Chevron Left
Introduction to Search Engine Optimization に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Introduction to Search Engine Optimization の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
7,300件の評価
1,979件のレビュー

コースについて

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

人気のレビュー

SS
2016年8月9日

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP
2020年7月10日

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

フィルター:

Introduction to Search Engine Optimization: 51 - 75 / 1,952 レビュー

by Arno H

2016年11月1日

Content is good. But you need to pay to be able to answer quiz. In other courses of that specialization track you even need to pay to do peer assessments. It is a shame that education and securing the learn success seems not to be the focus anymore - it seems that focus turned towards monetization.

So before taking the course be aware that you can not get a participation rate of 100% due to locked quizzes, which will only be unlocked once you paid.

by Katherine C

2020年7月13日

Slow-paced, stuffed with "filler", does very little to introduce students to actual hands-on SEO in any way. No exercises, no detailed examples -- really frustrated that I spent money on this course. The "intro" to the history and the field as an evolving career path -- this could have been covered much more quickly, but it was used to make the course longer. Really disappointed in this offering from a good university.

by My I

2016年3月7日

I failed to figure out how to translate the theory (presented in the lectures) into practice (the only assignment, a website audit). I would have benefited from another application assignment that was a stepping stone to the full-blown audit. Information was interesting, but not sure this is a good course for someone new to the nitty gritty of SEO.

by Chris P

2020年4月15日

The first week was absolutely not relevant to someone like me who is looking to learn about SEO to improve my copywriting and has no desire to change careers to SEO. That was a big waste of my time. I felt the only really helpful practical modules were at the end of the course, and too much time was wasted discussing the industry and its history.

by M

2020年5月20日

Not what I expected, it focuses too much on the history of SEO rather than on bringing practical tools. It feels outdated and it provides old links. It's also quite boring, it is too obvious the teacher is reading throug, she provides no emotion or inspiration to keep on. The first part of the job interviews should have been a warning.

by Jacob H

2020年4月6日

Should be renamed "History of the Internet and Search Engines" as its more preoccupied with historical facts and memorizing specific Google algorithm changes rather than teaching actually usable skills. If you like fun trivia this course is for you, if you are looking to make yourself or your employer money... not so much.

by Elodie

2020年7月14日

Very theoretical. The first part of the course focuses on .... how to answer in a job interview, and on the different jobs related to SEO, with non-updated information (articles from 2012!!). Not at all relevant in a "SEO specialization" and very very very disappointing!

by Ying L

2020年3月13日

I felt that all of the career info in Week 1 was unnecessary for an introductory course. It should have led with more fundamentals. I think that the career info could have just been linked at the end of the course rather than a series of videos.

by Hayley M

2020年6月10日

A nice overview and history of SEO, its importance and information on the algorithm updates throughout the years, but does not include any practical elements of implementing SEO to your site or client sites.

by Lucy M

2020年8月2日

Personally, I was hoping to learn about SEO through doing hands-on assignments. This course seemed very repetitive and not very engaging.

by Aakash M

2020年7月27日

This course provides only theoretical knowledge about SEO. Do not do this course if you are looking for a more practical side like I was

by Christine D

2017年4月6日

Course lacks real example and full of theory. It lacks steps of what actually needs to be done to achieve SEO.

by Carla D C M C

2020年7月18日

Too much focus on history and non-useful elements like job interview and career choices (the latter technically should belong to a capstone course). Really didn't learn much and felt like there's no practical approach at all. The lecture format is boring and repetitive, and can be summed up into "here's what we'll talk about", talk about it, and ending with "here's what we talked about". The transcripts (which by the way have a number of mistakes) are the only materials available, the rest is just external links to a lot of other reading. New concepts/words are thrown out there without prior explanation, it seems like they were just forgotten and not covered in advance. Poorly structured. Basically, it's filler.

by Priscilla N

2020年4月29日

This course was not what I expected. It only covered SEO theory, history and "day in the life for a SEO manager" which are all things I could have spent 2 hours on WIKI or reading a tech article. There was no practical applications, exercises and real life working case studies. I wanted practical knowledge that I could apply to my job, not a history lesson. Very disappointed that I wasted this time.

by YASH P S

2020年5月3日

The course assumes previous knowledge and uses jargons throughout. Module 1 completely irrelevant for someone starting out in the field. No practical knowledge gained whatsoever. Might as well read an article on SEO from a site like MOZ and then start with one of the later courses which I'm assuming should give practical assignments??

by Hoa D

2019年12月18日

I have no idea what SEO is and how it works. Thus, I was super eager to know more about SEO in the 1st chapter. Yet, the first chapter introduces a lot about SEO career which should be at the end of the course.

by Cristina G G

2019年11月10日

Too basic. I know the course is called Introduction to SEO, but it doesn't even get to how to start working with it.

by James H

2020年6月17日

I thought this was a how to SEO course. Too much useless history.

by Brooke L

2017年9月17日

Outdated links and content.

by JT

2017年6月5日

The course essentially did what it said - it introduced the concepts of Search Engine Optimization and provided an overview and history of Search Engines, and all the major players/companies related to the early web, search engines, and SEO.

Overall, the course was very well presented, excellent visuals and a great array of supplemental reading resources were provided by way of links to external sources that aid in rounding out information on a variety of sub-topics to SEO as presented in the course.

I would highly recommend this course to those who are interested in obtaining an introduction and grounding with respect to the concept(s) of SEO, its history, and formation up through current day.

by Sammy S

2017年9月17日

Given the time frame of 4 weeks, the course was well structured, detailed and clear. The goals were set early on to ensure students understand what the course is about. Explaining the job scene within the SEO environment allowed students to understand what they will be working towards should they choose to continue this specialization. Understanding the history and the development SEO had gone through over the years builds an idea of what can be expected in the future. As an introductory course, I believe that this is what many other universities can learn from in order to ensure students know what they have selected to learn.

by Maris P

2020年12月28日

This course leads through SEO covering aspects from different perspectives: search engines development over time, user behavior, content building, web marketing, brand marketing, SEO practices are covered. Well organized lesson structure. List of materials for self studying is given. Perfect for those who are beginners or already have some knowledge and probably working in industry. Course widens understanding and deepens knowledge thus serving as a very good starting point for the next step would it be job in particular SEO field, own page optimization, content building, web marketing initiatives.

by Helee P

2020年7月8日

This course is very beneficial, especially for beginners. I came into this course, knowing nothing about SEO or even coding for that matter, but I have learnt a great deal on how one of the major parts of my life, search engines, really works and what do the people behind those sites really thrive to make us, consumers, see their content. It helped me a lot in understanding how I should view content creation for my own blog. Thank you so much Rebekah May, for such an insightful course, which introduced me to interesting and intriguing world of search engines and SEO.

by Maham F M

2020年8月11日

The course was very well-structured and designed. I did digital marketing course before and then decided to dive deep into the concepts of SEO. I gained all the insightful knowledge on SEO from this course. Learned careers in SEO, Evolution of SEO, ranking factors, Algorithm updates, strengthening keyword strategy and entity association. Thank you Rebekah May for explaining every concept so clearly and UC Davis for giving this opportunity. Great course, highly recommended for people who have zero knowledge on SEO!

by Amandip S

2018年12月27日

Thanks for the best wishes by the way. At the beginning I failed the first week and left the course for a couple of days. I started again and scored so much also learnt so much that in the 4th week I used a little nit of tactics on my website. The latest blog is now ranking on 4th position among 173000000 results. I have developed so much interest in this course and realized that SEO community is the most strongest and supportive community I have seen till day. Once again thanks for the amazing content.