Chevron Left
Rプログラミング に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Rプログラミング の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
18,615件の評価
3,939件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

人気のレビュー

WH

Feb 03, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

JM

Aug 12, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

フィルター:

Rプログラミング: 26 - 50 / 3,833 レビュー

by Marta R

May 19, 2019

Great course, however I think it is particularly hard for those who never had programmed in R before. Moreover I think the Programming Assignments were quite hard regarding the topics being discussed during the weeks.

by Ian H

Mar 06, 2019

The problems are too large in comparison for what is taught.

by Julio G D

Feb 06, 2017

Honestly, I'm very disappointed with this course. The content taught in this course is not in accordance with the assignments. It is like someone taught to be a builder and asked to build the Brooklyn Bridge ... Not fair at all.

If you are going to ask to build a bridge, teach me how. If you teach me how to be a builder ask me for a wall, not a bridge.

by Jeremy T

Sep 30, 2018

If I wanted to learn from outside source and "hack" my way through understanding, I would not be paying money for this course. I am paying money as I expect a smooth introduction and summary to the topic which it is not. I have taken classes in SQL and python on courser. Those were of better quality. I think this R class is one of the worst.

by Eric J

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

by Abhey K

May 27, 2017

This was very engaging, however, the level of expectation and effort needed is much greater than course 1 - ToolBox.

This is perhaps the best course on R Programming designed for a small duration.

by Faylene T G

Feb 17, 2019

A little more explanation on how to program using R constructs would certainly help. The course suddenly throws us deep into the ocean with hardly any experience in swimming.

by Nouran G

Feb 14, 2019

Assignments are hard compared to the content

by John C S

Jul 12, 2017

Let me start by saying that I did learn some basics of R programming during this course with a lot of help from friends and fellow classmates.

I like to believe that my 20+ professional years in education and training design and delivery have left me with a pretty good understanding of adult learners, learning theory, and putting all of that into practice. With that in mind, here are a couple of points.

First, there is no prerequisite knowledge, skill, or course listed as required for this specialization. Here's what Coursera says about background knowledge, "Some programming experience (in any language) is recommended. We also suggest a working knowledge of mathematics up to algebra (neither calculus or linear algebra are required)." Great! My limited working knowledge of BASIC from the 1980s and novice ability with MS VB fit the bill. Math? No problem, got it covered with Algebra 2 30 years ago. But wait, it turns out neither of those are the case because there are pinned posts in the forum that say the author doesn't understand why an understanding of linear algebra isn't required because it would be really helpful, and you yourself make the point that, "Yes, the mathematics in Statistical Inference and Regression Models are tough for students who haven't previously studied statistics." Knowledge of statistics isn't required or even recommended for this specialization Mr. Greski. That's poor curriculum design and setting students up to fail because there is no realistic expectation set as to what they face in this.

Second, if the materials do not provide any framework or context to tie the assignments to previously taught content either in "lecture", swirl, or assignments, then the course designers and instructors did an incredibly poor job with the design. How can students, even those who have a background in statistics, be reasonably expected to know when an assignment makes use of information or learning that must be found outside of the course itself? This can easily be fixed by including a statement or section with each assignment that says something like, "This assignment covers material found in Lessons, x, y, and z. You will also need information found in sources outside this course such as datacamp.com, etc." The italicized sentence can be the same in every assignment. The paragraph could even say that the assignment is not connected to the current lesson in any way as the intent is for the student to make use of outside resources (or whatever the approriate intent is). Regardless, every graded assignment should have a purpose stating what the student should get out of it, and they could all benefit from a context statement.

Third, if people like me (those with a non-statistics/mathematics background) are not part of the target audience, then please define the target audience better. Currently, Coursera says this, "Beginner Specialization. No prior experience required." That makes it sound like it is appropriate for anyone with no background knowledge or experience because the course will provide all the background knowledge and skills needed along the way. I'm willing to bet that the full program for $3,310 at JHU has prerequisites other than "Beginner Specialization. No prior experience required," and "Some programming experience (in any language) is recommended. We also suggest a working knowledge of mathematics up to algebra (neither calculus or linear algebra are required)."

Finally, portions of this specialization that I have completed so far are out of date. There was one quiz question that involves a specific package in R that is not compatible with the latest version of R. That forces the student to guess. Of course, we can take the quizzes over and over again if we are patient enough so it doesn't really matter if we are guessing on the answers or actually learning and getting the correct answers. Does it? While $49/month may not seem like a lot of money to some people, for others it could be quite a bit if they are having difficulty finding a job and working to improve their skill sets and qualifications. Even though it is "just" $49/month, we are paying for what we presume to be a quality product from a top-notch university. I don't think it's too much to ask that someone correct all the various errors, keep the materials up-to-date with the current version of R (once a year at least), and review feedback such as this (and others) in the forums and Coursera comments. Yes, this means someone has to put the time in on that type of work. I can honestly say that the current state of the materials and quality of design and delivery are well below what I expected for a JHU associated product. I'm not sure I can recommend this to someone as an introduction to data science as it currently exists. I wouldn't be surprised if JHU as an Instructional Design program that could use something like this as a capstone project or similar effort.

I sincerely appreciate the time that the JHU staff, the folks volunteering as mentors, my fellow classmates, and my neighbor give to help me and other students understand the concepts and skills in this course. Our expressed frustration about not seeing a connection between assignments and lectures is not an expressed desire to have our hands held and be spoon fed. It's a frustration at wanting to understand the materials, how they fit together, and how we can use them, which I believe is the intent of education and training in general. Hopefully, Dr. Peng or someone from JHU will see this feedback and be interested in making improvements to the curriculum.

by Sotirios T

Oct 14, 2018

Programming assignments are very hard (and in some cases irrelevant) based on the material presented and topics discussed

by Rushi P

Apr 01, 2019

Gave to little instruction and expected the assignments to be completed based on very little instruction

by Lorena M M

Dec 01, 2019

The lectures are not very engaging, just listening to someone talk about a code is not a good way to learn how to do it. The swirl course is a better option, but it is very basic and in most cases it consists only in copying something that's already on the screen. The gap between what you are taught in the lectures and the assignments is absolutely abysmal and incredibly frustrating. How are we supposed to know how to create complicated functions after just listening to someone say what a function is? I don't think that teaching someone the equivalent to "2+2=4" and then asking them to solve Riemann's Hypothesis in the exam is very fair.

I would not recommend this course.

by Rob E

May 21, 2020

Roger Peng is regarded as one of the best in the business when it comes to practicing data science, but I found his instruction skills wanting. As someone new to R and new to programming, I found him somewhat hard to follow at times. Nevertheless, I powered through. Unfortunately, when I came to the quiz at the end of Week 2, I found it was drawing on background knowledge that had not been taught in the course. Honestly, unless you're starting with a background in programming, I would not recommend this course.

by Dilip A

Dec 23, 2019

The instructor appears unprepared to present the material. When presenting it appears that it's the first time he is reviewing the material.

This is my first bad experience on Coursera. The last Coursera course I took (SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis) was great as it appeared that the instructor was prepared with what they were going to present.

Coursera needs to vet their instructors' course recordings before allowing them to put forth their material on the site.

by Carlos M

Aug 23, 2016

Difficult at times, I regularly used outside websites like stackoverflow to help with assignments, but that's how the real world works, there's no way that the lectures could solve all your problems.

Favorite: writing my own functions that searched real databases and returned means, ranks, and useful info. I felt like I took a huge step forward in my goal for data science.

Least favorite: Assignment #2, it felt completely unrelated to anything I learned, I wasted hours just to find out it was redundantly simple and in the end I didn't even find out if my code worked, the grade was peer-reviewed based on if you could correctly upload it to github and if it "looked" like it would work. (How would I know! LOL, I assumed all my peers' code was good enough)

Would 100% take this course again.

by JOSÉ M O

Jan 06, 2019

A very, very excellent course, really be very satisfied with what I learned during these four weeks. Only one thing, in my opinion, I felt that the "Programming Assignment" are a little bit bigger than what is explained in the videos (and that's really good), but some exercises that are requested in these "Programming Assignments" could still be be added to the list of 'things to learn', for us not to get so lost to these same.

by Guilherme O B

Feb 03, 2016

Excelente opportunity to learn a lot. The course is very well prepared introduce you to R programing. Dont feel bad if you dont get it at te first moment. It will be a process of leaning worth trying

by Jacob T

Apr 03, 2019

This is an excellent course but be warned, the programming assignments are difficult. If you do not have any coding experience, the assignments may be a bit challenging for you. But with the help of the internet and Github, you can complete them with no problems. The course content is great. All the videos and information are for beginners and are very helpful. The best part of the course was the swirl exercises it had you complete in R. Swirl exercises acquitted you with the programming needed for success in R. Overall it is a great course. Just understand that the programming assignments can be challenging for new timers.

by Gaby R

Oct 24, 2018

The only feedback I have is that they should try to incorporate more examples (simple real world ones would be great) when explaining concepts in R, because otherwise it is quite dry. The things you learn in the individual lectures give you a very basic idea of the functionality without much insight on *why* its important or *how* it can be applied...I found most of my solutions/answers by googling and using swirl a bunch of times. However it is rewarding if you power through it and have A LOT of patience, especially if you are a beginner with no background in programming (like myself).

by Kerryn A M

Oct 08, 2018

I learnt a lot, but most assignments required me to look a lot of stuff up outside of the course. They say they have done this deliberately to encourage "hacker mentality". I agree that we need to learn how to cope on our own, but it ends up taking up hours of your time and seems like a pointless lesson. One reason for doing a course like this is so that you can have access to consolidated and trusted learning materials, which was not really provided. Having said that, the assignments are a good way to push yourself to learn R. But most of what you need to do the assignments will not be provided within the course.

by Kenneth N

Apr 14, 2020

This course is extremely poorly constructed and now quite dated providing instruction in only base R.

The philosophy underlying the modular system in Coursera is clearly that the subject matter covered in the module relates to the set work for that module. I was only able to complete work for week x after doing the reading for week x+1. It took me some time to discover this strategy, a lot of which was wasted wondering what I was missing, what I had done wrong &c. I'm sure the course fee doesn't mean much to most but it is a significant amount to me and I felt let down. Very little time or thought has gone into the structure of this course. It is clear that something is wrong with the week 3 assignment when there are git hub entries on the background knowledge required to complete it. Without these I would not have managed. Going by the age of some of these entries, this problem is now years old with no attempt made to rectify it.

My only reason for persisting with the course is that my boss asked me get the certificate. I imagine his assumption was that the quality must be high given the institution sponsoring it. It seems to me this course is risks causing a significant amount of reputational damage to Hopkins by association. I won't be continuing with this series of courses, I have switched to a related course series offered by Duke. The quality is incomparable.

by Tural D

Dec 14, 2019

My overall evaluation for that course is 1 stas due to main two reasons:

First of all course has too much information without the applying during the weeks. However once a learner opens the assignment it is inevitable to face with very hard tasks

I spent more time on youtube and other sources to learn how to use the functions and solve the assignments in comparison with the course itself. That is the reason I am not satisfied with the course.

Given theory is okay but the applying of them during the week is very less. THat is the reason learner face big issues during quizzes.

I found SWIRL assignments very useful that I can say they were the only things that I learned the practical part of R programming.

My advice is to increase the number of SWIRL assignments and increase the difficulty level of them each time.

It is also better to decrease the difficulty level of assignments and quizzes. Because course is more theoretical than being practical in teaching. but the assignment requirements are more practical.

by Benjamin L

Dec 06, 2018

Don't expect so much... Lexical scoping will probably not be used by the majority of data scientists but the course expects you to research it yourself entirely and spend hours on hours on it, when the focus could have been placed on somewhere else!

"Mentors" are quick to respond to dissatisfaction at the course with comebacks but when students ask for help regarding assignments they are nowhere to be seen.

Watch all the lectures, enrol for 7 day trial, submit assignment 2 and 4, and ignore the rest. Don't let them trick your money!!! (PS I was like you at the beginning, I thought of paying for the course, doing a good job and getting a certificate, but trust me, this course is not worth it.)

by Troy M

Dec 05, 2019

As many others have stated before, the gap between the lectures/swirl practices and the actual assignments is way too big. I am a novice at R but did come with practice of the basics before starting this course. I also took notes and completed every swirl practice. Even with that I felt incredibly unprepared for the assignments. I understand that searching the internet for help is part of the process but the extent to which the student must search is unforgivable for this to be considered a proper way of teaching. I would also caution that the estimated hours of completion are understated if you plan on trying to actually complete these assignments by yourself.

by Todd D

Apr 24, 2020

This course is frustratingly bad. The lecture topics are very scattered and provide almost no practical information. The slides are static with simultaneously too much and too little to understand how to apply them "in the real world." The disparity between the lecture material and assignments is truly laughable and -- if you are a beginner -- more or less impossible to complete without lots of Google/stackoverflow searching and head scratching. I would not recommend this to anyone.