Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Buddhism and Modern Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,491件の評価
1,887件のレビュー

コースについて

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

RB
2019年10月15日

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

フィルター:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology : 1726 - 1750 / 1,858 レビュー

by Poornima H S

2020年9月7日

one of the best course i saw, very useful. we cam come over from many kind of problems which we are facing

by Jainik M

2017年7月26日

this is good course if you want to learn about buddhism techings scientifically.Good knowledge to acquire

by Wayne S J

2016年2月6日

I love opening my mind up to new concepts and ways of thinking. It's challenging and keeps me on my toes.

by Arkar M S

2020年10月18日

As the name of the course goes,a good course to tap into the realtion of buddhism and modern psychology

by Laila S M L

2020年9月15日

The topics covered in the course are interesting, however exposing the content is sometimes boring.

by Leslie P

2016年9月20日

Interesting, and more grounded than I was expecting from a class focused on meditation. Well done.

by EzhilRajan V

2020年8月20日

following the course is very much useful , in personal as well as discussion with our colleagues.

by Aditya L

2016年11月17日

It got a little confusing towards the end; I wish Robert took a little more time on those topics.

by Diane D

2021年4月17日

Very interesting course to gain knowledge on buddhism and how it relates to medical psychology.

by aleida m

2020年7月24日

very interesting, but I had the impression that often less words would bebetter and possible

by Juan M R

2015年12月21日

The second half of lectures were a little confusing, but nothing that a rewatch can´t solve!

by Flavia L

2017年2月25日

Interesting course. I would have liked to have more on meditation but otherwise it was ok.

by Medha S

2017年1月7日

It was a brilliant course. we get to learn so much to improve ourselves. i enjoyed it. :)

by Belén Q

2020年6月14日

Muy buen curso! Se me hizo más interesante el principio y luego lo sentí más repetitivo.

by Kwinten K

2018年5月17日

Dr. Wright is fantastic, and does an excellent job teaching challenging course material.

by Frederic R

2020年6月15日

Great course. Plenty of ideas to reflect upon and put together in a very Buddhist way.

by Saikat B

2020年4月12日

Too much dialogue and the span of the video was lengthy, sometimes it was monotonous.

by Hemaxi M

2016年12月15日

Wanted to know Buddhism, how is it different from Hinduism. Thank you for the course.

by Will G

2018年9月11日

Informative, humorous, engaging, and the teaching staff respond to forum questions.

by KETAN P

2021年1月23日

Thank God I'm an athiest, if you do have same belief then just go for this course.

by Zach S

2016年3月29日

The ideas are a little stretched but nevertheless a fun and enlightening course.

by 張璽

2021年10月5日

It's pretty good and I will keep practicing the menthod I learn from this class

by Ganesh k

2020年6月20日

well, the explanation was clear and having myself till end helped me gain more.

by Micael J

2016年12月13日

I think the content is awesome. It could be a little faster and more objective.

by Roberto C d E R

2016年11月13日

I liked it very much. An accomplishment diploma would have been ok.

Thank You!!