Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Writing in the Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
6,263件の評価
2,087件のレビュー

コースについて

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

人気のレビュー

IA

2020年8月25日

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL

2019年6月3日

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

フィルター:

Writing in the Sciences: 2026 - 2050 / 2,148 レビュー

by John W

2017年10月29日

A very nice overview of writing for the sciences -- everything from journal articles, peer reviews, letters of recommendation, to news items and press releases. Many of the main points were known to me -- remove jargon, use the active voice -- were already known to me, but it always good to be reminded. I also learned some new things -- for example, I had never heard of a "nut-graf" before!

One suggestion for improvement: the series of (three?) interviews with Kristin's colleagues were somewhat repetitive. I believe she asked the same series of questions to each of the three subjects. It would have been better, in my opinion, to focus on different topics with each one, and give each interview its own unique subject.

All in all, a very well-organized and well-taught class.

by Styliani K

2021年1月19日

The course is overall very informative, the professor thoroughly explains the subject. The only problem I had with the course has nothing to do with the course itself, but I took the course without a certificate and at the end of every video, a message popped up to remind me to ask for a certificate if I wanted. The issue here is that the questions after every video appeared, almost every time, at the very end of the video and as a result, the pop-up covered the questions, so I couldn't answer. Apart from that, the course was very helpful and I think every scientist should be able to make their paper interesting and that's exactly the skill that this course teaches you!

by Daniel P

2020年5月26日

I think this course could have been completed in a shorter amount of time. Some of the stuff in the later weeks seemed like filler information. The grant writing section was very repetitive as were the interviews with the journal editors. I could have done without the information on media interviews, social media, panels altogether. I think that time would have been better spent on coursework about writing/formatting manuscripts. All in all I thought this was a very helpful course I will took a lot of notes that I am sure I will use in my future writing projects.

by Sherrill H

2020年11月9日

I would recommend this as an interesting and useful course for coming to grips with difficulties faced when communicating scientific activity to non-scientists and also for thinking about how to promote/market one's own research to others within the scientific field, like funding committees or journal editors. I'm still not convinced that peer assessment adds much to the quality of learning, at this level, because course participants represent such a wide range of scientific knowledge and experience.

by Aleem A

2020年4月30日

This is really useful and informative course for both beginners and advanced level researchers. I learned many practical things from this course which will continue to help me throughout my academic career. I suggest some reordering of the units for future editions of the course: for example: the first three units delved right into the sentence-level editing. It would be much more efficient and engaging if the next editions start right from the pre-writing phase (unit 4 of the current course).

by Rouletta B

2019年11月18日

Very informative, most of the information is presented in a way that is easily viewed and understood. The biggest con is that when the edits/markups are performed using pen/pencil on the slides are basically impossible to see on the Coursera format. If we could view them full screen or as actual slides it might be easier, but to try to follow someone's edits verbally is really difficult. Overall the course was fantastic!

by Akshay w

2020年8月29日

The course offers you all the fundamental and comprehensive guidelines in a very practical and easy to understands way.Dr.Kristin Sainani is a great tutor. I loved the optional editing videos, they really gave me an insight into editing. I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to hone his/her skills in Scientific Writing. I hope Coursera comes up with more such courses on scientific and medical writing.

by Peter P

2021年6月16日

E​xcellent content and presentations by Dr Sainani, I learned many good techniques and tips. The grant writing videos by guest speakers are a bit dry and lack Dr Sainani's drive, but nonetheless contain important information. Some good reading list recommendations. I highly recommend this course, and although some of it is looking very slightly dated the writing and gammar tips never age.

by K T S

2018年7月8日

Overall I really liked this course. Even with many years of experience in writing and publishing papers, I learnt a lot. There were certain instances where I did not agree with Dr. Sainani's recommendations. But one's writing choice and style sometimes boils down to personal taste and the scientific content. I hope there is an advanced version of this course in the near future.

by Stacey C

2020年10月8日

I really enjoyed the beginning part of this course, with lots of tips on how to remove clutter, cut out jargon and improve clarity. The latter part of the course- discussing how to do media interviews etc. didn't feel like it belonged in the course. I loved the parts that focused on preparing manuscripts, as that will have a lot of value to me down the road.

by Ashley H

2019年12月4日

This was a really great course and was worth my time. It provided me with a number of strategies to make my science writing clear and succinct without losing important scientific concepts needed for my field. It also had me consider best practices in summarizing my findings for audiences outside of my field, outside of science, and for the public.

by Viktor P

2022年3月29日

Very valuable and giving non-credit course! I learned a lot that I will be applying for my next manuscript! Some of the material was a bit outdated unfortunately (videos clearly filmed in 2012, and homework relating to articles from 2017 that had since then been retracted and were irrelevant), but otherwise it was great!

by Óscar R

2021年2月16日

Excellent course. Dr. Kristin Sainani shares her knowledge and expertise in 8 weeks of simple and complete lessons. I encourage every person involve in Science to take a course like this. Communication and dissemination of your research is as important as the research itself.

by Thomas P D

2020年5月15日

This course is applicable to both beginning and experienced writers. I took this course as a refresher and found it worthwhile. Units 1-6 were most helpful with units 7-8 less so but these units are focused on those in Academia. Overall, a good course and worth the time.

by Lorrie C

2020年3月29日

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It challenged me coming from a non-scientist background. I work in a hospital and am exposed daily to medical terms which is what brought me to the course. Overall I feel that I improved my skill set which allows me to advance my career.

by Vignesh R

2020年10月1日

Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani for your wonderful lecture, facilitated learning by making this course easier and I've improved my writing skills significantly. Thanks to Coursera for bringing Writing in the Sciences, and I recommend everyone to enroll in this course.

by Al S

2020年8月8日

The course was very informative and easy to understand for a lay person like me who has no relation to medicine or academiics . kristin was brilliant.. I loved the course. My only suggestion is to use non scientific examples sometimes so It'd be easier and more fun.

by Gabriela A

2021年6月25日

I​t is a very useful introduction to writing in the sciences covering most areas of scientific communication. I was already experienced in writing articles so that part felt a little bit lengthy for me. Thank you very much for this course, I have enjoyed it a lot.

by Fatima A

2020年4月22日

Every type of science-related writing is explained; some extraordinary and some boring. But the course is very fulfilling and definitely worth your while. It polishes your knowledge of writing and gives you the proper meaning of writing in the sciences. Good luck

by Tímea T

2021年9月28日

For me it was a bit too centered around biological/medical sciences so some of the lectures were not so relevant for me (a mathematician). Other than that the course was great, I learned a lot, and I'm actively using the knowledge that I obtained.

by Adam P

2020年8月1日

I found this course very helpful in pointing out some things in writing I hadn't though of before or didn't realize I was doing which made my writing less clear and concise. The hands-on exercises helped to solidify the concepts in the lessons.

by Noe N

2022年2月20日

Thank you, the founder of this course. Dr. Christina. This course help me a lot. My knowledge of writing in the science really improves. I advise those who want to initaite their Science Writing Knowkedge should join the course.

Thank you.

by Rebecca J

2020年6月8日

Great information for the most part, but some of it was clearly outdated (2012, etc.) and restructured without adjusting the content to reflect the changes. I did really appreciate the general tips and practice in editing/publishing.

by Preeti S

2019年8月6日

It's a great course that provides a great perspective on academic writing. I especially enjoyed the interviews that were included. However, some of the content does seem a bit old, newer versions would be great and more relatable.

by Cristina C

2019年8月14日

I thought this was extremely helpful and insightful. I do not like waiting on other to review my submissions. I don't have control over what others do. And I don't have time to plea with others to do so.