Chevron Left
The R Programming Environment に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The R Programming Environment の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
1,030件の評価
281件のレビュー

コースについて

This course provides a rigorous introduction to the R programming language, with a particular focus on using R for software development in a data science setting. Whether you are part of a data science team or working individually within a community of developers, this course will give you the knowledge of R needed to make useful contributions in those settings. As the first course in the Specialization, the course provides the essential foundation of R needed for the following courses. We cover basic R concepts and language fundamentals, key concepts like tidy data and related "tidyverse" tools, processing and manipulation of complex and large datasets, handling textual data, and basic data science tasks. Upon completing this course, learners will have fluency at the R console and will be able to create tidy datasets from a wide range of possible data sources....

人気のレビュー

MV

Dec 26, 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

KV

Jun 18, 2019

A very good course to read and get the valuable content of R language. This is for the students who want to learn and practice the basic and some intermediate concepts of data manipulation.

フィルター:

The R Programming Environment: 251 - 274 / 274 レビュー

by Luca B

May 12, 2020

It was n't so easy

by Kayley A

Mar 22, 2018

This course has some useful information, but it is far from polished, and it is unclear who the class is truly designed for. The readings have a number of formatting issue and typos. I was disappointed that this class did not utilize lecture videos or practice exercises. There is not enough opportunity to reinforce the material through practice, which turns the assessments into abrupt roadblocks. If I wanted to spend most of my time just reading about R, I could have bought a book instead. Compared to other courses I have taken on Coursera, this class had fewer features, less content, and seemed much less thought out.

by Jessica G

May 07, 2018

This was a nice introduction to R for someone who has had previous programming experience. However, many of the lessons had simple grammatical errors in them, which is just unprofessional. Many of the swirl lessons were just the online material repeated, so reading the lessons then doing the swirl lesson was massive repetition. Also, many of the swirl "lessons" were merely "Type this in and see what happens!" which doesn't really teach anything. Finally, the final quiz material had spaces in the column headings which was fixable but added a level of monotony and inconvenience that was not needed.

by Teresa O

Jun 10, 2017

This was a terrible course. It starts off extremely basic in Week 1 which makes you feel like a rock star. Week 2 becomes extremely difficult then Week 3 easy again. Week 4 ends up being nearly impossible. I find that there is foundational material that the course does not cover. Nor does it provide guidance or familiarity with the material that it then tests you on. You end up having to do a lot of googling for functions to learn certain rules. It isn't designed well.

by Zdenek K

Nov 15, 2016

The first course of the specialization is very simple. The specialization was announced to be on an intermediate level but at the same time, you need to spend money on a very basic course with swirl assignments pretty much copying the course content. The good thing is that it includes very modern approaches to data analysis and new packages. The second course is much better, nevertheless.

by Matthew C

Oct 01, 2018

Swirl is a great idea, but each section is submitted independently of the others. You have to complete all sections in one sitting if you plan to submit electronically. I had to redo 8 of the 9 sections in week 1 for this reason.

Content-wise, the quiz in week four is significantly more difficult than the other assignments and I felt a little underprepared.

by Erik R

Jun 11, 2020

99% of this course is awesome, but there's a VERY well-documented issue with the Week 2 assignment that took longer than the rest of the course combined. An official solution from the instructors is necessary, though students are quite helpful. That one issue heavily distracted from being able to effectively learn.

by Paul H

Oct 28, 2017

I found the final project very very difficult as weeks 1 to 3 did not cover sufficient practice of the libraries which were to be used. That having been said, the project was achievable when you spent 20 hours on it. I posted several questions to the forum and received no answers.

by Trenton H

Apr 04, 2017

There's not much substance. Also, considering there is not video the course seems very non-interactive. Its nice to see the instructors speak and work through examples. Hoping this course was just a quick primer for the R newbies.

by BenT

Jul 11, 2018

The free book R for Data Science by Garrett Grolemund andHadley Wickham is a much better structured introduction! see http://r4ds.had.co.nz/

by Alvaro O

Jul 14, 2020

The course material is pretty good, but Swirl is terrible, and its integration into Coursera is even worse. I can't recommend this course.

by savvas s

Aug 28, 2017

just links to a webpage... no support from the mentors no support form coursera... you can use your money more wisely..

by Alex L

Aug 07, 2020

The R Programming Environment is very buggy. Please tidy up the errors and make it more user-friendly.

by Alexander H

May 15, 2018

Felt lost during the final, the course was not well suited to the end quiz

by Arthur G

Jun 14, 2017

Too basic.

by George Z

Apr 02, 2020

The content is great. Unfortunately the grading system is not functioning which means that one can't continue to the next step. I will be dropping out for this reason. I hope they fix it but it doesn't work now. Technical support was pleasant but not helpful. Based on the discussion forum, numerous other students felt the same way. If they fix it, I will sign up again, but right now I have to caution against it.

by Lakin R

Mar 13, 2020

The material of this course is useful. However, the swirl course that accompanies it is plagued with issues that date back YEARS (there are posts on GitHub and the course's discussion board from 3+ years ago with the same unresolved or barely patched issues. If I hadn't already been reimbursed for this course by my employer, I would've given up on day one.

by ulrik p

Jun 19, 2020

If you are on Mac chances are that can't complete this course without some major hacking. There is a 3 year old bug (as of june '20) in the swirl package the course uses that still hasn't been fixed. Comments section is littered with people who gave up on completing it and nothing is being done. Not cool at all.

by Robert L

Dec 02, 2019

I had to drop out because of technical issues. A week 2 issue that is documented in the bulletin board had no clear resolution. After several months of trying to figure out the issue for weeks, I determined that the course wasn't worth extra time and money being spent.

by Jorge D S G

Aug 05, 2020

The course doesn't prepare us well for the final exam. The expectations are too high for what is teached. I had to learn a lot by myself to complete it, which is not what I expect when I do a course. I don't recommend it to anyone.

by Brandon R

Aug 04, 2020

You cannot complete one of the course assignments because swirl has a bug that prevents you from completing it. The bug has existed for years and has not been fixed.

by Christopher M P

Feb 11, 2020

Final assignment may not be reviewed for weeks. If you go on to capstone, issue could extent into months. Expect to use many external resources.

by João G C

Jun 01, 2020

The classes are not super clear, and there really isn't much support for learners facing bugs.

by JEFFIN S

Sep 28, 2020

lots of problem with swirl use unable to complete