Chevron Left
Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,519件の評価
517件のレビュー

コースについて

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

人気のレビュー

BP
2019年11月28日

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC
2017年6月7日

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

フィルター:

Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark: 76 - 100 / 500 レビュー

by Mani P

2017年4月9日

Excellent material. Very good flow. Heather has an amazing way of walking through the flow and simplifying the concepts. Great assignments -- takes a bit longer than 3 hours.

by Piotr A

2017年3月16日

Great course. Very informative. I have learned a lot. Lessons are very well prepared and structured. Implementation tasks are interesting. Thanks to all EPFL team. Great job!

by Paweł W

2020年4月3日

Well explained with many details, both: theory and practice really well prepared. I highly recommend to take this course if you're interested in Spark and big data analysis.

by Mykola S

2017年6月30日

Great course with nice explanations of some Spark concepts. The third week was particularly useful for my understanding of Spark shuffling and partitioning. Thanks a lot!

by Fernando

2018年6月6日

Great course about Big Data analysis

It was my first exposure to Big Data frameworks and I learned a lot about the problems trying to be solved and the power of Spark.

by Seleznev A

2020年5月9日

I like this course because It isn't about analysis (as Yandex course here), it's about real work with Apache Spark for analysis. One of the best courses on Coursera!

by Mohamed A T

2019年8月6日

the theory is very clear and well explained.

the practical assignments are a little bit ambiguous but they are overall very good and challenging.

highly recommended!

by Andronik

2017年6月15日

Nice introduction into Spark with details about how Spark works internally. This course also talks about when to use RDD/Dataframe/Dataset and performance pitfalls.

by El G T

2019年10月27日

really good material, well explained with many examples.

maybe more information or precisions should be added to the assignments but good material and explanations

by Seongsan K

2018年3月9日

It was really useful material. It would be really nice if there are more assignments to polish the materials we learn, but I am really satisfied with the course.

by Walter D

2018年1月1日

Great course to get going with Apache Spark. Would recommend to someone who has java or scala experience already and wants to learn about distributed processing.

by Walter Z

2017年4月2日

Great introduction to Spark and it's data structures. The course is easy to follow, and lecturer is entertaining and really engaged.

Thanks, I really had fun !

by Zeb S

2019年10月16日

I worked with PySpark professionally, and this helped add some depth to my knowledge of Spark as well as give me a chance to translate those skills to Scala.

by Antonio A

2017年10月20日

Clear explanations, with emphasis done on the important/practical stuff. From zero to a general understanding on Spark and the available tools in 4 weeks.

by Shweta P

2020年7月18日

I really liked the course. Learnt lot many things regarding Scala and Spark. The Assignments were really helpful to get hands-on knowlegde of Spark.

by Jeffrey S

2017年4月9日

Lectures were clear and engaging and directly related to the homework. The assignments were very practical and very hard. Best course of the series!

by Grzegorz G

2017年3月21日

Some of the assignments are a bit challenging, due to grading system I suppose, but in the end general impression about this course is very positive

by Bulent B

2019年8月7日

Amazing technology, explained wonderfully. Note: familiarity with scala (take Martin's course in coursera) would make your experience even better.

by Konstantin K

2017年4月12日

good stuff, compared to the other similar course in PySpark this one gave me a lot more understanding of how things work in Spark on the low level

by Liqun Y

2017年6月29日

Very useful. Dr. Miller apparently did a very good job. I strongly suggest beginners to read the "Learning Spark" book and then take this class.

by Shane

2018年5月10日

Very well-organized courses about Spark ! Really learned some good practical tips. Hope there could be more explanations about the assignments.

by John V M

2017年4月24日

Yet another excellent Scala class. Good lectures, good assignments. Clear and understandable, while presenting a whole bunch of new concepts.

by Bennie K

2017年10月15日

Really clear and direct. Would love to see another course on the Advanced Spark topics such as Spark Streaming and Spark custom libraries

by Arman S

2020年9月20日

The professor and her team has done a tremendous job in this course. A very hearty thank you to all of you. Please keep up the good work!

by Álvaro L L

2017年6月11日

A great introduction to Spark !!! An esential course to anyone interested in the field! Thank you very much Heather and the EPFL team !!