Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
6,255件の評価
1,625件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP

Jul 18, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 26 - 50 / 1,624 レビュー

by Peilin G

Feb 02, 2019

As a beginner, the course is easy to understand and follow, and the course teaches a lot of useful commands. However, I think the course still has a lot to imrove. Some codings in the lectures have problems (e.g. lack ','). When introducing new commands, the teacher did not show the running results of the coding example. I also think the course lacks some application in the real world. Maybe providing more real business cases will help students understand better about when some commands will be applied.

by Шайдуллин А

Aug 03, 2020

In general, the course is not bad, but there are a number of disadvantages, ranging from minor to serious omissions. I wanted to give the course 3 stars, but the last homework was quite fun and productive (you can put 4.5, according to the rules of mathematics, round to 5, but with a very large advance). The basic skills were acquired during the last assignment.

First, about the benefits of the course:

1+ In the course, you can practice on real data without using other software, it is really useful and productive;

2+ Theoretical aspects are more than enough;

3+ Theoretical tests correspond to the lecture materials.

Now to the disadvantages (there are still more of them), first to the serious ones:

1- There is a lot of so-called "Water", information that is completely unimportant and purely theoretical. Almost the entire first week was devoted to theory ("Why is this subject important? Separation of duties among employees, etc.). I think the course would have done well without these materials. Often, one fourth of the length of each video is an explanation of what we will be studying today. I think , the student wants to quickly learn important material for him.

2- The first 2 weeks of coding looks very good, easy to understand and solve for yourself. But something strange happened on week 3, the tasks became much more complicated, they did not correspond to the lecture materials, where theoretical material was mainly given. Week 4 has already been done normally. Probably, without prompts (sometimes direct), I could not have done these tasks. It was very difficult!

3- The course is rather short (only 4 weeks), little time is devoted to programming, there is not enough practice, maybe it was even worth adding a small invaluable practice after each video.

4- The lecturer tried to convey the idea that the usual repetition of programming steps may be ineffective. Unfortunately, today, nothing is better than "I copy after the lecturer, who explains something in parallel, and then independently practice it on real data." The lecturer's methodology was not the most effective; nevertheless, after completing the course, many questions remain.

Minor disadvantages:

- For the convenience of work, you can download the presentation of the lecture, but I think it is convenient for some students to print these lectures and work. Unfortunately, the design and background were chosen in a dark color, which is why the material after printing is inconvenient to read (-a lot of paint is wasted), it is rather difficult to correct it yourself.

- The material chosen for reading by the lecturer is slightly robotic, it is convenient to set at a speed of 1.25 or 1.5.

In any case, I was able to familiarize myself with this programming language, I was able to learn something. I think one day it will suit me. At the moment, I still prefer to work in Python and other programs. I was still able to get a certificate of completion of the course. Thanks for the course and thanks for your attention to this long comment! Hope it helps you get better! Good luck :)

by charles

May 25, 2020

It is a very introductory course on SQL. I have never learn any SQL before and I can catch everything she said. People might find it extremely easy, but in learning programming you must make sure all the basics are well known to you before using them in more complex situations.

by Ilia S

Jun 30, 2020

Excellent course in all basics of SQL.

Built-in sandbox is the most important plus of the course.

A lot of practice, a balanced number of lectures.

At the end of a good project that allows you to try out all the methods learned in the course.

Excellent.

by Ashley A M

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

by Mohamed A

Sep 29, 2019

The Course was quiet good & descriptive, yet it didn't cover a lot of SQL such as how to use its platforms and how to connect to database, also, the differences between other platforms.

by Gary L

May 03, 2018

This was an amazing course. I learned so much practical and application skills from the course. The lectures are great, as our the assignments and tests.

Thank you for a great time!

by Tanmay C

Jul 01, 2020

Great course with lots of things to learn about SQL. Assignments were pretty challenging and the instructor explained the concepts nicely. A fantastic course to start with SQL.

by Victoria T

Sep 16, 2019

Sadie St. Lawrence is a completely motivating person. Thank you, Sadie, for such an excellent combination of professional teaching and interesting tasks. Well-balanced course

by Maxine L

Dec 23, 2018

Very clear and useful class! The outline of each module is easy to understand and follow, and the assignment is helpful to strengthen SQL skills.

by DIVYA M

Jul 01, 2020

Even though i have learned SQL from many sources but this is a complete package, felt completed after completing this course.

by Richard C J I

Sep 29, 2019

I loved this class. It was the perfect introduction to SQL coding. It was easy to follow and I learned a ton. -Rick

by Megan H

Dec 21, 2018

So helpful! Really helped me learn SQL on a level that I am confident enough to add it to my resume.

by Manish R

Nov 30, 2018

Good course. The peer assignments was a bit challenging hence most interesting as well.

by UDHAYA P V

Apr 22, 2020

Comparing to other stuffs, this is really brilliant

by hridaya s

Jul 01, 2020

Very nicely communicated

by shubham

Jan 24, 2019

i want my money back

by Sandipan C

Nov 11, 2019

The course was pretty good for a beginner. The instructor was very clear and explained all the concepts in a very easy to grasp manner. However, the entire course could do with more coding exercises. Concepts such as joins, group, etc could be better understood if there were more exercises. Also, during the coding exercise (at the end of the week) it would be really helpful if correct answer and an explanation would have been provided. Having said that, its really good for beginners and I would and have recommended this to others.

by Chloe W

Oct 31, 2018

=) Very clear walkthrough of important concepts in SQL and why use certain functions for certain tasks.

=( Wish there were more practice questions so it's more interative.

=( Also it would be great if there are more "real-life" SQL practices that involve solving for an actual question that you might encounter as a data scientist working for a tech company.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us, Sadie!

by Alex H

Jul 01, 2020

Thought some of the intuitive thinking was a bit challenging, but really liked how the sqlite server was built into the course and didn't require any download or off-site work. Think some of the time estimates should be a bit longer, but overall good course.

by Prashanna G

Mar 05, 2020

Good course for anyone starting to learn SQL but the course needs more assignments to ensure that the learners have got a good understanding of the concepts. Also, the final project is a bit overwhelming to do without prior experience in SQL.

by Deepak G

Jul 01, 2020

A nice course for introduction with SQL but they could have used the software currently used in the industry like oracle's MySQL or SQL server.

by Rathindra M

Jul 01, 2020

Would have been better if there was a chapter on connecting to an sql server from an application or gui.

by Nikhil S

Jan 30, 2019

Great course with great learning and an opportunity to apply that learning

by Kunal S

Jul 19, 2020

Good for beginners