Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,238件の評価
920件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 1 - 25 / 902 レビュー

by Iromi P

Dec 23, 2018

This is a great effort which should be appreciated. Just because at a time like this, some are curious to know about the Buddhism, & with the psychological background, which adds more value for this.

by JULIO C M

Feb 21, 2019

¿Y si la mente al recibir un alimento "sano de verdad..." se desarrollara hacia insospechados límites?.

¿Y si en verdad lo hiciere...?.

Meditar, autoobservarse y observarlo todo sin prejuicios, seguramente nos acerca desde nuestra mayor calma, a ser más protagonistas en la construcción de un mundo mejor.

by Luca S

Jul 07, 2019

Great teacher and awesome course, every module is very interesting

by Jaime A C F

Jul 03, 2019

Professor Robert Wright did a remarkable job linking the main concepts of Buddhist tradition with many valuable concepts and ideas that have been provided by scientific research, evolutionary psychologists, experienced meditators, and other experts. The course offers a wonderful opportunity for western students to get closer to the world of Buddhist philosophy, from a point of view that is compatible with western thought, science, and philosophy. I totally recommend it.

by Chloé V

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

by Vit C

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

by Rach B

Jul 20, 2016

I loved this course so much. It gave me personal clarity. I also find Prof. Wright's examples amusing, as he connects Buddhism and modern psychology to the mundane things in life, like donuts. :)

by Tobias F

Dec 12, 2018

Really well made course with a lot of Office Hours to make the course even better. It raises a lot of questions and teach a lot about self, meditation and human mind in general.

by Sophie R

Nov 29, 2018

Loving the content of the course, thought provoking, educational, encourages self-development. I also like the contribution from the dogs Milo and Fraser!

by Zhen L

Jan 10, 2019

Great course。

by Andrea S

Jan 13, 2019

Great course. Bodhisattva Robert Wright is an entertaining and inspiring teacher and I'm looking forward to his next course. Meanwhile, I enjoy reading his books.

by Prince A

Jan 14, 2019

s

by Yann M

Dec 31, 2018

Amazing course. Would recommend to everyone. This is what MOOCs are meant to be!

by Marie W

Jan 22, 2019

Highly, highly recommended to people suffering from a psychiatric illness and/or PTSD.

by Rubin M

Jan 22, 2019

Very good information. I enjoyed the class a lot and learned a lot as well.

by Arianna D

Feb 18, 2019

Thank you Prof. Wright for creating this course! It has brought a whole new in-depth understanding on Buddhism and Psychology.

by Ghassan Q

Feb 06, 2019

Eye opening . This is one of the rare courses that is fundementally academic & philisophical et touches the soul

by Ilya S

Feb 07, 2019

Amazing course!!!

by 稲垣貴士/Takashi I

Feb 07, 2019

Good course. I enjoyed it.

by Evgueni K

Jan 24, 2019

It is one of the most important courses that I have ever took. This course has provided me with a very valuable insight into my own mind, as well as basics of Buddhism, and its cross with modern science. The course will change my life, as it provides me with better understanding of my own though process and emotional functioning. Thank you so very much!

by Susanne W

Feb 23, 2019

An intriguing and interesting look at the parallels between modern evolutionary theory of the mind and Buddhist concepts from thousands of years ago. Dr. Wright is knowledgeable, entertaining and provides valuable insight and examples to enforce the concepts of the course. Truly a delightful, thought-provoking look at the human mind.

by Ricardo A

Feb 25, 2019

It is a pleasant and amusing introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology. This course focuses on meditation as a way of trying to reduce the impact of unproductive patterns of thinking. I find it an interesting and worthwhile course. Mr Wright proposes interesting theories based on natural selections. The central points in the course is how our modern life presents us with stimuli that were useful in our prehistoric environment but which cause us to overreact. Meditation makes us realize this and temper down or eliminate our responses and bring peace to our mind.

by Monica G

Mar 21, 2019

Excellent course. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer. I especially enjoyed office hours with his dogs.

by Francisco B

Feb 28, 2019

Me mostró información nueva y muy útil. Un curso recomendable para cualquier profesional de la salud, investigador o persona interesada en su desarrollo personal

by Manju A

Feb 27, 2019

The course designed beautifully, gives complete insight on Buddhism and modern Psychology. Mr. Robert Wright awesome teacher, he explains the concept in a very simple and effective way. I learned a lot from this course and would definitely practice some learnings in my day to day life. Thanks Coursera