr. Chuck's style of teaching, and his belief that everyone should learn to code in a computer language in our modern world is a worthy goal. I highly recommend this course both to experienced programmers who want to learn Python and to novices who want to learn programming (though it's better suited for the latter).

by Md J A

Feb 26, 2017

One of the best programming courses to get started. Python should be the #1 choice for anyone who's willing to kick start their journey to programming. Plus, Dr. Chuck is an amazing instructor. He takes his time to explain the material well. The lectures are easy to follow but the assignments might seem a bit challenging some times. However, the assignments are not impossible and if you try you'll definitely will be able to do it. I highly recommend this course.

by Brett S

Sep 02, 2018

I was encouraged to take this course as an introduction to the world of programming. I am a novice programmer who has no formal training. This course was both fun and engaging. While challenging at times, generally any feedback I needed had already been discussed on the discussion boards. A simple search for the error you encounter should help you to independently debug your script and develop the flow of execution described in the prompt for each assignment.

by Anastassios K

Dec 28, 2018

The way professor Severance teaches and transits the subject is exceptional and makes the course too easy for anyone who wants to learn.

The course itself, for a complete naive like me, had very good pace and at the end I found it very easy.

By reading the accompanied book you have more details and it’s essential to read it also and solve the exercises and not just see the videos in Coursera.

It was a very good first step for me in the Python language. Thanks!

by Dhruv G

Oct 07, 2019

This is a great course. The teacher not only knows his material, but has a lot of experience working with first time programmers and so knows what errors they are likely to make and what questions they are likely to ask and addresses them all. He is fun to listen to, unlike some moocs I have taken where the teachers were reading and got the intonation all wrong--very distracting. This one wasn't like that by far. He was interesting and even funny at times.

by Omatsola C D I

Sep 19, 2019

During the first assignment, I was taken aback by being given something to solve that was a bit more advanced than what had been learned up to that point, but this was great, because it gave me time to try a couple of things, to see what works, and what doesn't. Felt a bit sad when I struggled, but when I finally succeeded I felt great, and confident in solving related problems. It is really great to learn by making mistakes and trying to figure stuff out.

by David A M

Mar 31, 2018

This class was very well done. I really enjoyed Dr. Chuck's explanations and the way the class flowed. I do wish it covered a bit more at a slightly accelerated rate. However, this may be because I'm used to the usual college class intensity. With that said, I don't have any complaints. I feel like I learned a lot of useful information . I believe this class has laid a good foundation for what is to come. I would strongly recommend this class to others.

by Aditya K

Oct 08, 2017

This course offers a good exposure to the fundamentals of Python for the non-programmers.

The instructor is engaging and delivers the material in a crisp manner.

The only part of the course that can be improved is the length of lectures.

Many lectures are longer than 6 mins and most cross the 10 min barrier. They can be broken down into smaller lectures , but the engaging presentation by the instructor ensures that no boredom seeps in at any point in time.

by Brandon B

Jan 10, 2016

Great course for new and experienced programmers alike looking to add Python to their toolbelt. If you're a self-taught programmer, the course can provides you with some basic vocabulary about programming idioms that you may not have had the words for previously. The professor was also quite charming, frequently using humour to lighten the subject matter. I do recommend this course for people that are either new to programming or programming with Python.

by Jose I J

Jan 02, 2018

Great course! I had 11 years with no programming activities, I was a developer for Delphy & PowerBuilder 11 years back but Python seems to be quite interesting to learn out. This course is great for people that have little experience on programming languages, but it was great for me as 11 years is a lot time, now I want to learn web / digital programming languages and I'll continue studying other Python courses in coursera for sure!!!!. Thanks a million

by Sundari E

Mar 25, 2016

Dear Chuck,

Can I call you Chuck? Anyway Sir, you are AWESOME!! If I become a programmer in my life, you'll be the only reason for it. You simply are great. I wish I had more teachers like you. I also wish I could meet you and tell you in person, that you are the personification of pure awesomness.

Thank you soooooo much

Yours truly,

A student who absolutely loves you and is eternally grateful to you from the other part of the world :)

Keep being awesome!!

by Sebastian C

Jan 17, 2017

This is a great course for those with no programming experience, especially since it involves python. I recommend to anyone with no experience that they start with python because the syntax is easy to learn and it is as close to psuedo-code used to develop algorithms as it comes. Although I have years of experience with python in my undergraduate and graduate research, I respect the teaching quality and attention to detail used throughout this course.

by Ed D

Nov 21, 2016

This has been one of the best educational experience I have had and I have had some, Ph.D., MBA. The best part about this course is that it is impeccably organized and possess timely help to students in need of assistance. This course should be used as the “gold standard” for teaching, whether online or in the classroom. I send my congratulations to all that have been and are now involved with overseeing the success of this wonderful achievement.

by Andrés E M

Dec 23, 2015

It is the first course I have successfully completed on Coursera. I had a vague background in programming from my undergraduate studies in Engineering, but I have always wanted to learn more. I have found this Course to be the right place so far. I think it’s oriented to anybody who wants to learn to program in general with no specific background and that definitely has been ideal for me. I am continuing with the next course, let’s see how it goes...

by Natalia I

Jan 16, 2018

Great book, fun course. I mainly read chapters of a book instead of watching videos, then did tests and exercises. However, slides were very useful for refreshing before starting a new chapter or just to have a look at key points summarized. I am very thankful to the authors, who made learning my first programming language non-frustrating. I really got addicted to it. I admire the comparison of Python to a dog who doesn't understand what you want fr

by Michael H

May 01, 2017

Amazing intro to programming class. I'm consulting with a tech startup and wanted to have better conversations with my developers. This is a great class to learn the "theory" of programming. I started taking an HTML, CSS and Javs Script class about half way through (chapter 4), because I need some piratical application. However, this course gave me the foundation. It's good to get error msgs!!! Looking forward to taking the rest of the series!

by Bogdan B

Nov 03, 2016

Outstanding introduction to Python programming language that will lay strong foundation to the more advanced topics about Python. The teaching style is superb and the things you learn stick in the long term memory really quickly. You need, however, to put additional effort on your side in order to truly "get" what's going on and learn and program as much as you can, as doing is really learning. Excellent, excellent course, teacher and the community.

by Jack M

Jan 14, 2020

Excellent Course! This course really gives someone the foundation of python coding and gives yourself early confidence in learning this skill to continue to take on new challenges in working towards being an expert. You will not come away with building any major project from this class, but it will definitely give you the foundation in getting to build that next level of this skill. If you are an aggressive learner you can complete within 2 weeks.

by Kush S

Apr 27, 2019

This is the perfect course for someone who is a beginner. I understood the logic and made it simple to remember how to program. The instructor and lessons are understandable and fun to learn and I can say I actually learned how to program. I came from zero python knowledge and was very pleased with what I acquired over this course. Additionally, the professor is very personable and about the course material and the delivery method. Thank you

by Hèlen G

Jan 22, 2016

Rating 5 stars for teaching style. When you are largely unfamiliar with programming it is important to not skip silly steps in explanation that might seem obvious. The information was very compact with made it easily digestible and encouraging to continue to the next level. The exercises increased nicely in complexity without sudden jumps in knowledge so that it would not give the impression that you are stuck forever in the pit hole of doom ;-)

by 慈曦

Sep 09, 2016

This course is just amazing.

It help me start learning Python and also help to improve my English.

The professor is excellent and also very funny,i like him.

Course material is the reason that i choose the course.This course has a chinese subtitle,and also has a PDF version of the book(which also has translated into chinese),it's so good.

I will take the following course as well,and i think it will also help me a lot.

I'm looking forword to it.