Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,490件の評価
1,887件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

LW
2020年10月25日

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
2015年11月15日

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 201 - 225 / 1,858 レビュー

by Shubhada

2016年10月20日

I want to say a big thank you to Prof. Wright for designing this course excellently. This course has provided an enlightening outlook on life. It's a must for not only people who are studying Buddhist philosophy but also for people who are tackling with turbulence in life & need a long term solution to dealing with life's ups & downs. Thank you Prof. Wright, I will miss you!

by Elsa S

2020年9月8日

Great Course!!!, I am really happy an excited to finish !!! Thanks a lot to profesor Robert Wright the way he explain and questions he make are really enjoyable and interesting !! >Great work proffesor thanks for sharing it, and thanks to Buddha to give me more light in my life , thanks to coursera to make this available!!, my best regards to all. Elsa Santoyo from Mexico.

by Tarey L K

2015年10月28日

I am very attached to this Course & would find it extremely difficult not having an affective reaction to it. This is the second time I have audited this Course & hope to audit it each time it is available. Dr. Wright is a wonderful teacher & presents some very difficult concepts in very clear, concise, understandable language. Thank you so very much for this Course.

by Ernesto R R

2021年4月26日

This was an exceptional course, with a great teacher and very useful and interesting material. I recommend this course to all interested people, I am sure it will exceed your expectations.

Este fue un curso excepcional, con un gran profesor y material muy útil e interesante. Recomiendo este curso a toda la gente interesada, estoy seguro que superará sus expectativas

by Amit I

2020年1月2日

Robert Wright's class is amazing. I had been reading about Advaita Vedanta and studying writings of various Buddhist writers. Both these philosophies are very close and touch many aspects of our belief systems. I found Prof Wright's class to be the most engaging and insightful. It started me on a journey to learn more about the psychology and the neurobiology.

by Dilshan S

2016年10月17日

Engaging and stimulating, this course offers fresh perspectives on looking at the world. With captivating video lectures backed with interviews with world-class experts on subject matters, this course is a must for those interested in the intersection of Buddhism and modern psychology. A big thank you to Mr. Wright for putting all the material together. Thank you!

by Mónica M T

2020年6月6日

It is an interesting course. I learned many things that i had no idea before. Every topic was explained clearly.

However, I have a commment. There was an argument that wasn't mentioned along the course: how modern science, with a positivist approach, would lend support to a practice or paradigm that it isnt positive (not measurable, that can not be observed, etc).

by Joanna F

2017年7月17日

The course is prepared very, very nicely. I appreciated Mr Wright's knowledge on the topic as well as his style of presenting it. I think it is an excellent course for those who are ready to receive the teachings. I also enjoyed Mr Wright's sense of humor and his anecdotes about the dogs - Milo and Frazier. They are no worse teachers of Buddhism than their boss.

by Pankaj R

2016年10月2日

This is my second go for this course and let me tell, that this course is an excellent connection of pragmatic theories of BUDDHISM.I am practicing meditation "Vipassna Meditation" which is a form of very intense meditation technique thought by Lord Buddha himself, i can easily correlate every word what is being thought.Thumbs up for such an insightful course!!!

by Anselmo D A

2017年12月11日

An awesome course. I took it because of the proposal to relate Buddhism and modern psychology, even me knowing too little of both. Professor Wright makes it easy to follow the Buddha's ideas, while relating those to modern science, and my view of what both subjects are changed for the best. From here, a lot of reading and practice of meditation to improve life!

by Juan G

2020年5月18日

Excelente curso. El profesor Wright desarrolla muy bien los contenidos, de manera amena y con intervenciones precisas con otros profesionales. El material complementario es muy interesante (lástima que los videos completos de las entrevistas no estén subtitulados en español) y los autores que cita permiten hacerse una mejor idea sobre el budismo en occidente.

by PAULO F V A

2020年5月13日

Excelente curso; muy sólida exposición y presentación del profesor. Muy valioso el recurso de las entrevistas a diferentes expertos con perspectivas también diferentes, como parte de la discusión y de la sustentación de las tesis. Me fortalece aspectos de fundamentación en la comprensión del comportamiento humano. Quedo muy agradecido. Saludos desde Colombia.

by 钟慧

2019年3月7日

I really like this course, which shows a very different perspective to think about the religion that I usually heard of but never thought into. It stimulated me to think of the inbuilt modes of human's mind/brain by birth (psychology part), and subjectively think of buddhism by getting rid of those overwhelming superstitions. Thank you very much, professor!

by Andrés S I

2021年11月20日

I have completed the six weeks course, feeling kind of nostalgic already for i have truly enjoyed learning and listening to professor Wright. He has this particular way of being a guiding voice towards difficult topics, while being able to be funny and caring for his students. Office Hours has been a great moment to see important discussions from the past.

by Tyler W

2020年6月10日

This course is a fantastic overview of Buddhism in general, mindfulness meditation practice/philosophy in particular, and the multiple ways in which modern science adds a sort of rigor and validation to the claims of Buddhist philosophy. I encourage all to read Wright's subsequent book called "Why Buddhism Is True" to continue the immersion in these ideas.

by Shikha A

2019年6月15日

Its a great course for anyone who wants to understand Buddhism in relation to modern psychology. The topics have been covered with lot of depth and clarity. And there are many talks with eminent people in respective fields to give additional inputs about the topics. I really like this course and would look forward to do more courses by the same instructor.

by Cindy R

2017年10月26日

Awesome class! Loved the way Buddhism was tied into psychology. If I didn't quite understand the Buddhist way, the psychology of it made sense. I learned so much in this class. The professor added humor to his videos along with his cute dogs. I loved all the interviews with various people. It really helped in the discussion forums and for my own use.

by abha r S

2021年3月6日

Though Buddhism as a religion need no introduction but its relationship with evolutionary psychology was an eye opener for me. We need more such courses and researches which brings out the scientific dimensions of religion, instead of depicting it as full of superstitions and dogmas. I enjoyed the course and would look forward for similar work in future.

by Alice T

2020年10月18日

I enjoyed the course a lot even though sometimes it seems like a lot of materials and coursework, but I think they actually helped me solidified the knowledge from the lessons. I'm interested in both psychology and buddhism, and I've always thought there's some overlap between the two, and it's really interesting to see that science actually backs it up.

by Evgueni K

2019年1月24日

It is one of the most important courses that I have ever took. This course has provided me with a very valuable insight into my own mind, as well as basics of Buddhism, and its cross with modern science. The course will change my life, as it provides me with better understanding of my own though process and emotional functioning. Thank you so very much!

by TM

2017年4月21日

This is a brilliant course by an amazing professor. One of my favourite courses ever.

I took this course twice. And it made a huge impact on my life, without exaggeration. Since then I went a couple of times to silence retreats Prof. Wright mentions in the course, follow and learn from the teachers he talks about.

Can't be more grateful for this course.

by Lloyd A

2016年3月23日

This was such an enjoyable course and has had a profound impact on my life. I now meditate and use mindfulness much more than I did. Robert Wright as a lecturer is easy to understand, patient and also adds humour to the course, with the consideration of the level of Buddhist temperament shown by his dogs during the tutorials. Time well spent. Thank you.

by Mike H

2019年8月28日

Loved this course. It was exactly what I was looking for: a concise, enjoyable and informative insight into the psychological aspects of Buddhism. Professor Wright is a skilled and knowledgeable communicator who makes each lecture engaging, ably supported by his two dogs, Milo and Frasier. The detailed support material is also very useful. Thankyou

by Anastasia A

2020年5月6日

This course supplies you with more than enough information in many different learning styles. Any questions I had were answered and the vast system of peer contact improved the experience. Each students education can expand through the discussion board, FB and Twitter page as well as meaningoflife.tv and suggested readings. Thank you Professor Wright!

by DM

2016年4月2日

Excelente ! Ofece una perspectiva diferente sobre lo que damos por sentado acerca del "yo", nuestra mente y la posibilidad de autoreflexividad sobre nuestros pensamientos y conductas "automáticas" asociadas a estos pensamientos o ideas. Esto con base en las enseñanzas de buda y su relación con investigaciones recientes en neuropsicología cognitiva.