Chevron Left
Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based に戻る

ミネソタ大学(University of Minnesota) による Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
607件の評価
128件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, which is designed to serve as the first course in the Recommender Systems specialization, introduces the concept of recommender systems, reviews several examples in detail, and leads you through non-personalized recommendation using summary statistics and product associations, basic stereotype-based or demographic recommendations, and content-based filtering recommendations. After completing this course, you will be able to compute a variety of recommendations from datasets using basic spreadsheet tools, and if you complete the honors track you will also have programmed these recommendations using the open source LensKit recommender toolkit. In addition to detailed lectures and interactive exercises, this course features interviews with several leaders in research and practice on advanced topics and current directions in recommender systems....

人気のレビュー

BS

2019年2月12日

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Choosing Java for the lab exercises makes them inaccessible for many data scientists. Consider providing a Python version.

DP

2017年12月7日

Nice introduction to recommender systems for those who have never heard about it before. No complex mathematical formula (which can also be seen by some as a downside).

フィルター:

Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based: 101 - 125 / 126 レビュー

by nitish a

2020年4月7日

The course and its content was quite interesting and easy, so I will be taking the next course in this specialization of Recommender System Specialization

by Lucas B A d A

2020年4月3日

A complete introduction to the topic. Some interviews are lacking of audio and video quality. The assignments are pretty suitable to the content.

by Danish R

2016年10月9日

More information on Programming Assignment would have been helpful . Overall a good course to begin the specialization

by Atieno M S

2019年8月16日

The course was a good one with content that's understandable. I can't wait to proceed to the next one

by Wesley H

2018年5月9日

Great introduction to Recommender systems. Really got me thinking about how I could apply them.

by ignacio v

2019年2月4日

done it by audit, thnks!!! great stuff guys... but should do some practice in python!

by Reza N

2017年4月27日

The course was easy to understand. but i find the slides not much of help.

by Nitin P

2016年11月18日

I think this is a good course to start exploring recommendation systems.

by Ben C

2017年10月30日

I'd really like trying coding, but there's no Python option..

by Mehmet E

2018年1月13日

videos are too long... I had to watch them with x2 speed...

by Peter P

2016年10月4日

Too theoretical. I hope other parts will have more details.

by Aleshin A

2018年5月18日

It would be better to make practice on Python.

by Egbert R

2021年4月11日

Great course.

by Andre C

2020年3月30日

Great course

by Gabriel S

2019年2月28日

not so deep

by Chunyang S

2017年2月3日

Generally I like the contents of this course. I particularly like that insights are provided in terms of what aspects to consider when designing a recommender system; pros and cons of different approaches. However I'm also extremely bored watching the videos because looking at the lectures reading the scripts (most of the time with very slow speed) is one of the quickest way to send people to sleep. I'd hope the lectures will improve their presenting skills.

Another comment is the honours track assignments should really be put into more thoughts. I passed them with 100% credit, but I didn't feel I gained a lot useful knowledge through this exercise. Generally it felt to me that the complexity of the implementation is much much more than needed in relation to the complexity of the problems. Eventually this assignment became grinding with Java's verbose, annoying syntax and unnecessary computations designed in lab instruction. For example, in the first programming assignment, why if the ModelProvider object already computed the entire map of ratings, and the map is directly needed in the Recommender object, the Model object only provide API to retrieve individual rating but not the entire map?! Isn't it a wasteful computation to reconstruct the rating map? So I doubt the structural design of the program is sensible, or the expected solution would actually be done in real applications. Also I think Java is just a really out-dated, bulky language to work with in this kind of task. It really makes the assignment experience awful.

by Akash S C

2019年6月22日

Good course for basic intro to recommender system. However, some basic problems - videos are too long and Java for programming assignment was a huge disappointment. i tried picking the lenskit assignment with java but decided to get rid of it and replicated the assignment in python instead. it was taking too much time to learn Java back which will never be used in regular work for data science. python or R should have been used for prog assignment. time to update the course.

by Sachin S

2016年10月31日

I expected a lot from this course but it could have been a lot better - lengthy videos, not trying to explain the concepts in an understandable ways. Ended up confusing with various interviews and what are differences between various content based recommenders. The programming exercises were good and provided a good overview.

by Paulo E d V

2016年12月8日

Ok, it's an introduction, but it could at least show us some math or pseudocodes. A part from that, the course is really awesome. Well structured classes, good explanations and incredible interviews

by Yan F

2021年9月19日

The course was generally ok, but can benefit from better lecture structure. For example, the general topic can move upfront, with more mathematical illustration on how content filtering is done.

by Ruth B

2017年8月13日

Not bad for an introduction, but I would have prefered it to be more technical

by Lucas B

2019年9月4日

Was expecting programming activities in Python or R, not in Java =/

by Kevin J A D

2022年1月28日

The core lectures are really good, the honours track is outdated.

by Priyamvada S

2021年12月6日

doesnt cover collaborative; rest is fine

by ­박민혜 / 학 / 데

2020年2月26日

수학개념이 부족해서 조금 추상적으로 이해하게 되었습니다.