Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
13,039件の評価
3,366件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 3351 - 3375 / 3,450 レビュー

by Fan Y

2021年9月13日

Even reading the prompter throughout the course, the instructor has been extremely nervous and unsmooth in reading. This is the biggest downside of the course and eclipses its good sides.

by Athalia B

2022年2月12日

Didn't feel it actually helped me learn because there wasn't any step-by-step instruction. It just was videos w/script and then quizzes and you were expected to know the content.

by Dan C D B

2022年2月26日

The instructor is so hard to follow that it made me not want to continue with the entire specialization. Although I really like the challenges and the idea of peer-reviewing.

by Gayathri V

2021年12月10日

Hi, First of all I don't like peer assignment concepts. second especially in joins videos if you have shown examples with output, little elaborate, will be more useful.

by Scotty O

2022年6月30日

Below expectation for such a high profile university. Luckily my basic background in SQL was enough to get me through the activities because the lectures were poor.

by Deleted A

2020年5月13日

I wish that the instructor used examples that mirrored the type of questions in the coding exams. We did not cover all the material in the coding exam.

by Darren R

2019年9月27日

The structure and guidance provided on the final assignment was very poor, resulting in far more time required to complete than expected.

by Riccardo B

2020年3月27日

too much theory, I needed something more 'pratical' that allowed me to start using and write code and not see a lot of slide with code

by SARTHAK S

2020年10月27日

1.Very basic course.

2. Assignments level does not match with training level.

3. Need to provide class which includes query writing.

by Carolina E

2019年6月24日

The teacher was not readily available to answer questions. The course was alright but I do not feel prepared to use my skills yet.

by Mathias M

2020年3月19日

Very slow and badly organised start of the course with no to very little practice of how to use SQLite before the coding quiz.

by Seidler C

2021年4月28日

The first exercises are still ok. But the final exam is really a mess. The questions are not as precise as they should be.

by Yash K

2020年8月5日

Too much talking in videos with less examples. The exercises were vague and not enough information was given to solve them

by Bill P

2020年12月1日

The videos had the wrong emphasis, and were far too long.

More time should have been devoted to the exercises/quizzes.

by Christos A

2020年4月23日

Not satisfied. There are better MOOCs for SQL/Data Science out there. I wouldn't recommend it for a SQL beginner.

by Terrela P

2021年9月15日

G​reat information, however, the site that host the datebase for the quizes is outdated and no longer supported.

by Bram M

2021年3月9日

The course is good in itself, but answers circulate on the internet, making the certificate not very meaningful.

by Naomy A

2019年12月16日

there is a lot of questions about how the questions were asked, i highly recommend you do see the discussions

by Neeli K

2020年3月3日

Not enough examples were shared.

Certain concepts were explained without telling their underlying basics.

by Bogdan O

2022年7月6日

Way too theoretical and almost no practice. This course is the same as reading some slides.

by Eslam R

2018年11月3日

There are few examples about every lesson, and may not have examples for some lessons

by Benjamin B

2022年7月31日

Did not have practices, just video then straight to the test.

by Kerry-Ann K

2022年5月13日

Not information was given and it is clearly out of date.

by Billy S

2019年7月29日

The presentation and speaker

by Adriana R

2020年4月10日

Not the best for beginners