Chevron Left
Functional Programming in Scala Capstone に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Programming in Scala Capstone の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
463件の評価
80件のレビュー

コースについて

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

人気のレビュー

MP

Sep 08, 2019

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB

Jun 14, 2017

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

フィルター:

Functional Programming in Scala Capstone: 26 - 50 / 78 レビュー

by Jon Z

Jul 05, 2017

Great course, I learned a lot. Thank you!

by Stephen P

May 25, 2017

An excellent well paced climax to the Functional Programming specialism

by Andrew O

Apr 19, 2017

Thank you. The course is really nice.

by Vital A

May 17, 2017

Very challenging. Great course/project/specialization

by John V M

Jun 26, 2017

This entire Scala series has been excellent.

by Pavel O

May 13, 2017

This capstone project is a nice end of Scala specialisation!

by CAI X

Jul 31, 2017

Nice course which cement your knowledge of scala in action!

by Gyeongmin G

Aug 28, 2018

Most of the case, it is hard to deal with big data. This course provides an opportunity to handle big data and visualize the handled result on UI. Also, as you learned from FPD in Scala course, UI is developed with Scala.js

by Massimiliano D

Nov 19, 2018

The perfect end of the course. It manages to recap all the concept, the libraries and the exercises that has been done during all other courses. It is a good point to remember all the things that one has been made, and a good point to review all the things that were not so clear.

by Marc K

Apr 26, 2019

It's very well put together. It just requires a great deal of time dedication specially because blocks of time should be meaningul to not lose the context present in one's mind.

by Ronald C M

Jun 26, 2019

The best

by Sanjeev R

Aug 26, 2019

Nice hands on Course

by Matthew P

Sep 08, 2019

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

by Natalija I

Jan 04, 2019

Capstone project is challenging specially because of the performance standards. I enjoyed solving the problems

by Andronik

Jun 16, 2017

Interesting project, but exercises were too simple. I was able to complete with course in 5 evenings.

by Arthur

Apr 18, 2017

Good project enjoyed playing with the Scala.ja

by Алексей Ш

Aug 03, 2017

The tasks are very interesting! Unfortunately, sometimes the causes for the failure of the tests are not clear.

by Niels P

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent capstone that lets you test your knowledge of Scala in a (semi)real project environment. Though i found that the main difficulty for me was in understanding the context of geographical computations. Making it difficult to find if not passing test was due to error in my code or in my understanding of geographical context.

by Chet W

Jan 29, 2018

Very cool to see the entire application fit together eventually. However, feel sometimes the explanation for the exercise could have used more details/examples.

by Zhu L

Sep 04, 2017

I've read a lot of reviews before me and see that they mentioned several cons: off-topic programming assignment, imbalanced difficulty distribution and instable grader, vague feedback information.

For the few points mentioned above, I'd say I've experienced all of them indeed, it's true.

But for a project that's to be called "real", you're gonna have to adapt yourself to production environment and work like a true professional. That means you gotta tolerate faulty situations and ambiguous specifications. (Quite often, you don't know WTF they want, but you'll eventually come around and hand in a piece of code that runs smoothly with the right output.) It's something you deal with every day if you work in a tech firm as an SDE, RSDE, etc..

In terms of this kind of blank-filling programming assignments, it's just fine for me. Some argue that they should allow us to write everything from scratch and judge the grades by the output, allowing more flexibility for the developemt process. I think the skeleton code is simple enough, leaving enough freedom for you to mess around. If you allow me to start from scratch, I'm gonna finish it with C++ or Python.

The one thing I say they should really fix is the instability of the grader. Random failures and insufferable waitings are the two things that take away most of the fun. The programming assignment itself wasn't so hard, but was made unnecessarily much harder by these two factors.

For the sake of the previous four courses, I can spare 4 stars. But I understand those 1 stars.

by Fernando

Jun 06, 2018

Good Spark / Big Data project.

Provides a good example of real problem project focussed on Spark and big data analysis.

by Francisco J D d S F G

May 24, 2018

I really enjoyed this course - it goes from the very basics of Spark and tests your ability regarding Scala knowledge.

The capstone project is really well structured, but at times it felt like the instructors could give more information concerning some definitions around the project, i.e. how all of the case classes from the models file interconnect or relate to each other. By the end of the project it would be helpful explaining how the Layer class was actually structured as well.

In reality my opinion of this course is 4.5 out of 5 - I think the instructors made an admirable job trying to convey most of specialization concepts into the capstone, so congratulations :-). If not for some of the aspects above, I would rate it 5/5.

by Jean-Francois T

Apr 18, 2017

A bit sad that actual full working solution is not graded as it invovled generating files on disk, which is compuation intensive...

by Wolfgang G

Sep 01, 2017

pretty tough, but informative!

by Rodolfo N P

Aug 09, 2018

For a lot of sections one couldn't really use Spark, said sections were restricted to translating Spark datastructures to Scala collections and working with those.