Chevron Left
Geospatial and Environmental Analysis に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Geospatial and Environmental Analysis の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
786件の評価
150件のレビュー

コースについて

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

人気のレビュー

AA

May 05, 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

AC

Oct 02, 2019

Useful information on spatial analysis, rasters, coordinate systems.\n\nAnd a guided tour on approaching a personal project.\n\nThe lessons are well structured and the teacher easy to follow.

フィルター:

Geospatial and Environmental Analysis: 126 - 147 / 147 レビュー

by Miguel I

Dec 13, 2019

I taught myself GIS using QGIS with various online resources. I took this course to have my first structured training on GIS and to be familiar with ArcMap. Now, I'm making maps on the side using ArcMap. The course is fairly easy if you already have experience with GIS. The additional exercises are really helpful too. One con is that there are times that despite doing 100% everything on the video, you end up with a different result. It's a pro in a way that it helps you troubleshoot GIS issues. Also, props to Nick (instructor) for replying both on the discussion page and my email about some missing data. He is also a clear and direct speaker and explains the nuances of doing this and that. Worth the payment!

by Adam K

Oct 02, 2019

This course offered a step by step approach to a GIS workflow, from sourcing and cleaning data, to performing initial analysis to subset data, and getting an end result which was then made into a n appropriately presented and published map.

This course went into some more advanced concepts than the intro course, and I found most of the assignments useful for developing an understanding. There was a lot of ground to cover, and at times I was frustrated and lost, but ultimately that's the nature of the beast.

The final assignment was a good amalgamation of the skills used in the course, though many people had issues with the assets provided. Whether the issues were intentional or not, I'm not sure.

by April H

Dec 26, 2017

This course adds more knowledge to that covered in the previous courses in the specialization, but its organization could use some improvement. Some of the material was intended to increase the student's understanding of topics covered in the previous courses, but these sections often repeated information from the previous courses without giving enough new material or presenting the new material in an organized manner. This does mean students with prior GIS experience might find this class helpful on its own without taking the prior classes, though. The exercises provided are good practice, but they also repeat a bit too much material from the previous courses at times.

by Edgar V

Feb 03, 2018

It is an excellent course; you easily notice that the people involved (especially Nick) have put a lot of effort to prepare a high level course (excellent lectures, and a great selection of topics, materials and assignments). Compare to the two previous courses, this one is harder; one covers a lot of topics. You have to give yourself plenty of time to watch the videos (take notes and go through the materials), and I personally think that there is no way you can complete the assignments in the time they suggest. The language of the questions in the Quizzes was bit confusing.

by Yuan L

Apr 12, 2019

It keeps high quality as the first two courses in this specialization. Well-designed course materials! Two suggestions: 1) please attach each module's quiz to the end of each module as the case in course 1 and 2, and 2) It is hard to track the project module once a week, therefore, it would be helpful to recap the progress so far in a more detailed way at the beginning of each project video. Thanks!

by Cornelia H

Aug 18, 2017

This course offered a range of topics to learn more about GIS, however, I found that it jumped quite randomly between them, so that for me the sense of direction was a bit missing. Anyway, I have learned a lot more and think that all topics included of the course have helped me to get better at using GIS.

by Juriaan V

Jan 11, 2020

This course gives good and many examples of various geoprocessing tools but goes through them a little quick in my opinion. I personally would enjoy some more examples of when you would use such a tool in your workflow.

by Pradip S

Jul 16, 2017

A good course with detail explanation and ample excercises to practise for those who intend to build on their career in the field of Environmental analysis using GIS.

by Satish M

Dec 02, 2018

It was a good experience, getting familiar with the tools and all. But, the videos were short, and it did not have enough assignments to work on our own.

by Asad A B

Jun 05, 2018

Data for the last assignment should be homogeneous with instructors output as it cause a lot of frustration and wastage of energy

by Nancy V W

Jun 21, 2017

Am learning a lot and have already impressed my husband as well as my boss with my new skills, and using them only for good.

by Zainab K

Sep 30, 2019

Good course, could have been more explanatory.

by Sara O

Jul 12, 2016

Another good course in this specialisation.

by Prabin P

Jul 12, 2016

I enjoy this course a lot. It very good.

by Ahmed E A G

Aug 19, 2017

Amazing course and improve my skills

by Maryam A

Aug 12, 2019

Final exercise needs to be revised.

by Megha S

Feb 10, 2017

Good pace, good instruction

by Akram A M E

Apr 12, 2018

very good material

by Henry M M

Mar 01, 2017

Good

by Brandi P

Dec 18, 2016

This class had a lot of good material and it truly showed how powerful GIS is in analysis. My recommendation would be for this class to be broken into two sessions to really practice everything that was taught in the videos. However, I plan on doing this on my own through the GIS help boxes before I take the 4th class.

by Luigi S

Dec 19, 2016

Peer review is not best way to grade if requires some form of subjective judgement from people that maybe are not the very qualified to provide it.

by Kyle

Jan 08, 2020

The main assignment was extremely hard. I think a little too hard relative to what we had learned up to that point.