Chevron Left
Queering the Schoolhouse: LGBTQ+ Inclusion for Educators に戻る

University of Colorado System による Queering the Schoolhouse: LGBTQ+ Inclusion for Educators の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
98件の評価
27件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will learn about the history of LGBTQ+ issues in education and develop strategies for building more inclusive learning environments for students, teachers, and community members. This course will provide you with insights and equip you with strategies for exploring inclusion for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning learners in your specific professional context. Throughout the videos, reading assignments, and additional resources we’ve provided, you’ll be exposed to a range of concepts and techniques for enhancing LGBTQ+ inclusion. You’ll be challenged to integrate those concepts and techniques in your practice as an educator. We’ve created this course for anybody who’s interested in learning more about LGBTQ+ identities and experiences. We specifically designed it for educators who want to explore issues related to LGBTQ+ inclusion in their classrooms. Whether you’re brand new to this topic or you’ve been thinking and talking about LGBTQ+ issues for most of your life, we hope you’ll learn and grow as you work through this class....

人気のレビュー

VR
2020年7月27日

A really amazing course that does not only provide you with useful and relevant information, but also GIVES you the tools to locally implement that information and feel inspired to motivate change.

VS
2020年8月11日

This course helped me learn the ways in which I could try to create awareness to the people around me and act as an ally to the LGBTQ+ community. Very well presented course.

フィルター:

Queering the Schoolhouse: LGBTQ+ Inclusion for Educators: 1 - 25 / 29 レビュー

by Eoin P S

2021年6月25日

A​s someone currently pursuing a Masters in Secondary Education, a priority of mine is to make my classroom as inclusive as possible for students coming from all walks of life. While I would already consider myself aware of the issues facing LGBTQ+ youth, this course excellently reinforced my existing knowledge and did much to further my learning. The content was well delivered and engaging, as were many of the suggested readings. The resources included are also very useful to my future teaching. One aspect I will point out is that most of the content comes from an American context. While this is still very useful, if you are, like me, coming to this course from somewhere else you will need to take this into account and apply your learning appropriately.

by Jo K

2020年12月30日

a very detailed and thoroughly presented course that has given me many tools for implementation into my own school context. thank you

by Zac C

2020年3月25日

This was an excellent course!

I had thought initially that this was going to be a dry recital of all the issues facing LGBTQ+ issues in education, and I was taking it as a general refresher without much expectation. But I was pleasantly surprised by the content that was covered in this lesson. There was a lot more analysis and structure discussed in these lessons than I had anticipated, and I feel like I am leaving this course with a much richer language that I can use to discuss these concepts on an academic level, and communicate with other educators on this topic.

Thank you everyone who put this work together! It has been a real eye-opening experience.

by Aedrian A

2021年1月26日

As I am to be a conscientious educator eventually and before I die, this course is important for me to get a fundamental grasp of a reality that must be recognized and improved - the generally detrimental social experiences of LGBTQ+-identifying people and students as they faultlessly interact with the world around them. I highly recommend this course for aspiring and current educators to enhance their success in productively engaging their students. Hopefully, in doing so, their learners become people who will eventually make the world freer and more accepting of everyone regardless of their sexual and gender identity.

by SHIPRA M

2020年7月2日

It was a great learning experience. This course really widened the horizons of the knowledge regarding LGBTQ Plus Community thereby giving a more multi dimensional and more practical approach to the critical and theory based knowledge of this topic which is in fact a limited and single dimensional viewpoint. All the educators have put a great deal of effort and passion into this course. I wish them all the best and also want to thank them for sharing their knowledge on this platform.

by FARHAAN H

2020年7月20日

Excellent course for all HRM aspirants and teachers who wants to make the workplace more diversified and inclusive by having LGBTQ+ supportive initiatives and making the place more vibrant and accepting in its culture for all people. Thanks to all the professors for making this course...!!! It will help not only in for people in America but globally even in my country such as India by shaping it in the glocally.

by Timothy S K L

2020年7月10日

A great course that presents relevant, up to date and digestible information packets to understanding how LGBTQ+ issues are handled in the educational system. As well, this provided a thorough understanding of how educators and really anyone can improve the overall health and society for marginalized communities.

by Michael E

2020年4月30日

I enjoyed taking this course and its definitely extended my knowledge of LGBTQI+ issues in schools. I hope to use it as a basis for further enquiry with the aim of making school a safer place for everyone. It would be great to see more courses on this topic available on Coursera.

by Mertcan K

2020年12月22日

This course has assisted me to gain a better understanding of LGBTI+ inclusivity in education. I highly recommend you to take this course if you are new in the subject of LGBTI+ inclusivity. I also want to remind you that you do not need to be queer to deal with current issues.

by Mariia S

2020年5月18日

I wish all the schools around the world had a compulsory Queering the Schoolhouse course for teachers. I would recommend it for educators who would like to be more aware of LGBTQ+ issues and are eager to create a positive and healthy atmosphere of mutual respect in the class.

by Lisa S

2021年3月16日

I think this is a great course, especially for people who don't know much about LGBTQ+ issues. As a queer person, it wasn't as useful as I would've liked, but I definitely recommend this course for those who want to be more inclusive but don't know quite where to start.

by Jessica R

2021年7月25日

This had a lot of great information and resources. As a librarian in a high school, I feel much better equipped to help guide students and staff in the right direction when they have questions about LGBTQ+ issues and resources.

by Zuby E

2020年5月22日

First of all, Thank you to all the educators that involved in this course.

The course is an eye opening to me and I will definitely applying all the methods that were being suggested in this course to my school.

by Valeria P R

2020年7月28日

A really amazing course that does not only provide you with useful and relevant information, but also GIVES you the tools to locally implement that information and feel inspired to motivate change.

by Vivek S

2020年8月12日

This course helped me learn the ways in which I could try to create awareness to the people around me and act as an ally to the LGBTQ+ community. Very well presented course.

by Amanda J H

2021年7月23日

This course was amazing and answered questions I didn't even know I had. I think every educator should take this course.

by Patricia P

2020年6月23日

I really enjoy this course! I learned a lot! I have lot of ideas for applying n my classroom! Thanks to all the staff!

by Jason J

2020年5月28日

Its an amazing course for educators and I have recommended it to many

by Quanchai K

2021年6月13日

It's very interesting and excellent course.

by ยมลภัทร ส

2021年6月29日

s​o great to know and understand LGBTQ+

by Ronnel J C

2020年4月27日

It is an easy but insightful course.

by S A G

2020年9月29日

I had great fun doing this course

by Mireille P

2021年7月23日

F​or it being a US based course, I was still able to learn a lot even though I do not live in the US. Some of the links for optional readings are dead. This is why it's a 4, and not a 5. I do recommend this course, especially to teachers who are not members of the 2sLGBTQIA+ community. Happy learning!

by Laura M

2021年7月31日

​Provides ideas not just for LGBTQ+ inclusion, but inclusion for all minorites and well as a plethora of resources.

by Yvette D

2020年12月10日

Great course. However, you shouldn't have to pay to take the quizzes.