Chevron Left
Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom に戻る

ラトガース大学(Rutgers the State University of New Jersey) による Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
151件の評価
54件のレビュー

コースについて

What is the purpose of government? Why should we have a State? What kind of State should we have? Even within a political community, there may be sharp disagreements about the role and purpose of government. Some want an active, involved government, seeing legal and political institutions as the means to solve our most pressing problems, and to help bring about peace, equality, justice, happiness, and to protect individual liberty. Others want a more minimal government, motivated, perhaps, by some of the disastrous political experiments of the 20th Century, and the thought that political power is often just a step away from tyranny. In many cases, these disagreements arise out of deep philosophical disagreements. All political and legal institutions are built on foundational ideas. In this course, we will explore those ideas, taking the political institutions and political systems around us not as fixed and unquestionable, but as things to evaluate and, if necessary, to change. We will consider the ideas and arguments of some of the world’s most celebrated philosophers, including historical thinkers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Mary Wollstonecraft, and John Stuart Mill; and more contemporary theorists such as Elizabeth Anderson, Isaiah Berlin, Thomas Christiano, Frantz Fanon, Amy Gutmann, Friedrich Hayek, Robert Nozick, Martha Nussbaum, Julius Nyerere, Ayn Rand, John Rawls, Peter Singer, and Kok-Chor Tan. The aim of the course is not to convince you of the correctness of any particular view or political position, but to provide you with a deeper and more philosophically-informed basis for your own views, and, perhaps, to help you better understand the views of those with whom you disagree....

人気のレビュー

CP
2021年10月6日

This course actually helped me understand the vast ideologies of various political thinkers in a brief way. Thanks to the creator who made learning fun and easy.

AE
2020年12月22日

I like how convenient it is for us especially that I am still a student in a university and I didn't really have to struggle managing this course.

フィルター:

Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom: 26 - 50 / 56 レビュー

by Najib A A A A

2020年9月28日

The course is very important to me and all students for start learning in political science

by JEENA G J

2020年11月1日

The course is understandable and awesome. Got a lot of knowledge by this online platform.

by Abdullah K

2020年11月18日

Good Course for those who need to know the purpose of government or state and its role.

by Alyssa M

2020年7月9日

Loved this class so much that I just signed up for part 2!

by Anisur R

2020年12月27日

I have completed the course. How do I get a certificate?

by Cristine J D

2020年12月8日

Very understandable lessons, interesting, and fun course

by Valeria P

2021年3月23日

I loved it! The professor was great and I learned a lot

by Steve R

2020年12月6日

Very well done. I'll be doing Part 2 for sure.

by Anusha S

2020年6月24日

The lectures were concise and useful!

by Parviz U

2020年12月17日

Thank you very much for attention!

by Worrinphi R s

2020年9月19日

This is a good platform to learn

by Ni N

2020年8月13日

inspring and comprehensive.

by IJEOMA C

2020年8月2日

it was very educational

by Md R H

2020年7月13日

Very good course

by 121933201037 S L

2021年10月17日

very informative

by Aarthi .

2021年7月26日

excellent course

by Daniela b

2020年11月30日

Exelente curso

by Sara R

2021年3月10日

Thank you

by Abhishek P

2020年7月15日

FANTASTIC

by KANISHKA

2020年9月4日

nice

by Zakir H

2020年9月28日

Wow

by Masoud H A

2020年10月29日

This was a good and quick review of some of the philosophical views on how the state and the relation between an individual and his/her society and ultimately the state are established or structured. The course provided in-depth analysis for learners who are interested in knowing how some of the modern concepts were originally viewed and argued amongst past and modern thinkers and philosophers.

by Angela R

2021年9月6日

I have taken many history, law, and philosophy classes during my college career, but this is the first one that has put all of these together into one package. I loved it! It was so well put together. I am so excited to start the second half as soon as possible.

by محمد ب

2021年6月24日

An excellent course, I did not find it difficult, but I was late in completing it because I was busy with some other courses, and my average was 100/100 without the need to repeat. Thank you for these scholarships

by James O

2020年12月4日

Very well organized and presented.

Lectures could be livelier and use examples tied to everyday life.

Assignments should be more demanding and require some creativity.