Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,491件の評価
1,887件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

RB
2019年10月15日

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 1826 - 1850 / 1,858 レビュー

by Darleen M

2016年6月13日

Loved the professor. Do not like essay questions.

by Beatriz C

2019年2月7日

good but not what i expected, too boring

by Kamala .

2020年10月4日

Nice course more information its give

by Srinivasan

2020年4月29日

Actually i have learnt most

by Francisco J L M

2020年4月23日

THANK YOU ALL. Namaste.

by Жураева М

2020年8月28日

good

by Guillermina E E A

2020年7月14日

I finished the Buddhism and Modern Psychology course, I liked it but it has no certificate. However, I think that they should grant a proof of studies or diploma, even if it is not official, due to the effort and time invested.

I was excited that Princeton University offers the course, in fact it was one of the reasons why I signed up.

I would have liked to be able to say that I did these studies with the support of the knowledge offered by the University. Believe me, otherwise it's like I've read books and wikipedia.

by Georgiana S

2020年10月23日

There is no diploma at the end of the course! You invest your time for nothing! If I wanted ONLY information about Buddhism I would have read A BOOK! But I wanted A COURSE! With a DIPLOMA at the end! Please create a diploma for this course, there are LOTS of other people complaining on the forums about this too.

by Jo P

2016年11月16日

I was attracted to this course because it offered the science behind Buddhism and I am studying neuro-science. I have abandoned it as it is yet an other exposition of Buddhism. Neglible science, neglible evidence - just stuff I already knew from non-scientific Buddhist sources.

by Andrea P R C

2020年4月5日

Los cuestionarios estan en ingles por lo que es difícil resolver aunque el curso tienen subtítulos y la resolución de dudas me pareció muy informal debido a los perros que muestra y habla de ellos

by TUSHAR V S

2020年5月6日

THE VIDEOS GET BORING AFTER SOMETIME. IT NEEDS ANIMATION OR STORYTELLING TO UNDERSTAND MORE. THIS COURSE WAS NOT HELPFULL TO UNDERSTAND CONCEPT IN-DEPTH.

UNHAPPY WITH COURSE OUTCOME.

by Natalia S A

2020年5月23日

Abandono el curso porque el contenido está muy basado en opiniones del profesor pero no brinda mucho contenido teórico.

by Terry C

2015年11月9日

A bit thin on the psychology. References are not hard to find and post in Resources.

by Faridul A S

2020年5月4日

Where is my course completion certificate?

by Anne

2016年1月13日

........u,mumjhmhjm h

by Alice Z

2022年1月6日

The Basis of Buddhism is to share ones enlightment. It is not to share one's tripe.

S​adly week 1 is office hours and week 2 presumes week one was Not about fofice hours but the first two steps on the eightfold path. Later he mumbles about how little he knows.

S​ad - very sad

by Maria C A

2021年11月21日

T​here is a problem with the audio portion of the course. The sound disappears, and reappears in a rollercoaster fashion which makes it challenging to follow the words of the professor, rendering it incomprehensible.

by Aparna J

2020年9月3日

VERY LONG LECTURES WITHOUT PROPER STRUCTURE AND VERY TEDIOUS ASSIGNMENTS. TOO MUCH EFFORT AND TIME TO BE SPEND ON SOMETHING THAT DOESN'T EVEN OFFER A CERTIFICATE.

by MIRIAM P C

2020年9月6日

Indican que puede tomarse en español pero no tiene el acceso es una lastima espero lo puedan meter con traducción en español en breve.

saludos

by SEEMA S P

2017年8月2日

its very boring. the lecturer doesnt know to take class.its just he is reading a book.i am discontinuing the course.

sorry

by Michelle M C

2015年12月11日

I am just not feeling this course. I have done up to week five and still am not hooked. Sorry!

by Joe L

2020年9月2日

No certificate? Whack... You made me write a paper to not earn a certificate? Very whack.

by DR.SUNDARAPANDIYARAJ S

2020年6月11日

wer is certificate. doing course of spending time. but certificate not offered

by Jisha

2021年2月22日

Excellent Course but very bad for not providing certificates.

by Joselin F O c

2017年1月29日

Me encanta porque te enseña a ver la vida de otro ojos