Chevron Left
Geospatial and Environmental Analysis に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Geospatial and Environmental Analysis の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,085件の評価
241件のレビュー

コースについて

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

人気のレビュー

MH
2020年5月11日

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA
2019年5月4日

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

フィルター:

Geospatial and Environmental Analysis: 26 - 50 / 237 レビュー

by Ahmed M A A

2019年2月5日

thanks

by Miguel I

2019年12月13日

I taught myself GIS using QGIS with various online resources. I took this course to have my first structured training on GIS and to be familiar with ArcMap. Now, I'm making maps on the side using ArcMap. The course is fairly easy if you already have experience with GIS. The additional exercises are really helpful too. One con is that there are times that despite doing 100% everything on the video, you end up with a different result. It's a pro in a way that it helps you troubleshoot GIS issues. Also, props to Nick (instructor) for replying both on the discussion page and my email about some missing data. He is also a clear and direct speaker and explains the nuances of doing this and that. Worth the payment!

by Lesley D

2016年7月25日

I enjoyed the course very much but found the assignment very frustrating. Despite trying numerous ways with the data provided I did not get the same map coverage as the instructor and there was no explanation as to what I might have done differently despite a number of people asking the same question in the forums. It was still possible to get full marks without but it would have been more satisfying to get the same answer.

by Asif N

2016年10月30日

Good chance for learners to indulge more practically than just theoretical work.

by Nicholas S

2020年10月1日

While I thought the last two classes were superb, this one was a slow drag. The final project gave me a lot of trouble, and judging by the forums, it was challenging for a lot of other people as well. The problem for a lot of people is that once you start doing something incorrectly, its hard to correct it. Getting help could take days, and even though there's no hard deadline, I submitted my project late because I felt as if I had exhausted my options within the week long timeline.

The grading system (which might be a site-wide problem), is shoddy. I knew when I submitted my project that it was not worth full credit. Even so, I got full credit from the graders. They didn't even bother reading the grading rubric.

by Meghan M D

2021年1月12日

This is the third course I have taken in the UC Davis GIS specialization, and it did not disappoint! The final project was quite challenging for me, even though I had taken good notes throughout all the courses. However, when I successfully completed the project, I had a great sense of accomplishment and I am inspired to continue learning GIS.

My only comment about the Coursera online course format is that the estimations of time commitment for these GIS courses is WAY TOO LOW. I hope I am not the only student for whom the coursework typically takes significantly more time than estimated. The final project in this course was supposed to take 2.5 hours, but I think it took me at least 12 hours!

by Blake S

2020年2月20日

This course is a wonderful exploration of some of the tools at the disposal of a GIS practitioner. Nick provided wonderful applicable examples and did a great job clearly explaining the process of doing, and the processes behind doing many of the geospatial analysis functions available through Arc GIS. The only issue with the class was the use of Arc Desktop instead of Arc Pro. The benefit of this was the value in seeing the stripped down GUI behind the scenes of many of the more user friendly functions of Pro. However, with industry standards moving towards Pro, it would have been nice to get more experience on the platform that many of us will probably be using in the field.

by Saqalain H

2021年9月16日

Geospatial and Environmental Analysis is an amazing course that enables a student to learn different tools in ArcMap, different coordinate systems, 3D surfaces, TINS and map symbiology. The best part of it is the assignments and tutorial along with the discussion forums. This is a great interactive course. One can learn through the videos and tutorial assignments. If one gets stuck, then the discussion forums are amazing and interactive.

Another best thing about the course is its practicality. The final project is a great way to put your skills into work. A big thanks to the Coursera, University of California, Davis and the amazing tutor Nick Santos.

by Deleted A

2020年11月12日

Excellent course! The teacher gives the well-organized lessons with clear explanation and examples to illustrate how to work on Arcmap, Arcscène and other applications. The Quizzes are closely related to the examples. Throughout the course, there is a project for which we have to imagine and identify the procedure of analysis (data source, processing steps, visualization....). The final assignment is really a great wrap up of this whole course and also two previous ones. I highly recommend this course for those who want to work in geographic field and apply these very handy competences to their current domain of work.

by Nihal A

2020年8月15日

Excellent course, the content was a lot, more than all the other courses in the specialisation. I recommend if you do this course allocate more time than recommended. this is because There is practice data included with most of the lectures which you can use to follow. Also, the content for projections and datum is much harder to understand and you'll be watching lectures twice.

The practise assignments and the final peer review assignment where all excellent.

by Bojan C

2016年9月15日

This was very demanding course for me. However, at the end that is the only way one can learn things properly. Video lessons are interesting as well as exercises, and the tools and workflows that have been shown to us have been very clearly explained and demonstrated. I hope I will be able to continue with next course in a row and finally finish Capstone Project and earn the Certificate.

by Pratyush

2017年7月12日

This course was very interesting and the final assignment was quite challenging although we had been provided with sufficient knowledge on how to do the analysis, there is always a difference between knowing the formula and doing the formula.

Anyway, the practice materials and demo data provided was quite good enough to get the understanding of doing an analysis.

Thanks Nick

by Alexander W

2018年7月4日

Excellent way to learn GIS, challenging but very rewarding class. Nick does a great job integrating many tools and data analysis techniques in real-world situations. These classes are definitely for anyone who wants to try to apply themselves and learn GIS skills. I really like the grading structure and how the course is scheduled through the month. Cheers!

by Kabral M A

2020年8月17日

I do not know what to say, it is really life change study I gain from this course, I develop confidence and know what I can do with Geospatial and Environmental Analysis. The Instructor is number one, he knows how to convey the message and the practical assignment is really helpful, so I want to say thank you for my Instructor and the coursera team.

by BELTRAN

2020年8月5日

This is one of the best course ever made! The amount of work, dedication, will really improve the learning curve, if you are those who never give up learning data analysis, putting in practice the core of GIS, this is the course! welcome, you will find outstanding lectures that apply to every day work, prof. Nick is outstanding in this regards.

by Kubilay S

2020年10月3日

Thanks to our teacher Nick Santos. The course was very good and fluent, everything was in place and flawless. His course was excellent, we learned so much. Our teacher is very detailed and explained the facts and I am very pleased. It was my favorite graduation project in the course, I did it with great pleasure. Thanks to Uc Davis University

by Joe B

2019年8月26日

Nick has hit it out of the ballpark again. The information provided was very powerful, and it was explained in clear and concise way. Some of the topics seemed slightly out of place when first presented, but it all came together in the final project. Learned a lot from the course. Kudos to the instructor and the UC Davis team.

by Simon D

2018年6月21日

The courses for this specialism have been very good, I have learned so much already that I can put into practice. It did take some time to get to grips with the final project, I was told I was over thinking things. Thanks Nick for another great course, will see you for the next one once I get the mountain of work out of the way.

by Lucia F

2018年4月19日

Nice course part of the specialisation. The final assessment was a bit confusing and then, the review criteria did not take into account some of the 'products' we had to do according to the instructions. It was almost like you could have submit whatever. Anyway, I do not work in that way so I did it right. that is why 5 stars.

by Dan C

2021年2月13日

This was a fun course, and while the subject matter was those most difficult to this point, it wasn't too hard too complete.

It really gives you a good general concept of what good data is, how data is found, and the things that can lead to good, as well as bad, results in your geoprocessing.

by Rastko P

2020年5月2日

Nick is an outstanding lecturer, so it was a pleasure following the course. Aside from his personal qualities, what is of great importance is the fact that the course is set in such a manner that the attendee gets an adequate upgrade from lesson to lesson, leading to the final result.

by Laura E P

2020年7月19日

I really like how you work through a project from finding data to presenting the final product in this course. Building off the previous 2 courses this one really puts the pieces together and gives you the confidence to work with both vector and raster datasets.

by Shwahibu M

2017年6月15日

I am real thankful and joyful for this accomplishment! though challenging but I made it, for those who are yet to decide to get enrolled to this course I encourage you not to hesitate any more, it is a great course to make you more comfortable as a GIS analyst.

by Chris W

2019年5月23日

Wow, the Geospatial and Environmental Analysis course has an impressively deep coverage of GIS knowledge! I truly learned a voracious number of useful skills. I also enjoyed the additional videos on how to design and conduct a project in GIS. Excellent course!

by Nick J

2020年4月27日

This course is more difficult then the other two that came before this in the specialization. I stopped a couple of times, and started over agian a few times. Today, i finialy finished it with a perfect score! It has been an absolutely amazing experience.