Chevron Left
Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,185件の評価
303件のレビュー

コースについて

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

人気のレビュー

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

フィルター:

Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions: 276 - 298 / 298 レビュー

by Minindu

Feb 26, 2020

If there are man questions regarding the content it would be helpful.

by Wenruo H

Dec 05, 2016

It could be better if we can see the key or tips for the homework.

by Mohammad H

Mar 22, 2018

a good and neat course, I used it for reviewing and it went well

by Yashh S K

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

by Peanut G

Jun 11, 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

by Fulgence I

Jan 07, 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

by Shwet R

Jan 10, 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

by Amangossov A M

Jun 17, 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

by Rajasekhar

May 21, 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

by Atef H

May 21, 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

by Ahsan M

Jan 25, 2020

great course fot beignners !!

by Jaspreet S

Jan 25, 2016

very good learning process

by Johannes M

May 20, 2016

Very good!

by Aditya T

Jun 25, 2017

good

by Senanayake H

Dec 19, 2016

good

by Jonah A

Feb 11, 2019

E

by Suyash M

Mar 18, 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

by Emil E H

Feb 15, 2016

The lecturer wasn't very engaging. I gave up and continued with Ohio's Calculus course instead.

by james.v

Jul 17, 2019

Lot of gab between video lecture and assignment problems

by Saad M S M K

Jan 16, 2016

very defcult

by Omar A K

Aug 02, 2017

Easy if you consider the fact that I learned the proper definition of the limit before differentiation and before (of course) any presentation of the Taylor series, with the proper integral rest of course, french mathematical education is not that bad after all.

by Ashkan R

Feb 05, 2016

Calculus isn't that LONG!! you can divide it into 2 courses, not 4, namely single- and multi- variable(s).