Chevron Left
Building R Packages に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Building R Packages の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.1
208件の評価
55件のレビュー

コースについて

Writing good code for data science is only part of the job. In order to maximizing the usefulness and reusability of data science software, code must be organized and distributed in a manner that adheres to community-based standards and provides a good user experience. This course covers the primary means by which R software is organized and distributed to others. We cover R package development, writing good documentation and vignettes, writing robust software, cross-platform development, continuous integration tools, and distributing packages via CRAN and GitHub. Learners will produce R packages that satisfy the criteria for submission to CRAN....

人気のレビュー

KM
2019年6月3日

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

ME
2017年1月15日

Very good course for intermediate/advanced R users. Sad that you are elegible to do assignments only if you pay.

フィルター:

Building R Packages: 1 - 25 / 53 レビュー

by Shawn M

2019年2月15日

There is much I like about this course and also many areas for improvement. First, the online book that comes with the course presents an excellent overview of the steps required to build an R package. It will eventually get you where you need to go. However, some of the material is now out of date (e.g. functions moved from one package to another), there are no longer any mentors around, and the discussions boards are empty apart from people trying to get their assignments peer graded. Also, the content in the book, while good, is incomplete in many cases. I would highly suggest buying the "R Packages" book by Hadley Wickham as an additional reference since it fills many of the gaps and goes into much greater detail.

by Matthew M

2019年1月14日

good but needs a little updating - several commands this teaches you to use are now depracated.

by Rebecca G

2017年7月23日

This course was not great. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluation, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. The mentors very occasionally participated, the authors never. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail.

by Zsolt P

2018年9月21日

The material is not bad, however, this is just a refurbished version of a corresponding book written by the authors. Literally, all the readings are just excerpts from this book with typos all over the place. Save some money and just read that, I think this is a minimal extra work cash grab and you feel that all throughout. The final project is fine but not too fun (and the reading material is insufficient for it), it isn't worth the money either.

by George L

2019年7月24日

Lots of outdated material and no mentors remain to assist. Documentation is incomplete and left to the user's imagination. There have got to be better courses than this.

by Edmund J L O

2018年1月20日

This course really boosted my confidence in writing codes, functions and i look forward to someday writing my own package. The course left me on such a high note that I made a couple of presentations using the plots in my vignette. I wanted to somehow show my appreciation to the authors of the course. The choice of a real life dataset made it really very interesting for me. Here's the link to the presentations i made. I'm not sure if it should be shared with your students, so i'll leave that up to you. Thanks again for making learning so much fun. BTW, it was a bit of a cliffhanger for me. I only got my package to pas travis at the last minute. Here are the links:

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350304 and

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350099

by Damian S

2018年6月21日

Among the worst courses I have found on Coursera. Once again, just a bunch of text, cut and pasted (sloppily) from their book and other resources. Examples are poor and insufficient, and much of what they ask you to do in the project is not covered well, or at all in the course forcing you to learn on your own. I don't object to self-education, but then, why bother taking this course? Can't believe they are charging money for this.

by João G C

2020年6月1日

This isn't really a course, consists just of having you read a book. There is zero content, zero support and zero walk-troughs. The final project is over-complex, given the level of content and support provided by the course. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

by Jonathan D

2018年4月3日

Poor course material made it difficult to complete the final assignment. The course has little to do with R and more to do with Software development methodologies.

by Christopher M P

2020年2月10日

Final assignment may not be reviewed for weeks. If you go on to capstone, issue could extent into months. Expect to use many external resources.

by Jason S

2017年11月27日

R packages are essential learning. This class covers packages including documentation, vignettes, testing, building, and checking for compatibility with CRAN. It also gets you into git and travis (for continuous integration), with an entire side of open source philosophy and legal. If you can pass this, you *will* be able to create and maintain an R package.

by Jay B

2017年8月5日

The difficulty of the c ourse will depend on your background. If you have software development experience plus git, the course details the steps of releasing an R package to the community. If you have never worked with git or released software, this is a good way to tie those skills to your R skills.

by Youdinghuan C

2017年12月25日

This course provides useful knowledge in building R packages, as well as opportunities to implement our knowledge. However, as the previous courses in the series, the last module (week) is extremely challenging compared to the previous ones.

by Konstantin M

2019年6月4日

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

by Moises E

2017年1月16日

Very good course for intermediate/advanced R users. Sad that you are elegible to do assignments only if you pay.

by Gregorio A A P

2017年8月26日

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

by Yi X

2019年2月2日

There are not so mang classmates for peer reviewing. Please set other alternative ways for grading

by Christopher B

2017年3月30日

This is a critical skill and it's barely covered anywhere else. Thanks for making this course!

by Marco M

2020年11月16日

This is an excellent course, a really good starting point to learn how to build R packages.

by Cardy M I

2017年10月7日

Overall, this was a good course to learn the intricacies of building R packages.

by Xueqing Z

2021年4月16日

It teaches the up-to-date approaches, in a concise and also systematic way

by James M

2018年2月7日

Good slow walk through of the process for creating and checking a package

by Abhinav S

2018年7月14日

Amazing course! Will explain every detail regarding R package creation.

by Nour E Q

2019年11月2日

very good, an interesting way of learning.

high-level examination

by Anthony S

2018年11月16日

I finally started building R packages!!! Lots of useful bits