Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,492件の評価
1,888件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

LW
2020年10月25日

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

RB
2019年10月15日

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 176 - 200 / 1,858 レビュー

by Charles d S

2017年1月11日

Excellent course. Thoughtfully presented, by an instructor with considerable expertise in the field of evolutionary psychology who has also spent a lot of time thinking about religions and religious experience. Wright is ideally suited to navigate the content, and his interviews with other experts in the fields (and the fields are diverse) add greatly to the learning experience. Fantastic experience overall.

by DanielSubach

2016年2月21日

Terrific course and delivered by one of the most intellectual persons I have ever encountered. Fabulous course and well presented in a logical flowing detail covering the concepts and technical relationships exceptionally. Robert Wright is one of the best teachers and assembled a difficult course for delivery in a beautiful fashion. All modules excellent. The flow of the information and logic was great.

by Maria D

2020年7月11日

El curso me ha servido mucho, proporciona bastante información en los dos aspectos. tanto el científico como el del budismo y te lleva a sacar tus propias conclusiones.Creo que personalmente me deja una alternativa confiable para mejorar mi calidad de vida y mejorar mi relaciones con los demás y el entorno. Estoy satisfecha y Mi reconocimiento al Dr. Robert Wright por compartir sus conocimientos. Gracias

by Cinzia Z

2021年4月2日

I enjoyed this course enormously. It took me some time to complete it and I basically finished it at two different moments of my life but I assure you it is well thought through, well delivered and a lot of "fun" to follow and complete. I will be looking forward to more courses by Professor Wright and in the mean time congratulation to him, his staff and Coursera for an excellent learning opportunity.

by Ruth P

2020年6月2日

I learned so much about evolutionary psychology and Buddhism and how they might be connected from excellent lectures cleverly sectioned into easy bites to digest, from the highly entertaining office hours and from the diverse variety of additional resources to compliment the main content. You honestly can't cover more ground in a six week online course - and if you like dogs, this course is for you!

by Deleted A

2020年12月3日

Really great content! I joined this course to understand the mechanisms behind meditation and learned so much more than I thought I would, which really allows me to buy into meditation. It also helps me set intention in my meditation practice and reflect more meaningfully. Everything is also well packaged, organized, and the office hours include clips of the instructor's dogs, which is always fun(:

by GAYATRI G

2020年6月8日

I enjoyed this course by Prof Wright - found it to be very interesting and at the same time quite intense. The references to evolutionary psychology and the various writers, scientists and practicing Buddhists he introduced us to via their work and videos was especially informative. His office hours were refreshing and I always looked forward to seeing Milo and Frasier. Thankyou for a good course.

by Anna C M

2021年2月10日

I enjoyed taking this course, the interviews and lectures. I learned a lot from both Buddhism and modern Psychology. However I thought the office hours videos should not be mandatory, specially those in week 6. I will surely remember Mailo and Frazier, both very cute, more than anything else in them. In general, the interviews from the further reading sections were more relevant and interesting.

by Katya R

2015年11月4日

I really enjoyed this course! I have had an interest in Buddhist ideas, particularly meditation, but come from a very scientific mindset and want to see all ideas supported by experiments and empirical evidence. This course does a great job connecting results from psychology and neuroscience that aren't specifically about testing Buddhist philosophy and explaining how they support these ideas.

by Jagdeep G

2016年8月18日

The Course is well designed. It takes you through the Buddhist principles and co-relates how the findings of Modern Psychology are supportive of Buddha's teachings.It has normally been held that Religion and Science cannot converge.However this Course has to a large extent been able to show that it is possible to explain the matters of conciousness and beyond in terms of modern psychology

by Joseph W

2016年7月6日

I think professor Wright is an effective teacher. The class introduces these concepts in a clear way. It isn't academically challenging in the sense that there are difficult assignments, but there are a couple essays that help ensure that you are understanding the content. It's a great introduction for someone who knows little about Buddhism or how it stands from a psychological standpoint.

by bighenmanu@hotmail.com

2021年4月11日

I have thoroughly enjoyed the course and have found Robert Wright to be an excellent teacher. The lectures have been well-presented and sometimes difficult ideas explained in a logical clear way making arguments easier to follow than they might have been. Attendant videos and invited speakers have been well chosen, interesting and engaging giving real world insight into the subject matter.

by Gloria O

2021年3月29日

This is very esoteric material and not easily simplified. I am a significantly educated person (two master level degress) and it was difficult to digest. Our teacher did a very good job of breaking down the material so it could more easily be digested. I appreciate his lectures and also his dry humor. Thank you Professor Wright. I look forward to running across your lectures in the future.

by Paula S

2017年6月22日

I am only half way through this course but I am addicted! It is exactly what I have been looking for not only to help me understand the basics of Buddhism in layman terms but in to offer scientific explanations to back it up. Robert Wright is easy to understand and easy to connect to, I think he has done an amazing job at putting this course together and presenting it, so I say THANK YOU!

by Matthew B

2016年9月21日

Robert Wright does an excellent job presenting Buddhist ideas and putting them into context with modern psychology studies. I felt he offered a unique and scientific approach to the discourses and very much enjoyed his interviews and insights. The questions at the end of every lecture were very helpful to solidify new concepts. I look forward to digging deeper into supplemental materials.

by LARA D C S D O

2020年6月11日

I would classify it as an intruduction course to the subject, because the reltion between Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology bears more substantial and deeper study. Dr. Wright is very knowdgable and the resources and materials he includes in the course are very interesting.

PS - I strated looking forward the Office hours videos due to his humour and his special guests Frasier and Milo.

by Gavin D

2016年6月7日

This is the first Coursera course that I have taken, and I was extremely glad to have taken it. Robert Wright is a wonderful lecturer - extremely intelligent, engaging and also adds some fun to the content.

Thank you Robert - I learnt a surprising amount in many unexpected areas. I am glad to have encountered you and am already beginning to seek out other material that you have produced.

by Andrea P M

2020年7月27日

I liked this course a lot. If you don´t know anything about Buddhism or Modern Psychology, you don´t have to worry, the concepts are easy to grasp and the content throughout the whole course is very interesting. If you do have some knowledge of Buddhism and even in Psychology this course will give you another perspective on their basic and core ideas and how they relate to each other.

by Brianna C

2019年12月1日

I took this course more than four years ago and I still think about it often. I have taken in-person classes at three different institutions and am now pursuing my PhD. Among all the courses I've participated in throughout my education, this remains one of my favorites. It stretched my thinking and caused me to reconsider some of the ways I thought the world and human experience work.

by Carlos S

2016年1月20日

Good Balance explaining Modern Psychology and Buddhism as well as how the former has aided to support empirically most of the observations laid out by the latter centuries ago. Lectures are very insightful and carefully crafted turning the whole six week course into a delightful experience to those interested not only in Buddhism but also in Modern Psychology and behavioural theory.

by Martin E

2020年5月26日

I would like to recommend this course to anyone interested in Buddhism who is looking for different and more down-to-earth perspectives on the teachings. I personally gained a lot of valuable insight on how the mind works and how this correlates with Buddhist ideas. Prof. Wright is a wonderful teacher, I especially enjoyed the office hours videos featuring his "enlightened dogs". :)

by Erika N F P

2020年5月24日

Me encantó el formato de las clases a través de vídeos ya que me trasladaban en mente a una clase presencial. Robert Wright ha sido un excelente mentor, explicando y analizando cada elemento del budismo y de la psicología moderna; las entrevistas y estudios que nos presentó fueron recopilados excelentemene. Aprendí mucho más que si sólo hubiera leído textos de la tradición budista.

by Guillermo G B

2020年5月20日

Agradezco mucho al Profesor Wright por este excelente curso. El Profesor Wright es un excelente académico que me llevó de manera fácil a entender temas muy complejos y que son muy valiosos para comprender nuestra naturaleza humana. Se planteó un gran reto: relacionar el budismo con la psicología moderna y me motivó a enfrentar ese reto! Muchass gracias y felicidades Profesor Wright!

by Sukruth G M A

2020年7月20日

This course in the current pandemic situation made me to think myself and know about moving from self to not self. Extremely thankful to the professor. The course made me to clear my mind and made a way for me that i was in search of buddhism, this also made me to think about zazen teaching. Thanks a lot lot lot to the professor who made me to think and become what i wanted to be