Chevron Left
Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics に戻る

バークリー音楽大学(Berklee College of Music) による Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
740件の評価
247件のレビュー

コースについて

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

人気のレビュー

CS
2021年2月12日

This course helped me get over the hump of not being able to write songs. I want to thank Sir Pat for helping me organize my ideas and refine them so that I can tell good stories. Thank you sir!!

GH
2021年1月15日

I have been to dozens of workshops and have read dozens of books and have written hundreds of songs. I learned more in this course than in any of the workshops or books. This it top rated stuff!

フィルター:

Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics: 26 - 50 / 249 レビュー

by David H

2016年9月7日

Excellent course. I have been writing songs for years, some of which might be considered good. However, I always knew I didn't really know how to write songs as a craft. That's why I took this course. The course has now provided me with the toolbox to begin approaching songwriting as it really is, a craft based on skills one learns and develops. I very much would like to take a another course with Pat Pattison, because this one was huge fun! Thanks Pat, Thanks Berklee, Thanks Coursera.

by Gail E

2020年7月3日

I took this course for my personal enjoyment. I found it developed the skills of songwriting very well and made something mysterious much less so. I did find the exercises a bit uneven at one point. Weeks 1 through 4 went fine and got a little more complex every time. Week 5 kicked my butt and took 3 weeks for me to finish. I do say that an ability to read music and play a little is quite helpful but not essential. Overall, I'm very glad I took this course.

by Inna A

2019年5月2日

The course helps to understand the scheme and the whole system of writing songs from the point of view of technology. It turns out incredibly beautiful and beautiful! I learned a lot of subtleties. Thanks to the teacher for a very accurate and idle explanation of not simple things.

I have learned a lot. It’s very joyful that there are practical exercises, it’s important to apply the knowledge gained to practice.

I'm very grateful!

by Edward C

2016年8月17日

I've been writing instrumental music for about 5 years now but could never put lyrics to my work. This course is proving to be really helpful and has provided lots of techniques and tools that are incredibly useful. On top of that I have to praise the instructor Pat Pattison. He has a lot of charisma and makes these lessons really fun - I've had to pause the videos a few times now just to laugh at his witticism.

by FELIPE P L T

2021年6月15日

El contenido del curso es excelente, la forma en que se distribuye el aprendizaje es completo, hay reuniones en tiempo real, foros, consultas. Si tuviese que mejorar algo es un supervisor especializado e songwriting de forma semanal. Se que eso ultimo es algo difícil al tratarse de un curso virtual que no es oficial de la universidad de berklee, pero seria lo único que le faltaría al curso.

by Dominic C H

2020年11月12日

Very insightful and interesting course, I never thought that songwriting had so many more depths than just with words and rhymes. Very clear explanation of the different degrees of rhymes, and what forces a 'stable or unstable' effect. I always knew that in music, we could create tension and release, but i did not know with words and particular phrasing, there's a lot to play too.

by Empty A

2020年6月18日

Pat is an absolutely brilliant professor. He has a certain charisma about him which makes him extremely likable and funny too. This man knows what he is talking about. Ive been in the songwriting game for 15 years, yet i still learned multitudes of information that i never knew, nor would know for a lifetime had it not been for this class and Pat himself. Thank you Pat

by Esther M

2020年6月29日

Taking this course has been a very gratifying experience. It's opened new doors in my life and even made me consider a different career path that wasn't on the table for me before.

Pat is an amazing instructor and learning from him has been refreshing and amazing. I recommend this course to anyone who's looking for new ways of expressing themselves through music.

by Nancy C

2018年11月25日

An extremely helpful class that provided me with tools for approaching lyric writing. Pat Pattison is a terrific teacher; I really enjoyed his lectures and examples. I looking forward to more opportunities to learn from him. I recommend this class to anyone looking to learn the basics of songwriting and/or to try to break a block and get writing again.

by Katrina F

2018年2月18日

What a great intro to songwriting! At first I was a little put off because it felt like the professor was somewhat vague, dreamy, or indirect. But I hung on and soon caught on to his teaching style. This has opened the door to the world of songwriting for me. It helps that I have already been working at it for a few years. Pat is wise.

by Cathi T

2019年10月13日

I see songs in structures with rhymes in different ways as soon as the first video for this course. English is my second language, and I am able to apply it in Mandarin as well. By reading Prof. Pattison's words after received my certificate, his genuine and sincere messages lift my confidence to a different level.

by Finding F

2020年10月19日

Fantastic course. I've written numerous songs previously, but this is making some subtle polish to some of them and giving me a huge jump start on starting others. It really delves in to how the lyrics and phrasing make your songs tick, and gives you great ways to structure and generate ideas for new ones.

by Becky A

2021年9月19日

Pat Pattison is at the top of his game. He's taught this course for so long that he knows exactly what to say to help you improve your songwriting. Lyrics are definitely my weak point, and whilst I'm never going to be a poet, I've got lots of great strategies now to make my lyrics much better.

by Odile S

2018年3月20日

This course gives an explanation about prosody and how rhyme works, not merely teaches how to work with it but also the why. Before the course I wondered why to bother use rhyme and rhythm, as long as it feels good. Now I more deeply understand how it works and know better how to write a poem.

by Paddy M

2020年12月15日

What a fantastic course and a fantastic learning experience.

Pat Pattison is just a brilliant tutor. The manner in which he explains everything in detail, was the main reason I found the course so satisfying and a great song writing experience.

Thank you to all concerned at Berklee college.

by Francesca A L

2017年3月23日

I would strongly recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn songwriting techniques. Pat Pattison is great and makes learning fun! I feel I have learned so much in such a short time. Loved every minute of it and I hope some day to be able to take other courses with Pat!

by David R C

2016年8月10日

This course opened my eyes to a number of concepts which seem blatantly obvious now that I know them, but which I had never considered before taking the course. The reasons I couldn't quite put my finger on as to why certain lyrics of mine seemed off. Highly recommended!

by Rodrigo I M

2021年9月14日

This course is the best things you can do to advance your songwriting career. Prof. Pattison is an incredible teacher and author of many fantatic books. This course will arm you with essential tools and the only thing you will regret will be not having done it earlier.

by Brian L

2022年1月18日

I learned a lot from this course! I learned about plosives, the stress and unstress, and what they mean. I also learned a lot about syllable words, and how rhymes can be used at different lyrics! Definitely going to be using these tips for my next project! Thanks Pat!

by Michal K

2020年11月30日

This is a very practical and helpful course. The concepts which are explained in the course will catapult your songwriting to the stratosphere. Everything makes sense in this course and you are going to shake your head at how this all works together to spark emotions.

by Mario A

2020年1月6日

One of the best courses in my life. If you want to express yourself through songs, this is the course. Fr one, this course gave me new inspiration to write my music and be able to make my dares come true ! Thank you very much Patt, Berklee online and Coursera Team!

by Deleted A

2017年3月3日

I am impressed at how there is theory and study behind the art of writing songs. The course opened my eyes to this vast and interesting subject.Pat Pattson is a fantastic teacher with incredible didactics, knowledge and personality. I just have to thank you.

by Alicia C

2018年4月13日

I learned so much about the art of songwriting, and this course made me consider things I'd never thought of before. I also loved how pertinent the lessons were to other forms of written and verbal communication. The whole experience was just stellar.

by Rasmus M

2016年11月2日

Great course. Just what I needed as a beginner in writing lyrics. I've been singing/playing/producing, but never really try to write lyrics. This course opens up the subject and gives you the opportunity to understand that writing lyrics is a craft.

by Anthony K

2019年7月23日

This course gives you an incredible toolbox to advance your songwriting skills whether you've never done it before or are a seasoned vet. The approach alone is worth it's weight in gold. The course is definitely a steal in this information age.