Chevron Left
Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare に戻る

ロンドン大学(University of London) による Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
217件の評価
107件のレビュー

コースについて

This free course from the University of London explores critical thinking, and the interpretation of texts, through the Shakespeare authorship question. Using doubt about Shakespeare’s authorship as our playground, we will explore the key concept of authorship attribution, while developing skills in literary analysis, interpretation, and argument. Through forensic exploration of key texts, you will learn why Shakespeare’s authorship is questioned, and what evidence is cited on both sides of the debate. For those of you interested in exploring the works of Shakespeare from a new angle, or just wanting to hone your analytical thinking skills, this course offers an introduction to a fascinating area of interest. Those of you already interested in the Shakespeare authorship question will be encouraged to question your own assumptions in fruitful ways. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London BA in English, this course will be food for thought....

人気のレビュー

TA

2020年5月18日

Ros Barber did a wonderful job, opening my eyes to all kinds of possibilities! The experts she brought in were very knowledgeable as well as entertaining! Thanks to Coursera for making this a reality!

LS

2020年9月13日

A very well done, interesting and thought-provoking course that not only teaches the basics of the "non-Stratfordian" approach to the study of Shakespeare, but also encourages critical thinking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare: 51 - 75 / 105 レビュー

by Lexi O

2019年1月3日

It's a good course for beginners and you get to know new things.

by Julian N

2020年7月13日

Superbly researched, explained and presented. Thank you!

by William C

2018年3月15日

A very thorough introduction to the authorship question.

by Alcina C

2020年6月23日

Great course. Would highly recommend it.

by Armin A

2018年3月10日

Excellent presentation. Well done!

by Ana R O A

2019年1月14日

Simply mind opening!

by Eleonora L D

2020年5月4日

Really intresting

by Iffat J S

2020年6月19日

great lectures

by Rob S

2018年3月16日

Well done

by luce n

2018年3月3日

G

by Toni P

2018年3月25日

This course provided some excellent, detailed material for exploring various aspects of the Shakespeare authorship question. I especially enjoyed the content of the interviews with Mark Rylance, Greg Thompson and William Leahy, partly because, on a mooc there needs to be a human dimension, but mostly because they gave thought-provoking into this issue from their own specialist and knowledgeable perspectives.

I understand why it was not possible to include material on other candidates, and internal evidence from the texts, on this course but I feel that it is difficult to avoid these two key aspects of the debate. It would be great if the University of London provided further courses in these two areas, linked to this one.

It is always good to get to know your fellow participants on the programme, and I enjoyed conversing with a number of individuals on the threads on various aspects of the SAQ. However, it was noticeable that only a small number of participants took part in these discussions. It would be worth thinking through whether there might be a better way of bringing participants together in a way which encourages everyone to exchange views and ideas, rather than just a dedicated few.

Ros Barber managed the course very well, dealing with problems effectively, and presenting the evidence in an engaging and well-conceived way. The only issue I had with the content of the course was the use of quizzes to test the memory,, and the fact that this was mainly on information which tended to be favour a non-Stratfordian perspective. I didn't feel that this was a very effective way for me to test my own critical thinking on the various matters discussed, although I understand that it would be difficult for the small team involved to deal with written material from participants.

by Geoff W

2020年5月3日

This being my first course I'm reluctant to award 5 stars. Perhaps I would have if I had completed others to compare it with. I found it well structured and remained focussed on the central questions, most significant lines of argument and most relevant evidence. Being a somewhat 'controversial' topic it was pleasing to see a preamble that both acknowledged this fact and provided helpful information and suggestions as to how best to approach such a topic, even in a climate of 'internet trolling' and the like. Thanks for all your hard work, Ros Barber in in particular of course.

by Margaret S

2018年3月26日

I greatly enjoyed the course and found it quite informative. Dr. Barber’s open attitude encouraged us to reflect and ask questions of both the evidence and ourselves. Me only bémol is the forum, which at times was very contentious, people with an agenda fir disruption, people who wanred only to push their rather already cemented ideas. For this reason I didn’t participate much in the forums. But still, I am quite pleased with the course.

Gwen

by John B

2018年3月9日

Excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved Dr. Barber's presentation and especially the discussion interviews. I have been interested in the authorship question for many years and was very happy to see it given such a presentation. I have long thought that the actual facts of the authorship should be taught in schools rather than the assumptions that have built up around the lack of factual evidence.

by Vivek S

2020年7月14日

A Very Detailed Course on this existing question. The content was good, solid, and the quizzes were slightly tricky.

by Steven J L

2018年3月16日

Excellent, thorough introduction to the principle textual, artistic, contemporaneous sources

by Joy S

2018年6月10日

Lots of detailed info about the evidence for and against.

by Soniya.M

2019年6月19日

Awesome course for college students

by Catherine S

2018年5月5日

It started great, but seemed to drag by the midpoint. By the end I had to force myself to finish.

by Lisa H

2021年2月3日

What a great course for anyone who loves the works of Shakespeare. The authorship question is something I’ve always fought with, but never explored. I am a steadfast traditionalist and found anyone questioning this fairly problematic. Having worked, studied and performed the works most of my life, I was finding gaps in my knowledge and this course was able to get me to a point where I felt ready to look at the authorship question seriously. The course is fairly concentrated, but not so much that completing it is impossible.

by Walfer A S W

2021年7月19日

Para aquellos que quieran profundizar en el universo Shakesperano, la Dra. Barbber Ross les dará interesantes entregas sobre los diversos puntos que rodean a personaje tan misterioso, apoyandose con herramientas y teorias muy actualizadas y analisis de distinguidos autores, respetanto las diversas posiciones, conlleva e invita al buscador sacar sus propias conclusiones, solo resta decirles a quien quiera realizar el presente estudio, Buen Provecho.

by Lily P

2021年6月8日

I​ have been interested in the Shakespeare Authorship Question for about a decade - picking up a book here and a book there. This course was invaluable for me to get an overall purview finally. It helped me sort through the information I had gathered and I now have a workable timeline in mind. I also know what I want to know more about! I hope Dr. Barber developes another course, a bump up from this one! I'd pay a lot for a course like that!

by Heather G

2020年8月10日

I had some previous knowledge of the authorship question, and I feel that the course assumed very little to no previous knowledge. Therefore, the content was very accessible and the pacing appropriate for an introductory course. I enjoyed the interviews and the enthusiastic lectures. I definitely feel more informed about the authorship question and capable to discuss with other interested parties.

by PATRICIA M

2020年9月4日

This is an excellent course and I'm really glad I took it. The first lesson with the discussion about the importance of keeping an open mind is very worthwhile in itself. The question of Shakespeare's authorship has always been on the periphery of my life, but now I have a lot more to be aware of. Thank you so much.

by Malu C

2019年7月17日

As an avid Shakespeare reader, I found this course fascinating. Listening to Roz and to the interviews with prestigious scholars opened my eyes to new perspectives and points of view. It encourages me to continue reading and to submerge myself into the Shakespeare authorship and the question ho wrote Shakespeare