Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,492件の評価
1,888件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

RB
2019年10月15日

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 1676 - 1700 / 1,858 レビュー

by Siddhesh V R

2020年3月28日

The course was highly informative about the introductory practices of Buddhism, modern psychology, and how the two have parallels. I enjoyed Professor Wright's proper use of the course format to maximise the learnings gained from these insights.

by Seenu

2020年5月26日

Worth your time, especially in our current pandemic where we are bombarded with overwhelming amount of information about the coronavirus. Times like these is when we must calm our mind and stay focused on respecting and supporting one another.

by Petar T

2016年11月9日

Fantastic sauce of information and nice subtle humor.

Really interesting material but kind of a depressingly sounding lecturer. Looking forward for more courses from this lecturer and more of blooming of joy in his voice in future lectures.

by mario c f

2018年4月19日

was more interested to know how the various schools of thought of psychology come from Buddhism. The course set in evolutionary psychology but would like to know more broadly how other perspectives address the main issues of Buddhism.

by DanThy N

2018年5月21日

Great course for those interested in the eastern ideals of Buddhism and parallels with modern psychology. Thought provoking and interesting studies, readings and guests providing various thoughts and knowledge on the topi

by Ambika M

2020年7月26日

Prof. Robert Wright did an excellent job in presenting us with a comprehensive view of all aspects of Buddhism and modern psychology. His sense of humour definitely added a lot to the overall experience of the course!

by Taya S R

2020年5月12日

It was an great experience to learn inner working of my mind. I enjoyed learning Buddhist philosophy and modern psychology. Robert Wright taught me well about importance of mindfulness and awareness for good life.

by Don W

2020年9月21日

I loved the content and presentation of this course. The only reason I didn't give it 5 Stars is that I had difficulty looking back through the material to review information for the mid-term and final essays.

by Norio S

2021年1月5日

I felt there was a different between what I originally anticipated and what I actually learned because I am one of Japanese Buddhism oriented people. What we learned past seems so different from learned here.

by Gary W

2020年9月14日

Overall I enjoyed the course and found Robert's style very engaging. Although I am rather disappointed that there is no certificate of attendance available for the course. It kind of leave things on a downer.

by Olena F

2021年3月18日

Interesting course. In essence, I'm left with an impression that here we have two complementary explorations of behaviour/behavioural responses - both of which can support and sustain more fulfilled lives.

by Radhika B

2016年11月17日

Insightful and well structured. A few more videos of experiments and theories besides Robert Wrights would be a good idea. Overall makes you think of the different perspectives available in this world.

by Zahir N

2018年3月6日

a very good course, learnt a lot about the 'Modular view of the Mind', Meditation, and Buddhist teachings. Also makes you think a lot about why you do the things do, and how you are living your life.

by Cristina O

2020年6月9日

Very good! Information very valuable that helps to understand human beings and the self in a deep and subtle way. It provided me with tools that I can use in my daily life to become a better person.

by Emiliano M

2016年10月24日

This course was great as an introduction to Buddhism and the basics of psychology behind it. It can definately be refined, but I deeply enjoyed it. I can say it changed the way I use my mind.

by THOMAS K

2020年1月13日

This course was enlightening and the author makes a very commendable effort to explain the similarity between the modern scientific understanding of the human mind and Buddhist concepts.

by Juan C T

2016年8月30日

Thank you for Sharing This Knowledge to everyone, I am really enjoying this course and have learned a lot already from this Material, I am really looking forward to keep learning more!

by Douglas M

2016年5月7日

Very interesting topics are discussed in this course. I walked away with some new thoughts and ideas about modern science and how they compared to ancient teachings. Well worth the time.

by Mirjam B

2019年4月8日

very interesting, and high level of teaching. The only downside is that the course is mainly talking heads, and some dogs :-) . It could be improved with some more reading material.

by kusuma a

2017年8月29日

very clear and more importantly it keeps me engaged through the instructor delivery -- he presents the content in his own word and brings modern evolution perspectives on Buddhism

by Noelia E R

2020年5月24日

Interesting course, specially because it's focused in a scientific (not mystic) way, and approaches the Buddhist doctrine from a very academic point of view. Very educative!

by Lara R G

2021年3月23日

Thank you very much Coursera for leeting us to acquire more knowledge about the buddhism and modern psychology. I learnt a lot in this course and I highly recommend it :)

by Claudia I H

2019年3月1日

Course un general isla interesting althoug I think that videos are too long and the part of moduls Is not very hypnotizing to me, a but slow in that part.

The rest Is ok.

by Bilal J

2015年11月25日

Very interesting course. Good depth into the subject matter, a bit more enthusiasm from the professor could go a long way into making the course a bit more vibrant.

by Georgie J

2020年9月4日

Very interesting course. Well worth my time and effort.

I’ve just ordered your book, The Moral Animal, after reading chapter 13 which you provided the link to.