Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,492件の評価
1,888件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

RB
2019年10月15日

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 251 - 275 / 1,858 レビュー

by Giselle T

2020年9月1日

This course opened the door to the path of the Buddha, which I am now following. This course is very complete in its presentation of sometimes difficult concepts, thanks to Prof. Wright´s organization of course materials, personal interpretations and anecdotes, and invited speakers. This course is such a gift to all of us!

by Anabela C

2019年7月22日

It is an excellent course, where not only concepts are learned but it leads you to think in a different way, to see things differently and you learn in each video, in each work. It is very well organized and Professor Robert Wright is perfect to lead the course. Thank you very much to everyone who made this course possible!

by Deborah B

2017年9月3日

Wonderfully constructed, engaging course. Loved the length of each lecture, the added videos with experts in each field, and resources. Instructions for essays and peer review were clear and easy to use. Questions for the essays were thought provoking and helped consolidate provided course material. THANKS! I learned a lot!

by Erich C

2016年12月17日

Awesome course given by a very charismatic instructor, with the curious participation of his 2 furred sidekicks. The contents of this course are very useful for our everyday life, by helping us increase our awareness of mental processess. Also very useful for people who are willing to start meditating and improving welfare.

by Cristina M

2020年12月14日

No pasa el tiempo por esta enseñanza y, aunque el profesor Wright ha publicado un excelente libro derivado de este curso, sigue siendo genial atender a sus videos, entrevistas, materiales y al intenso y continuo intercambio entre alumnos y tutores vía blog, faceboock, etc. Me ha enseñado mucho y lo he disfrutado. Gracias!

by Megha W H

2016年11月14日

This course has been a learning process that has strengthened myself / non- self, and I have understood the workings of my Modular mind, so now I'm taking full charge over it and with the help of mindfulness meditation, I'm already experiencing success. Thank you Prof. Robert wright and all the participating Professionals.

by Juergen B

2019年6月3日

Brilliantly presented. I am in no way spiritual and love the scientic evidence presented. This course has brought spirituality closer to me. There are a lot of questions science raises and combining two so seemingly different camps as Buddhist spirituality with "hard" science offers new answers or at least new viewpoints.

by p.manicka s

2017年5月1日

This is a fantastic course for anyone interested in Buddhism and gives an entirely different perspective on anatta and sunyata. Dr.Wright has taken lot of pain and the course material (audio, video, text, web links) is excellent. The mentors in the forum are very good and did a wonderful job in moderating the discussions.

by TRUDY D

2018年6月4日

The course on Buddhism and Modern Psychology was most interesting. I have been able to apply the knowledge gained in this course and incorporate it into my everyday life.

I believe that anyone even slightly interested in either Buddhism and/or Modern Psychology would find this course to be very valuable and enlightening.

by Jessica J

2020年5月4日

Professor Wright is straightforward, funny, and curious -- all important qualities a great professor should have! His deep personal interest in Buddhism and its relation to evolutionary psychology is what makes this course special and so well done. I highly recommend engaging in this course. Thank you, Professor Wright!

by Thomas J S

2017年11月12日

Great course. I'm very thankful to Prof. Wright and all those who made this course possible. I learned a lot and clarified many things I have been thinking about for years. I enjoyed the books required for the course and have welcomed them into my library. I'm impressed with Prof. Wright as a teacher and an author.

by Emma S

2020年5月24日

This was my first ever Coursera course and it was a wonderful introduction to realm of online learning and the broad range of subject matter that is available on this platform. I loved the low-stress feel of this course and genuinely felt excited to learn more each week. There is so much to take away from this course!

by rana s j

2020年5月20日

A very well structured course with content that is easily accessible to a non-Buddhist, non-psychologist amateur venturing to learn about both. Prof. Wright brings forth the material with all seriousness and a lot of humor, providing various resources to expand in-depth learning. Just the right dose needed! Thank you!

by Jessica B

2016年2月5日

Excellent class! Thorough and humorous. The lectures and discussions included are very well explained, making difficult concepts easier to grasp. It also provides several jumping off points if you want to dive further into this combined subject of Buddhism and Modern Psychology! I look forward to exploring it further.

by Grozda s

2015年12月17日

Very interesting course! Easy to follow without any background. I really loved it!!! I would recommend it to everyone who is interested in psychology, neuroscience, personal development, human evolution or religion studies. I also want to thank all people who participated in making this course, you did a great job! :)

by Karim L

2018年1月9日

I found this course very interesting and useful for any person interested to understand human mind and behavior. And specially for those that believe that Buddhism is a wise philosophy that can not only help us to reduce our own suffering, but that can help us being better people and do the less harm to other beings.

by Maryam S

2016年10月30日

Auditing this course helped me develop a scientific view point based on principals of evolutionary psychology and enriched my understanding of Buddhist philosophy. And, I should add that taking this course helped me find my next academic challenge, which is pushing a masters in psychology. Thank you professor Wright.

by Julian S

2016年2月9日

An amazing course for those looking to understand themselves, the world, and social interactions. This course is scientifically grounded, using the results of numerous studies to examine the human intellect and it's biases, and includes talks with various world-renowned Buddhist meditators and psychology researchers.

by Michael W

2020年6月27日

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have gained insight into evolutionary psychology, something of which I knew nothing about before. I also gained more knowledge about Buddhism and it can help with thoughts and emotions that are negative. I sound the professor, Robert Wright to be very informative and easy to watch.

by RAJEEV K S

2020年5月14日

It is a man's own mind, not his enemy or foe, that lures him to evil ways.” “We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.” “There is nothing so disobedient as an undisciplined mind, and there is nothing so obedient as a disciplined mind.”

by FS

2016年6月24日

Quite interesting way of analizyng buddhism and psychology. They are definitely closer to each other than I thought. The professor is clear and in love with the subject, which is a good thing, as it's infectious: you'll start to love the lessons and devour the lectures. I'm planning on taking this course again soon.

by Ross N

2020年6月16日

Robert Wright is just as curious as us learners, and uses humour and easy examples to convey heavy topics. I find the idea of Buddhism for wellbeing fascinating. I work for the NHS providing Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and this course helped me understand the logic behind, and the power of [mindfulness] meditation.

by Tim S

2017年3月4日

Excellent course, recommended for less spiritual people. Specifically the link with evolutionary psychology gives this course a more scientific approach. The non-prescriptive rationale help people to see the why, before the what. One may eventually join, or in my case partially join, the buddhist view of the world.

by Rodrigo

2015年12月20日

Great course, so far. The way the connection between Buddhism, evolution and psychology is taught is VERY clear, concise and logic. I am a mathematician, who studies buddhism and loves psychology also, and have never seen an explanation so clear and connected to our culture like in this course. Awesome initiative!

by Meredith D

2020年2月24日

Loved this course, Richard Wright has a really simple and engaging way of explaining both the religion and the science and ties it together in a fascinating way. I also fell a little bit in love with his dogs, Frasier and Milo who were stars of the course in their own right. Good luck with the Buddhist path boys!