Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,492件の評価
1,888件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

LW
2020年10月25日

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 151 - 175 / 1,858 レビュー

by James L S

2015年12月1日

I have been studying and practicing Buddha Dhamma for nearly 20 years and I would say this course is excellent. The lecturer is informed, and is able to combine ancient and modern knowledge in an illuminating manner. The lecturer is enjoyable to watch and is open to suggestions and constructive comments. Overall this is an excellent introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology and how they inform each other in a mutually beneficial synthesis.

by Alexa F

2018年3月7日

Thank you Robert Wright! I feel like I have gained a wealth of knowledge about Buddhism and meditation from a Naturalistic view of Buddhism and through many scientific perspectives. Robert truly put a lot of hard work and dedication into this course, and, if you commit to it, you can learn so much. It felt rewarding to write a mid-term and final, as well as read the perspectives and knowledge of my classmates. I am so happy I took this course.

by Ivy T

2020年7月4日

I love the balance between the knowledge of modern science and Buddhism teachings.

Coming into this course, I wanted to learn more about why should we meditate to further enhance my own spiritual teaching in the future. I truly feel that I came out of this course now a more understanding person in these aspects.

Thank you Prof. Wright and all the mentors, thank you Princeton University and thank you Coursera for this. God bless and Namaste!

by Amit C

2019年3月17日

The course relates Psychology wit Buddhism in simple and most understandable way , the best part about the design and presentation given by Dr.Robert Wright is how he connects the evolution with Psychology and both of these with Buddhism . The flair of using lots of examples and relevany real-life situations makes this a perfect learning for beginners as well as established personalities both in field of Psychology and practice of Buddhism.

by Rin T

2020年8月26日

This course helped me to reflect on my past experiences and give me a new direction for my future choices. I especially enjoy professor's vivid examples, the writing assignment of others, and the appearance of his two cute dogs (really motivated me to follow each office hours)! I also started to meditate because of this course, found it calm my mind and help me to focus better in this stressful time, so I'm really thankful for this too.

by Thaís M B

2020年6月8日

Adorei ter tido a oportunidade de realizar esse curso. Pude conhecer um pouco mais sobre o Budismo, como também sobre a Psicologia Moderna. Saio do curso mais atenta aos apegos de minha mente, a perceber que estou mais propícia a sempre buscar por mais e nunca estar satisfeita com o agora... com isso, me coloco com mais vontade de seguir realizando meditação, como também yoga e os estudos em psicologia. Obriga, professor Robert Wright.

by Jenny S

2020年8月24日

This is a great course for anyone interested in Buddhism and psychology . The instructor uses multiple resources along with his lectures to give a complete understanding of both Buddhism and Modern Evolutionary Psychology. The exam questions reflected the content of the course and I learned almost as much from reading classmates answers as from the course itself. If Robert Wright offers another Cousera course I will definitely take it.

by Catrina

2016年12月13日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always been curious about Buddhism and didn't really know what to expect. I'm a science nerd, so this fit right in. The course does a good job at pivoting back and forth between science and spirituality and then tying them back together. I can't wait to learn more-- this feels like just the beginning. Thanks to Dr. Wright for putting this info out there so concisely. It is much appreciated.

by tellataletarot

2020年8月16日

An hugely insightful and extremely comprehensive course on Buddhism and Modern Psychology .The direct yet affable and honest manner in which the course is conducted by Professor Wright proves to be an icing on the cake. As a seeker, I received much more than I had anticipated. Would like to come back for more learning and enriching journeys in future. Much gratitude to the mentor and the Coursera team for putting this all together!!

by Serra

2016年10月28日

During my 29 years of career, I have rarely had time to develop myself in the subjects that I wished but were unrelated to my profession. This course was fascinating for me now that I have just retired and am on a journey to do the things that I love. Mr Robert Wright has presented the material in a very organised and interesting way. There is a lot of food for thought. I definitely will sign up for any course that is to follow.

by Fernando S

2021年3月21日

Loved this course! It provides a view of Buddhism from the vantage point of modern evolutionary psychology and neuroscience, not at all doctrinary and firmly grounded in science, that helps us understand Buddhist philosophy and practices, and even shows how we can improve our lives through meditation. It's rather light on activities, but the two essays requested are a great help for organizing one's own thoughts on the matter.

by Kate

2016年6月19日

This course was excellent. Robert Wright clearly and entertainingly covered complex and interesting material. He wove important themes throughout the course. His use of guest speakers and interviews was very helpful. His office hours were engaging and meeting his dogs was fun and instructive. I feel I really learned a great deal about Buddhism and Modern Psychology. I would definitely take another course with Professor Wright.

by Joly F Z

2016年9月11日

Thank you for putting this course together. I found it is extremely useful to understand Buddhism. especially selflessness with psychology knowledge. It gives the Buddhist philosophy a scientific foundation. It also helped my mindfulness meditation journey, gave me much clearer picture on what to 'watch' during the meditation journey. I recommend this course to anyone who's interested in Buddhism, Mindfulness, and meditation.

by Victoria D

2018年10月13日

This was my introductory course into Buddhism but also into how the neurological processes inside our brain impact our thoughts, feelings and actions. The material was very clearly presented but most importantly it was engaging enough to get me interested in the theory of self and mindfulness in a way I did not think possible. So I would say the course gave me an entirely new perspective on life, which is why I appreciate it

by Rebecca A S G

2015年12月10日

I loved Robert Wright before I took this class (I have read all his books and have REALLY enjoyed them!), and I love him even more after taking this class. His personality is fun, thoughtful, open, and kind (... and he's not bad to look at either), and his knowledge regarding Buddhism and Psychology is great. I learned quite a bit from this class. Thanks so much for this course. It's my favorite Coursera course thus far.

by Ming C

2020年6月2日

Great free course with good organization, user friendly IT platform and supporting materials. Dr. Wright is presented clearly and the messages are precisely delivered. One of my feedback to improve is, as a Chinese , I find the translation is even worse than I straightly studying the English . Also, the Chinese translation is not attached in every session and hence I prefer I don't rely on it. Hope someone can revise it.

by Patty L

2016年9月17日

Professor Wright did an outstanding job of presenting the fundamental principles of Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology in a manner that a newcomer to these disciplines can understand. My greatest take away from the course will be further exploration of these ideas through the varied and rich resources he provided. My personal favorites were Bikkhu Bodhi, Judson Brewer and Joseph Goldstein.

Thank you Professor Wright

by Joseph S

2020年6月9日

Pleased to find a course that enables me to update personal views on Science and Meditation. I plan on reading more of professors Wright's books. Buddhism brought me to meditation a practice which has enriched my life considerably. I began practice at a time when science and psychology were just beginning to investigate meditation. It is very gratifying and beneficial personally to find this course on-line. Thank you.

by Jasna T

2017年7月18日

Robert Wright gives and amazing integration of Buddhism with Psychology. He teaches in unique way, integrating professionals and spiritualists and their conversations and insights into the lessons. The lectures are interesting and enjoyable adding much value to one's own personal development. It was a wonderful couple of month journey, I even feel like I'm gonna miss Robert and Maylo and Frazier. Strongly recommended!

by Kari M

2021年5月13日

I really enjoyed this course, the content, and Professor Wright's dialogue. This is one of the most engaging and though provoking courses I have taken through Coursera. I really enjoyed Professor Wright's teaching style and the personality that he brought to the videos. I feel like I have a much stronger grasp of the concepts of Buddhist thought and ideas as well as aspects that relate to evolutionary psychology.

by Shannon O

2015年10月29日

I still only partially through this course but I am very impressed. The professor is excellent; he brings humor into the lessons and explains everything in a way that we can understand. I also love the fact that he interviews various experts throughout the course in order to bring in even more perspectives. This class is extremely interesting to me and beyond my expectations. Thanks to the professor and to Coursera!

by Sian P

2020年6月28日

I gained a lot from this course - specifically from the style of dialogue and reflective discussions that Robert Wright adopts as his teaching approach on this complex subject. I thoroughly enjoyed the Professor's humourous engagement with his dogs in sharing in his reflective teachings of Buddhism, and will personally take a lot from this course into my own approach to life and meditation practice. Thank you!!

by James F

2020年4月21日

I found this course a good way to consolidate what I learned through reading Professor Wright's book 'Why Buddhism is True'. The lectures contain much of the same content, it is great to hear the delivery from Robert and I found the Office Hours segments interesting and engaging. Completion of the two course assignments provided some focus and I enjoyed writing a couple of essays for the first time in 20 years.

by Mihkel H

2017年2月6日

I'm very happy to have found this course. He has put together a sound explanation of what ulimately troubles us, the origins of those feelings, and solutions, starting with first taking a step back and understanding the big picture and then, well, in theory that shoud do it. However far teachings like this take people, I only see positives for someone, who understands the inner workings of a brain a bit better.