Chevron Left
Understanding Research Methods に戻る

ロンドン大学(University of London) による Understanding Research Methods の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
6,108件の評価

コースについて

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

人気のレビュー

CS

2022年5月9日

Really easy to follow and great advice from all the experts! It has helped me organise from the beginning of my dissertation and I feel more comfortable getting started on what is a big project ahead.

AG

2017年7月26日

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

フィルター:

Understanding Research Methods: 26 - 50 / 1,996 レビュー

by Kira K

2016年8月13日

Didn't like the course though did only one week. In the first week you are supposed to write a research proposal. Though there is a lot of talk on what research is, no actual advice is given on how to write a sound research statement. What's more, with no knowledge on how to do it, you are supposed to assess the works of your peers. I doubt that inexperienced in research beginners will provide valuable feedback - at least I would never do it if I hadn't been quite experienced in that. The second week is devoted to the discussion of the importance of literature review. Isn't that obvious?

by Karl P M

2015年11月5日

In terms of delivery, the course delivery was very simple, critical and relevant. The course content was very engaging as it included interviews with graduate students and professors alike who are doing their researches. Quite fittingly, I commend the creators of this course for recognizing the fact that most online courses on research methods out there focus on having a linear tackling of lesson topics. For this course, it stressed the key issues and reflections of individuals who are doing the actual rudiments of the thing we call "research". More importantly, this course was also critical and relevant in many respects as it allowed us to have some write-ups about the topics without requiring us to go through many readings. It is in this sense that I would say that it its relevant--concise and direct in its approach, the instructors have seen to it that what they are to discuss will be the things which new comers to the research endeavor might ask.

Kudos to the team! And my warmest regards to all of you! =D

by 19G049 M M M

2020年10月14日

This course was an engaging one, sharing the experience of researchers. The activity was also great where we had chances to review others assignment.

by Rajan A

2020年9月13日

I completed my MA in English Literature in 2009 but it took me another 4 years to complete my thesis equivalent to 100 marks. I submitted a thesis in Virginia Woolf's To The Lighthouse by using feminism as a theoretical framework. I have got A+ in the thesis as well. However, my passion for research methods and academic writing was not pacified. When the nationwide lockdown began from March 24 in Nepal, I thought to utilize the time in a productive way. Therefore, I googled some free online courses related to research and came to find out Understanding Research Methods proposed by the University of London, SOAS University of London. Yes, I didn't complete all the assignments on the given time; however, I did each and every assignment and went through the peer reviews.

At the end of the course, I feel I have learned the things very practically. I learned about the research question, literature review and approaches, designs, philosophical assumptions and usefulness of the qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods of research to complete a research project in a successful way. I would like to thanks MOOC, University of London and the entire team for providing this opportunity for me.

by Charles O

2020年9月30日

It has been a wonderful course. What has impressed me most is the way how activities have been structured. You move from a scratch to a level where you can as well train others on how to write an excellent research proposal. I found reviewing colleagues work very enriching. Well done course designers.

I am having challenges to purchase the certificate due to issues of bank card. Is it possible to purchase it using western Union money transfer? Please guide me.

Sometime back I wrote you to say that I had challenges with with the bank card. However, I have managed to process it long at last. Would you please clear my payment line so that I can purchase my certificate?

by JONNALA S R

2020年5月1日

It was a perfect course for understanding the research methods. It helps me a lot, thanks to the University of London and Coursera for providing this opportunity to enhance our Knowledge in research.

I would like to Thank all mentors, especially Maryam Mahdavipour who has been fully and continuously responsive to my questions. Her amazing attitude was key in making my first course go smooth and be of great value.

The world is indeed a nutshell, this is what Coursera has shown me so far, and I'm sure more knowledge and exciting learning experiences is yet to come.

by Surya P

2020年11月8日

I liked the course as it has given me immense knowledge on how to go forward to do research work using the different methods in research. this course also in detail helped me to understand how management skills are important.

by Soumitra S

2019年10月29日

Excellent Course has been designed to learn research Approach, Research Design and Methodology. I am highly benefited by this course and it helps me a lot to pursue my PhD work

by Lucia

2021年2月13日

I am very disappointed with the content of this course. By the title and the topic, it had the potential to be a true gem among the courses offered on this site, since the topic is diverse yet very relevant to a lot of students, and the information could have supported potential researchers into the initial phases of their studies (which as far as I understand is the ultimate goal of the course, and my intention when I joined).

However, the course is just lazy. The creators did not have in mind to provide any useful information, insights, or advice. They recorded one-minute videos with UCL researchers and used parts of those one-minute long interviews in diverse videos so that, along with a total of 10 minutes of content for the first course of the week, you watch the same vague, already well-known affirmations all over. This means you learn nothing, and you're left with minus 10 minutes of your precious time.

Having completed many other Coursera courses I can say it's the first time I find one that is so pretentious it makes you want to believe that you are gaining any valuable knowledge in a total of 10 minute videos and a less than challenging activity. Literally, this review has taken me more effort than completing the contents of the whole of the first week. This review also has probably taken more effort than creating the contents of the entire course.

Truly, it is the worst course I've done on this platform, and would recommend that you do something else instead.

by Julio T

2022年7月18日

I feel that it is very interesting to study in Coursera, and the results achieved can contribute to a bright future. Just imagine in my mind that I do not know the famous university out there or say that the top universities in Europe there and only watch through YouTube or browsing on google search, but in reality, it is different because we can achieve results a little day of the top university through the Coursera platform. This course requires time and focus but a very limited time because of the thesis proposal assignment, it must focus on completing in one and a half days. May God bless us to meet someday. So I am very grateful to the Coursera community for giving me this golden opportunity to win courses with this best certificate.

by Shrubaboti B

2021年11月28日

As an introductive course, this is really helpful and gives a varied pool of opinions regarding research methodology ranging from senior professors to contemporary researches. There are some short interviews that help us in understanding the different components that together form the research methods. The best part is the peer-reviewed activities which allows us to absorb the information, comprehend it and then apply our understanding to work out our own specific research question. The reading material provided is also really good for beginners, neither too difficult to read nor too simplistic or general. I believe this will help me in planning my future research outlines. Thanks for making this course such an enriching experience.

by Jularat P

2021年5月14日

Very useful online course and motivate learner to become active , dedicate and enjoy the topic. Well structure of course , timing is perfect for anyone who didn’t have much free time.

Moreover, they provide the educational community of learning which is crucial for student to discuss and share what they’ve learned.

There is only one problem for me during taking this course. The assignment didn’t clear enough in some part. So that could be the reason that student don’t understand what they should do to submit those assignment.

Overalls, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who interested in research field, or someone who is in academic setting and want to use research method for further more.

by Juan A B V

2022年7月11日

We can see a research side most of the time hidden, to listen the way researchers are feeling and the fears they face and the way they get to overcome these, is a very important aspect of the course; besides, the way Literature Review is linked to the whole process of research, is amazingly developed in this course.

We could say that, I knew Literature Review was important, but in this course I got the opportunity to go throuhg the process in a very different way, and it came to link the whole process; and things that were quite abstract and mystical, came down to Earth in a quite clear manner.

I enjoyed the course and it has set me in another level for research.

Cheers mates

by Kelly T

2021年8月2日

This 5 stars awarded to Dr J. Simon Rofe and Dr Yenn Lee for the beautiful design and contents of course. I have basic knowledge of Research as I am preparing my Master course now. Still there are many areas that I felt is need to strengthen, thus during this semester break, i took up this course and glad that Coursera offered this course. If learners really follow the course, making notes and read a few times, certainly the learners will understand the purpose of this course has been carried out. All the Best to both Professors, the Coursera team as well as all our fellow classmates. Please continue to keep safe. KellyTeh

by Tom H

2020年5月17日

Great course! I learnt a lot about the processes of planning a piece of research. This course doesn't go into a huge amount of depth (it's only a short, 4 week course) but it gives you a really good introduction and I would recommend it to anyone who is about to begin learning about research. This course gives you free access to about 4 different chapters from different textbooks that are really worth reading and learning from. Also, the interviews with university professors are really useful because they share their first-hand knowledge, experience and advice.

by Linda.Zh

2016年11月23日

It is a very good introductory course on research methods. It has deepened my understanding of research methods. It has helped me to understand the role of literature review and research design. I also like its unique way of doing this course. Instead of lengthy lecturing, the course presents a few videos interviewing different researchers, having them talk about a certain topic. I've heard different views on the same topic, each of which makes a point. It has definitely helped me to look at the same issue from different perspectives.

by Sushmitha S

2020年5月14日

This course is well designed with experts sharing their valuable experiences about research. The interviews provides insights which helps us understand every detail to be taken care of while conducting a research. The study material provides an in-depth understanding of every concept and better understanding of the research process as a whole. This MOOC helped me understand research in a better way and the weekly assignments made the concepts learnt more applicable. Overall, this MOOC was a memorable experience.

by Zulkifli M

2020年4月26日

I love the flexibility of the course which allows me to pace my learning in accordance with my own situation. What is interesting about this particular course is the sharing of the research community, not just by the instructors. As researchers face their own challenges and have their own perspectives of looking at research aspects, we see diversified opinions and ideas. The fact that we can share our own experience and assess other learners' assignments cultivates a solid constructivist-learning environment.

by shruthi

2020年5月27日

This was an interesting and less exhaustive than I thought of it to be in the initial stages while I signed up. There is this construct of how anything concerning "Research" is time consuming and very rigorous. This course surely broke the fourth wall of such a construct and I thoroughly enjoyed each and every video, materials and of course the Peer E-tivity which was new to me and also a process of learning. Thank you so much to both the Course Instructors its been an honor learning from you both.

by Rania M

2021年6月12日

I learned a lot from this course. It allowed me to think critically about my research project and question as well as to understand research designs, methods, and approaches. I benefited from the readings provided by the instructors, in particular on conducting a literature review and on research designs. These were very helpful in allowing me to refine my research question and provide an initial outline plan. This was an excellent course that I would recommend to fellow PhD researchers.

by Bharath N k

2020年7月26日

good course ,this is just a outline all over for research especially for qualitative thinker i mean who are from social science ,it is some what different from science . they are starting with open ended question .however for science studying people it is converse .since the interviewed researchers are mainly from social ,so they have said in the point of social studies.However this a outline .therefore everything is same to make a research on whatever the thing except few points.

by MD S H

2020年7月21日

Evaluators can use a to compare findings from qualitative and quantitative data sources. It involves collecting both types of data at roughly the same time; assessing information using parallel constructs for both types of data; separately analyzing both types of data; and comparing results through procedures such as a side-by-side comparison in a discussion, transforming the qualitative data set into quantitative scores, or jointly displaying both forms of data.

convergent design

by Mark G

2022年1月3日

This is what I wrote a year or two ago: "A kind introduction to the formal research process that becomes foundational to further research proposals and dissertations/thesis."

Having gone back to review, the context was deceptively simple and profoundly well-done and useful. The content, insights, and recommendations were right on, and the interview process used exemplified what we would be using at the end of our course during the Dissertation phase. Well done, thanks!

by Steph M

2022年6月11日

I enjoyed this short, entry-level course. Although I have had some (not much!) experience with research, I felt the course a) offered something to people with experience and b) was also great for new researchers or people starting to think about conducting research. The speakers were insightful and the readings were relevant and useful. I enjoyed the 'assessments' and felt that the activities added to the course, without taking hours upon hours to complete.

by HEENABA J

2021年3月14日

By attending this course of Coursera, Understanding research methodology it provides very useful knowledge about the research activities such as plagiarism, bibliography, content of research work, sampling methods to be used and mamy more, it's a fabulous course for the Research scholar students specially to understand the importance of all the do and don't of the Research work in a very easy and comfortable way , thanks for providing such a online course.