Chevron Left
Introduction to Search Engine Optimization に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Introduction to Search Engine Optimization の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
3,677件の評価
987件のレビュー

コースについて

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how search engines work, how the SEO landscape has changed and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from search engines. You will also discover how to position yourself for a successful career in SEO should this subject prove interesting to you. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization....

人気のレビュー

SS

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

KS

Oct 03, 2019

I found this intro course to be more intense and simultaneously more valuable than I expected it to be. I've already gained new insight and learned techniques I can put into practice now. Brilliant.

フィルター:

Introduction to Search Engine Optimization: 901 - 925 / 964 レビュー

by Laura M

Jul 14, 2019

I

by Miriam F

Sep 08, 2017

This was somewhat helpful. In general, I didn't find really useful information until course 2 began. However, it may be that I simply am not skilled enough in SEO yet to recognize the importance of finding out so much about its history.

One good thing about this course was helpful background on SEO that enabled one to immediately spot some old SEO practices that some sites still use, but quickly see these are no longer relevant. It may be helpful to understand why some poorly-managed sites are still doing them, however.

One thing I found unhelpful was lots of reading about, and attempts to get me into the discussion of the monetization of the Internet. For one thing, I'm hardly advanced enough in SEO to have any useful opinion on this matter, so it was both a waste of time and an encouragement to develop a largely ignorant opinion. (And once people develop opinions, they tend to fight over them, especially online, in utterly unhelpful ways). Second, for someone who wishes to get into SEO, this debate is irrelevant. It may have interesting philosophical value outside of your job, but the reality is the Internet IS optimized; like it or not. If you don't accept this, don't go into SEO.

Although history is one of my passions, and I found the long historical youtube video very interesting indeed, it was not actually relevant or valuable. As a professional educator coming to this course, I can spot make-work and filler gunk from a mile away.

by Kari M

Jun 19, 2016

Good information presented, but I can't get past the outdated teaching method of using the first 45 to 60 seconds of each video to talk about what the video is going to cover, then spending 30 seconds repeating those bullet points at the end of each video. Some videos are 4 minutes long, so more than half of the content is not actually content, it is essentially the instructor reading the outline for the upcoming content. It's a waste of both instructor and learner time. There are errors in the materials, and since there is no instructor feedback/interaction, there is no way to find out what was meant (including in reading assignments). All you can do is submit a ticket to get it fixed and hope that it gets corrected for the next people who take this course.

by Andrew C T

Aug 22, 2018

Positives

A good place to start in relation to SEO. It gives you a basic overview of the history and development of the field as well the range strategies used in modern SEO. The video presentations are informative, clear and well-paced. If you have no real great understanding of how modern SEO works then it certainly delves deep enough to give you a better idea of whether it would be a career path you might want to follow.

Negative

Some of the supplementary reading material and videos can be a bit hit and miss in relation to their quality as educational or informational materials.

by E. W

Feb 11, 2017

This course is an overview of SEO and doesn't go into a lot of detail of how SEO is actually implemented on the site. What it does do is offer a snapshot of the industry as a job outlook, discuss Google's algorithm impact on SEO practitioners, offers interviews with current SEO analysts and experts, and describes how content affects SEO. I recommend taking the more practical courses in the specialization to get skills needed unless you're an absolute beginner and have no clue what SEO is.

by Laila D

Mar 21, 2018

It was an OK course but I didn't think that starting with a whole week on a career in SEO is a good idea. How can I be interested in a career in a field I still know nothing about? Teach me something first and then maybe at the end add some information on how to pursue a career in this area. I skipped almost all of the first week simply because I didn't sign up for the course looking for a career, and couldn't have been convinced to consider it without having taken any other lessons.

by Malcom L

Nov 03, 2019

needs more hands on material to drive lessons home. Mindlessly watching videos while robotically taking notes is not going to help in job interviews... the people teaching the course you can tell are highly skilled at what they do.

I love the integration of philosophy and tying in Ludwig Wittgenstein. That was super insightful. Overall I think this course could be better but not bad.

by Erick G

Jul 08, 2017

There is a ton of great information in this course if you are wanting to learn the theory and history behind SEO. Professor May dumped tons of her knowledge and others' to make this course a great resource for anyone wanting to now the basic "why's" of SEO. The reading assignments can get lengthy at times, but worth sticking it out for.

by HUIBERT F J A

Jan 03, 2018

The course is interesting and gives you a good understanding of what SEO is and how search engines work. That said, it does not get into the technical details on how you should build your HTML pages to help search engines better understand what your site is about, which, in my opinion is also important.

by Maleah M

Apr 03, 2019

It was nice to hear some basics, but it was a lot of subjective information, didn't feel like I was learning as much as I was being sold. However, again, there were some decent basics sprinkled through out. Also, the instructor videos were not super engaging, how scripted they were was very obvious

by Suchithra P

Aug 02, 2017

It really gives you an insight into the world of SEO and the best practices involved. Before signing up for the course, I had zero knowledge about the search engine and keyword optimization, but this course really helped me enhance my knowledge.

Suchithra Pillai

by Marilena B

Nov 18, 2018

While this course was full of interesting information, it was a front loaded with much useless information...interesting nonetheless. I, however would prefer a course that jumps a bit faster to the so called nitty-gritty. Overall, good stuff!

by Harry E G

Apr 03, 2016

Student should be able to see results of test ( at least quiz 1 and 2) before we decide to purchase. Overall the course was easy to understand and follow. I look forward to taking to others in the series.

by Nick T

Dec 11, 2016

Felt that the first week, how to get a job in SEO should be the last module. Unsure the value it has when you don't even know SEO at the level one would need in order to get a job in SEO.

by Szabolcs P K

Oct 24, 2016

Very informative, however a bit too detailed on the history of previous search engines and past Google updates. Could've done with a bit less history and more up to date information.

by Teresa F

Jun 25, 2019

The course provides great resources, but it seems to lack moderators. I finished the course and I have yet to get any feedback from the hosts and students rarely interact.

by Christina K

Jul 11, 2018

Ver basic knowledge and more so theory than strategy. Coursera needs to start teaching strategy with little theory so that people understand strategy and can implement.

by Wesley J

Aug 13, 2019

I'm starting a business. I need to learn so I can earn. I think you should cut out the philosophy and the art of SEO and cut straight into practical exercises.

by Lara S

Nov 11, 2019

A bit of interesting information but mostly "here is what was happening in browsers in 1995". Gets much better from the next course on tho

by Cheryl B

Aug 17, 2016

Perhaps a bit too basic (and thus boring). But holding out hope it'll prove to be a good foundation for the rest of the specialization

by SHUBHAM K

May 21, 2019

This was far better than any introduction i have ever seen. It carry us through all the fundamentals we as a beginner need to know.

by jennifer

Jul 16, 2019

The videos were every instructional . the reading was a bit thick for intro and never found information for a site audit.

by José J H R

Sep 16, 2018

The course should go deeper on the algorithm and tools, even if it is just an introductory course on the specialization.

by Kshitij T

Jan 24, 2019

The insights given and topics covered are good. Perhaps a little more explanation and justification is needed.

by paola p

Mar 30, 2016

Clear but a bit superficial. Hope the rest of the course will flesh out in more detail the various topics.