Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
12,715件の評価
3,269件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 3276 - 3300 / 3,347 レビュー

by qizhou c

2020年2月21日

Too hard

by Brian M

2021年5月25日

Average

by Raymond Z

2022年6月13日

T​here are so many issues with this course. The lectures, while generally clear, are obviously read from a teleprompter, with no slides or real exercises provided. They lack a lot of substance and examples to fully illustrate the content, and have no interactive components. The instructor is clearly extremely capable and knowledgeable, but is unable to convey any of that information due to the structure of the lectures.

The assignments meanwhile are way too difficult compared to the lecture material and severely lacking in feedback, explanation, or clarity. Half of the questions either have blatant errors, confusing wording, or requirements impossible for SQLite. Maybe this was partially my error, but it's not like the course was very helpful. In one of the lectures, on using DATE, the example in the lecture is formatted incorrectly, leading to a lot of trouble when doing the Quiz.

S​ome questions will ask you about "correlation" or "predicting", which is fine and all, except for the part where SQLite doesn't support many of the fuctions neccessary for such analysis.

I​ cannot recommend anyone take this course. There are maybe 4 hours of actual content in the entire course (including quizzes and assingments), except it'll take you significantly longer to complete as you sit there confused by the questions. Yes, you'll learn something, but you also could've done the same with a free tutorial somewhere else.

The forums are filled with people confused by the formatting, phrasing, or structure of assessments. Meanwhile, no effort is made by the instructors or UC Davis to correct the many issues here nor answer any of these posts. It's frankly an embarassment for a school like UC Davis to be putting out such low-quality content, even if it is from their extension program.

by Heiko K

2020年2月25日

The course is overall very high in quality and I found it really useful. The teacher explains the concepts really well and the exercises are very good. I really found joy doing the final course assignment. However, I feel that I got tricked into paying one more month of subscription, seconds after I paid for another month, I did receive the course certificate. I submitted the peer graded assignment one week ago. My plan was to continue with the other courses in this specialisation but after my experience with this subscription/payment philosophy, I will not discontinue and look for other online platforms with a better customer experience for me. Thank you nonetheless for the high quality of this course, I am certain many learners find the material extremely helpful, as did I.

by christian s

2022年4月12日

This is not a beginner course, it is very high level with little time or explanations spent on each topic. The quizes expect syntax that has not been gone over in order to correctly answer the questions. I received better explantions for what was needed from W3school brief high level explanaton then I did this ocurse.

The instructor tends to stumble over her words alot which causes confusion and the examples within the presentation are not really clear as they arent based off real world, just table 1 table 2 etc.

I debated if I should review or not as I wonder also is this just not witin my leanring style, but reallized in a course of this type it should fit a variety learning styles as the Google courses do.

by Brennan M

2021年7月16日

This course covers topics in passing and expects you to internalize that topic. If this is going to be the pace, there really should be slides to review.

Also, if you're going to have someone just read off a teleprompter, hire an actor. The jarring cadence of this lecturer, the frequent tripping over words, or finishing a sentence only to realize there are three more words, it's brutal.

There are a ton of mini-quizzes which is fine, but it also has a "check all the right answers" which is both wildly pedantic and in many instances neither provable nor educational. Most courses I take through Coursera offer the "10 questions at the end" feature which is less disruptive and the questions feel more substantive.

by Bridget M

2022年6月22日

This course in my opinion was not beginner level. I was expecting basic sql coding, and it quickly took a deep dive into more advanced and in depth coding. The video lectures had a lot of information, but not enough practical examples, and then when getting to quizes I felt like the quiz material did not match up to what was talked about in the videos. The run windows for the coding quizes were also glitchy . It took way longer than approximately 14 hours to complete this course. I also did not appreciate the final assignment needing to be peer reviewed to get the certificate for the course. It should just be self checked like the rest of the assignments. I won't be recommending this course to anyone.

by Noel C

2019年9月30日

The first two weeks were easy to follow along with. Unfortunately after that the course was severely lacking. There were not good explanations of things and new things would be added in that hadn’t been covered. When you post questions the mentors aren’t much help and the students will try to answer if they can. There’s also no way to practice. I also would’ve found it nice to see the tables they were pulling their “examples” from. I had to use other resources to actually study and learn SQLite. I’m assuming the people who gave this course a high score are already familiar with SQLite and just wanted the certificate.

by Helena B

2021年3月3日

First thing the instructor said was this course is for beginners. I am a beginner so I signed up. There are so many references I did not understand, no step by step explanation of how to find the data required to pass the exams so ended up looking for answers on the forum. Only way I managed to get through the third week was because my husband new how to use python and he helped me find correct answers - which were different to the ones we were given.

New steps were brought in without any basic explanation, again an indication that prior knowledge is needed.

Awful and disheartening

by Jay P

2021年1月16日

Pretty useless course, especially for someone looking to audit (learn for free). Well I would be livid if I actually paid for this.

Without a text editor in the course, you are trying to learn SQL via slideshow basically. There is no way to learn SQL without practicing. I switched to Codecademy's SQL course as it's much better because of the the text editor. They teach you and you practice with actual syntax and commands rather than stupid quiz questions. I still use some of the videos to better understand some concepts but only after I practice/learn them in Codecademy.

by Brian K

2020年11月23日

This course really stinks. If you already know SQL and just need a certification, a course like this would be fine. But for complex subject matter like SQL, it needs to go Concept->Practice, rinse & repeat. Instead, it's Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Practice. Sadie, it's real shame. She lures you in week one thinking this is going to be doable, and by the end of week 2, the writing is on the wall. It's too bad because a good SQL course could do a lot of good in this environment and they clearly have the infrastructure to do it.

by Marcos S

2021年11月13日

The content covered on this course is helpful but this is getting one star for the instructor. Very clearly she is reading a script and 1/3 of her sentences make no sense. On top of that, she often says variable names that are different from the written example she is referring to. These three factors make this course extremely difficult to follow and stick to. I find myself having to use YouTube videos on the same topics to try to get an understanding of what I just watched. At that point, it's not worth having paid the $399 annual membership.

by Debaseesh S

2022年1月24日

These static slides are only helpful for live interactive classes. It's not easy to follow the instructor along with the code snippets. This could've been easily solved had the instructor(or UCD actually) had used a pointing device to show which part of the code they were referring to. And the final exam is not even worth it- questions are not clear and the submission mechanism could be improved. Not worth the money/enrollment/time. Better look for an alternative for this particular course(and for free!).

by Andrew P

2022年5月13日

The quizzes are fine, but the copy is terrible. The instructor isn't very clear in explaining what the steps she describes are used for, and often just repeats the first half of her sentence. It feels like the writing for the class was rushed. Also, the instructions for the final assignment and lab aren't very clear. I was able to learn the basics of SQL thanks to this class, but I relied on multiple outside sources and tutorials to do so.

by Alexander B

2020年10月29日

Didn't like it. Too simple content (could only bear it with speed>1.5). Too many errors in the videos. Peer review is stupid b/c the tasks were simple but time consuming. Some of the works I had to review were simply copies from the internet (I can tell b/c some solutions you can find on the web contain answers to questions which have been removed). Teacher, however, did a good job. Clear, easy to understand explanations.

by F B

2018年2月17日

The course does go through the relevant topics. But the assignments and moderator attention (and quality of responses) are well below standards compared to other coursera courses. I would not recommend paying for this course, but rather just audit it. This way you will still get the material, but you won't have to go through the really bad and frustrating assignments (unclear/ambiguous/wrong wording).

by Songul A

2021年3月22日

Videos are not helpful. Going over the concepts with some codes and hypothetical examples are not useful. It would be great if we see the codes run and some of the results. Also, explanations are inadequate. The notions are oversimplified and rushed through. I learned the topics by doing the assignments which are very good for self-learning but mostly not covered in the videos.

by Brian

2020年11月19日

This class does not go into enough detail. The lectures are not particularly helpful. The final assignment is mislabeled in terms of time it will take which leads to poor time management. Some of the questions are also considerably more difficult and require skills not taught or practiced well enough during the class. I wish I had done a different class.

by Shervin L D

2019年12月20日

Worst MOOC I fell across on web. Lot's of bugs in the assessment, lot's of incompleteness, teacher does not go deep in subjects, ends with a peer review letting you no guarantee it will ever be review, certainly not within the Free Week. I feel like I lost a lot's more time then I should have for the content I learned, overall very frustrating experience.

by Vera C P

2021年1月24日

It's so hard, not enough examples to refer to when doing quiz. You should provide a variety of examples prior, similar to what you will ask in the quizzes. For someone like me, new to coding, it's very hard to remember how to respond to similar questions by the examples. People need to get familiar with the examples first, then move on to something new.

by Noemi A

2020年12月27日

To be honest, i don't think this is for beginners.

Many things you need to find our for yourself and as per today, i don't know which tool to use for doing the queries? How to make the tool go and take the data for the spread sheets? This is basic.. so now i know the queries but i don't know where to use it.... Did i miss something?

by Nicolás S V

2018年3月4日

Interesting course, it made me remember some things I learnt in college. Final assignment is too bad, simple queries for getting the info we are being asked to look, repetitive code to be implemented, a lot of ambiguity in the description of some points. I would call this course "SQL for newbies", or "First approach to SQL".

by Jean-Philippe M

2020年6月1日

The course compared to other data science or programming classes I took was not effective in demonstrating how to use in a practical way the foundation of sql. No files were provided for exercises, exercises and lecture were read, no documents or link to install sql lite were provided. This is not a professional class.

by Cynthia T

2021年12月29日

I do not like this course. I could not even get through the first week of this program. All the instructor is doing is talking through 'her ideas of using SQL' not actually indicating how to perform the actions of doing SQL. I get a much better, interactive experience through LinkedIn Learning.

by Laura H

2022年6月16日

​This course was not hands-on enough. In my opinion, we should have been practicing each of the techniques as we learned them. Watching a bunch of videos completely misses the mark. It was also difficult to do the assignments without the practical experience.