Chevron Left
Kinematics: Describing the Motions of Spacecraft に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Kinematics: Describing the Motions of Spacecraft の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
266件の評価
88件のレビュー

コースについて

The movement of bodies in space (like spacecraft, satellites, and space stations) must be predicted and controlled with precision in order to ensure safety and efficacy. Kinematics is a field that develops descriptions and predictions of the motion of these bodies in 3D space. This course in Kinematics covers four major topic areas: an introduction to particle kinematics, a deep dive into rigid body kinematics in two parts (starting with classic descriptions of motion using the directional cosine matrix and Euler angles, and concluding with a review of modern descriptors like quaternions and Classical and Modified Rodrigues parameters). The course ends with a look at static attitude determination, using modern algorithms to predict and execute relative orientations of bodies in space. After this course, you will be able to... * Differentiate a vector as seen by another rotating frame and derive frame dependent velocity and acceleration vectors * Apply the Transport Theorem to solve kinematic particle problems and translate between various sets of attitude descriptions * Add and subtract relative attitude descriptions and integrate those descriptions numerically to predict orientations over time * Derive the fundamental attitude coordinate properties of rigid bodies and determine attitude from a series of heading measurements...

人気のレビュー

SM
2017年10月18日

Brilliant classes! Absolutely brilliant, enjoyed every bit of it. All you need is that you should love Physics and Maths to attend these classes. If you do, it is an enriching experience for you.

DM
2021年11月9日

Great professor, and the content is interesting. The assignments where you had to write your own code to determine the spacecraft attitudes were very useful for applying what you had learnt.

フィルター:

Kinematics: Describing the Motions of Spacecraft: 1 - 25 / 88 レビュー

by Musab N A

2018年2月8日

Great professor. The material is very focused on space systems, but can easily be used in other robotics applications

by Samuel L

2020年5月3日

Course material is great, Prof Schaub is an excellent lecturer, but one thing that makes this course disappointing is that neither himself nor his TA is ever around to interact with the course mates. I was expecting a bit more activity with the mentorship and some QNA, but all of the cross-checkings of work are between classmates (so it could be the case of the blind leading the blind really...) and we are pretty much left alone. This makes it no different than watching videos on our own on Khan Academy or Youtube (zero interaction really). Otherwise, the content and material is good and well structured. Disclaimer - this is grad level stuff, so make sure your linear algebra and calculus is pretty solid.

by Daniel d S

2017年10月16日

A practically useful and wholly positive learning experience from a passionate professor. I am working as an engineer in the space industry already, and took this course to patch up some cloudy areas of understanding. I got quite the bang for my buck.

The material is taught in a style that leans towards applicable theory for the well-educated engineer. The videos are recordings of in-classroom lectures from UC Boulder, a university know for it's tight history of collaboration with NASA everywhere from Mars to Earth's outer Magnetosphere. In this course you will cover the necessary engineering physics to describe orbiting and rotating reference frames, attitude coordinate systems, and methods for determining spacecraft attitude from on-board sensors.

My educational background is from outside an aerospace engineering department, and I had no problem keeping up. I encourage not only aerospace engineers, but anyone working in space (scientists, programmers, operations personnel) to try this course.

by Brian P

2017年6月27日

This is a great course for working through the book, "Analytical Mechanics of Space Systems" that I've owned for many years but never got around to working through it at the level of detail involved in working through the problems on paper, instead of just in my head. Prof Schaub does an excellent job of filling in the gaps in the text and making it more understandable, but it does really, really help to have the book to work through along with the class. Even with a background in physics, math, and engineering, I immediately learned something new about how to solve kinematics problems that I should have known but didn't. The concept of generalized/canonical coordinate systems never made sense to me until this class, where for some reason the explanation just clicked and I knew how it worked like flipping a switch. That knowledge alone was worth the price of the certificate. Continuing on to work the follow-on courses and perhaps complete the specialization.

by Craig Z

2019年7月29日

This a very difficult course but worth it if you put the time into it. This is an advanced graduate-level class and is relies heavily on previous concepts in physics, linear algebra, and calculus. Would not suggest taking it if you are not strong in all three.

by Troy W

2018年2月25日

Good way to teach the course.

Could have been better if the professor could stop the urge to use vectricx notation.

by Konstantinos

2018年7月28日

The course is absolutely amazing! You can learn a huge amount of mathematics and applications in classical mechanics on these 4 weeks, which is crucial for me as a physicist, and there are a lot of challenging exercises so you can fully understand this. The only (for my point of view) disadvantage of this course is that in the last week you need to use/learn some programming skilles which I was not interested in learning (I only wanted to study the physics and math of this course even if programming is also useful in the field of physics).

by Kasper w

2019年3月4日

The course is really nice. It gave me a good perspective of the coordinate systems used for attitude control and how they are good and bad in different contexts. It covered valuable topics in new and ongoing work done in the topic with a great lecturer that is engaging with the class.

The topics covered in attitude determination were also valuable and gave an insight in how attitude determination is done on spacecrafts through multiple sensors. Hopefully this knowledge will help in further classes.

by Pratik W

2017年9月13日

Great Course! Given the advanced nature of this subject, Prof Schaub has successfully carved out an extremely neat course structure. His lectures provide valuable and clear insights into the concepts at play. The assignments are thorough and engaging as well. This course has already added substantial value to my background in Aerospace. I'm looking forward to enrolling in other similar courses!

by Andrew P

2020年3月15日

Professor Schaub is an excellent teacher. The concepts were well organized and delivered. Professor Schaub provided an intuitive understanding of the use of different coordinate systems that would be difficulty to develop from interacting with a textbook.

The coding assignments were worthwhile and helped cement my understanding of the concepts.

by CEDRIC T

2019年11月9日

Excellent course, even for non specialist or space professional. High quality course that can become very hard, especially if you haven't been doing maths for a while. However , it's a high reward if you succeed the course with a good grade, as it demonstrates you can handle work intensive assignments and programming.

by Andrea M

2017年6月28日

One of the best courses that I have ever done in coursera. Schaub can explain advanced concepts in a very pragmatic and easy-to-understand way. Suggested for professionals already with a Master degree's in Engineering, or student with solid basis of Geometry and Mathematical Programming (e.g. Matlab, Mathematica)

by Deleted A

2019年6月3日

if you are an aerospace engineering student and would like to get into orbital mechanics/ control and dynamics of satellites or celestial bodies, it's a decent course (series) to take.

by Mukesh K

2020年8月12日

Lectures are great and professor method of teaching is superb i would highly recommend this course for space enthusiasts

by Tanseer H

2020年6月26日

The course was difficult yet interesting and challenging. The instructor's teaching methodology is amazing.

by Nicolò C

2020年4月26日

I really liked this course, the professor is really good at both explaining and deeply knowing the subject

by Shounak D

2018年2月4日

Wish every Professor taught like this guy. Excellent. Fun course.Thank you !

by Clemens R

2018年12月27日

Very good course! Few of the quizzes have the wrong answers marked as correct which can be confusing when learning the material (see the discussion forum for specifics).

by Diana M O M

2020年11月6日

The course is great, all the contents is very interesting. It demands a little more time that it is advised, but it is worth it. All of the topics were new to me, maybe because of that it was harder than I though. I had a lot of fun working on all the quices, the programming parts where particularly enlightening. Also, it was very enriching the peer review process, it helps a lot to asure some concepts.

by Aleksandr G

2019年5月5日

Very useful compilation of attitude determination math. Could be applied in many engineering fields, not only spacecraft control.

Special thanks to lector Dr. H. Schaub. He is really know how to teach. I also recommend to visit he's web page, which is very useful.

http://hanspeterschaub.info/main.html

by Bruno G

2020年4月5日

Very well explained and organized. the professor makes a very good resume of the book in his classes. It has a lot of practical references, despite it is not a programming course, there are a lot of references to "the code" and how to make it more efficient.

I really recommend this course.

by Doğuş C K

2020年8月31日

I learned much about coordinate frames and had the opportunity to apply what I learned. Professor teaches so well that I am an electronics engineer and I even understood everything. Also, the parts that questions from students are answered were inspiring. Thanks for this amazing course.

by Gabriel N P S

2020年9月20日

The contents of this course are throughly explained in a very didactic way by Prof. Schaub. Also, the assignments are well designed to help assimilate the knowledge. I truly feel that I am learning a new skill and I am eager to start the next module as soon as possible.

by Youssef S E

2020年7月16日

Extremely educational, practical, and useful course, guided by a top-notch instructor from a top-class university, for all those aerospace engineers interested to pursue a career and/or already working in the field of spacecraft dynamics & AOCS/GNC. Thanks Dr. Schaub!.

by Andres M

2020年9月18日

It is a very complete course with many useful examples and tasks that will definitely challenge the skills and methods acquired in class. Besides, the professor is always trying to relate all the conceps with real flight dynamics operations and historical events.