Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
9,278件の評価
2,425件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP
2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
2020年8月21日

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 76 - 100 / 2,413 レビュー

by Stephen C

2021年2月22日

I originally wrote this review about halfway through the course and gave it 2 stars, but I just got to the final project and am amending it to be 1 star. My reasoning for one star is as follows:

1) The instruction is often difficult to follow. The instructor will narrate with a snippet of code and a table or set of tables on the screen, but there won't be any visual aid to help follow along, as the slides are static. She also frequently stumbles over herself while reading from her teleprompter, so the combination of the static slides and her directionless cadence makes it very hard to keep track of what is going on.

2) The evaluations are split into two types, one of which is informational, one of which is coding. The questions of the former type very rarely reflect any sort of understanding and are more about rote regurgitation of information found on the (poorly formatted) slides. After taking a quiz or two, you come to realize that virtually any time a list is written on the screen, you had better write down every item on that list because there will be a "select all that apply" question at the end. Sometimes writing it all down doesn't even work, as she doesn't take care to make sure her headers and data match up. A parallel to the kinds of lists she often uses would be:

Types of Vegetables

1. Celery, 2. Cauliflower, 3. Vitamin C is good!, 4. Carrots, 5. Make sure to eat your vegetables!

The subject she is teaching revolves entirely around key-value pairs, and her slides don't reflect any sort of understanding of that relationship. If that table only accepted "vegetable" as a data type, she would get an error.

3) The coding evaluations, on the other hand, are extremely difficult as they extend the information well beyond what was taught in the preceding lecture, and almost no time is given to allow you to explore how the code works. The course thrusts you into a situation where you're writing code in a language with which you have almost no familiarity (and SQL has pretty poor error handling, and no custom error handling is written to help you understand where you went wrong). I strongly, strongly recommend Coursera learners take another class or use some other tool to learn SQL. I used a free instructional tool and felt so much more competent after 10 minutes of messing around on it than I did after watching an hour of lecture.

4) The material is often presented as her opinion rather than factual information that should be learned. I've taken a number of courses on Coursera, and they've been treated professionally, where information delivered was generally factual. If the professor wanted to inject opinion, it would be made clear it was opinion, and an evaluation may read, "Which of these may make x easier" or something like that. This instructor will phrase things like, "What did I say was the most important thing to know..." which just seems unprofessional. EDIT: Another example in response to a correct quiz answer was "You're not actually writing the query to the database or anything. What you're doing is you're just kind of storing it for the time being."

Look at that last sentence.

I could go on, but all in all, this course didn't even begin to resemble the level of professionalism or quality I've seen in other courses on Coursera. It reminds me of being peer taught during my education degree, full of teaching methods and lacking instructional skill. However, it's the only one that popped up as a beginner's course on SQL, so I finished it out. I regret doing so.

by Chank C

2020年8月11日

Could you please give at least ***ONE EXAMPLE*** for each function introduced in lecture videos???

At week 3 & 4, more complex functions/features were introduced with ***JUST CODES, NO SAMPLE OUTPUT***!? How do you expect me to know what the output would be?

You may say I could run the code and to it myself, I learn better that way. True, BUT it is the situation of "1-minute job for you, but 10-minute job for me". You are leveling up the bar of who can benefit from the course - this should not be the case for beginner level course!

by Rashid S S

2020年7月28日

The course was not easy to understand. Because the lessons were not sufficient enough to understand the questions in quiz and final exams. I think if all the things are described in a more elaborate fashion with a lot of examples it would be easy for the learners. Actually in this course I've to relay more on google and internet rather than my course lessons which was very disappointing. I personally think this course is not for a beginner student who really wants to learn about sql.

by Octavio I

2020年6月14日

The Course examples were very little. Demonstration of new commands while teaching them would've been very helpful. But, there were little to no examples related to the teaching materials. There were gaps in concepts that required further reading to understand. Some syntaxes were used before being taught.

by Victoria A

2020年7月14日

I can't pay for the course to get certificate. The free 7 days subscriptions never ends. So I can't send the tests to get results and get the certificate.. Lost a lot of time... Too bad

by Mark P

2018年1月3日

I'm fairly proficient in R and wanted to add a database language to my data science repertoire. Most data science jobs ask for SQL so I thought this was the perfect starting point for learning. I found learning the language fairly straightforward, especially because many SQL-type commands are built into R packages (like dplyr). My job has a comprehensive relational database but, I usually use a point and click interface to make queries- now that I'm more proficient I'll start using SQL though. Additionally, I was hoping to pick up SQL before starting my grad program in analytics so I can "hit the ground running" and be ready for classes focused on database management and data engineering. I was able to accomplish this without any question.

I really liked the course, which is not surprising given all of Coursera's data science content is excellent. The final assignment was very thorough and helped put together lots of focused questions you might encounter using SQL as a data scientist. It really helped solidify my learning. For about $60, this was a no brainer for getting started in the language.

by vijay k d

2020年1月4日

DO Slowly, Build up. This is a wonderful course and you will not know when you have learnt so many things. The instructor is wonderful she explains things nicely. The people who have designed the course must be working professionals because Of their depth of understanding of the subject and knowledge.

The most interesting thing about the course is you will learn a few things in a module then try your hands on. you don't even need a laptop to code because they have integrated everything on the Coursera's platform. I have watched most of the videos on my smart phone and submitted a few assignments too.

and the last part of the journey through this course for me is realization. You solve the questions given in the peer graded assignment specially part 2 and for a person who Has been listening the terms like PREDICTION, SENTIMENT ANALYSIS kind of stuff , Learning a few lines of codes in SQL from this course has actually let me do them.

Wonderful course Amazing team

Thanks Coursera

Thanks Sadie St Lawrence

by Katharina F

2019年10月24日

It was really helpful. As a beginner I really appreciated that it started right at the beginning. The videos were all easy to understand and well structured. I would recommend paying for this course to get the whole package because it really helped me to do the quizzes as well to practice. I found it helpful that it always consisted of a theoretical and a practical part.

The only negative thing was the very last assignment. It took me way longer than it said it would and I had problems understanding a few things around it. Looking through the comment section it seemed like I wasn't the only one. I think it would've been helpful to have another video or text before this to prepare better for this last assignment.

by Vakhilchuk O V

2020年8月2日

I took this course with basic knowledge of SQL, that is, I had experience in programming in the MySQL language. This course helped me understand more about databases and learn more about the structured query language operators used. I created a table with data for competently building queries, and therefore the code that was given in the lectures had to be adapted to my table. But you can download the Chinook Database in the public domain, as many examples are written for this data. The training is conducted in the SQLite language, but also tells about the features of other languages.

Have a nice course to everyone who wants to study it!

by Harshvardhan K

2020年10月25日

This is just one of those courses, everything about it screams professional. The slides are concise, and mostly provide all the content of the lecture itself, the instructor is great too. However the real gems of this course are the Exercises/Coding Assignments. Every question is varied, and at the end of the course, you will yourself learn a few neat tricks on Joining Tables, Grouping multiple data, and Complex Subqueries.

I would suggest to include a few more examples, for things like Self-Joins, Grouping, and Operations. Keep in mind, this is more of a beginner course, but it covers enough topics to dive into Analyses of your own!

by Maria C F

2020年11月7日

This is such an excellent beginner SQL course.If you are seeking hard challenge however, prepare to be disappointed. The course just teach queries in SQLite but does not go in depth regarding data types nor table creation. This is because this course only teaches the fundamental skills of data scientist - to query and analyze data, not create database.The quiz and assignments are actually very easy, but if you make it complicated then you will go down the rabbit hole. The course is supposed to be fun and motivates you to learn SQL.I highly recommend if you know nothing about SQL or Data Science! It's a really good intro course!

by Jacquewyn F C

2020年4月26日

It was a lot of learning - not as simplified as I initially anticipated. I learned so much, and the practice quizzes as well as graded ones provided a platform for efficient amount of practice. It leads you through a course while reshaping your mindset on technology and data, if you are a beginner, and very new at this.

As an ethnographic researcher from the tangible fields, shifting the qualitative thinking capacity trained from anthropology and ethnography enabled me to perceive, correctly, the difference of ethnography from the technology concepts, and adapt to a new mindset in behavioral data analysis.

by Wei O

2020年9月12日

Anyone with a passion in SQL can learn and comprehend this course. To excel in this course, the more you help to look at your peer's problems and resolve theirs, the more you learn on how to overcome yours faster. I think many students are a little lost when the ER diagram is not displayed in the intro for each of the video using it to teach. Overall, Professor Lawrence is awesome in her clear and easy to follow teaching. You will be challenged to think and resolve real-world project, be diligent in your own work and you'll feel your mind is growing!

by Anuj S C

2020年4月26日

Very engaging and active course. I liked how there were knowledge-based quizzes and quizzes that we had to utilize coding to complete as well. The peer-reviewed project at the end took considerably longer than I anticipated and was more difficult than I anticipated, however, I think this exercise was important for real-world learning to occur. Having this project peer-reviewed (and reviewing others) was instrumental in learning as well. The diverse set of learning and grading in this course has been excellent.

by Charae B

2020年4月24日

This course was really great. I enjoyed it and the lectures were detailed and right to the point. The example code in the lectures was extremely helpful, but the assignments still left room for critical thinking and creativity when writing code. If you are looking to learn SQL for the first time, and you already have some programming background, this will be a quick course for you. If you haven't programmed before, you may find this a little more challenging, especially the Peer Review Assignment.

by Nina L A

2019年12月27日

I took this course without having any background in programming; I had never written a single line of code. This course is fantastic for beginners like me who saw the power of SQL and the potential of SQL to solve current business needs. Completing this course has empowered me to take more computer science classes; I now KNOW that learning a programming language is not impossible, and when one understands the principles and power of SQL, an entire new window of caree

by Zenia B

2018年7月26日

I really enjoyed this class! The instructor broke everything down in a way that made it easy understand and fun to learn. I also thought the exercises were also very helpful in making the material easy to learn the material we had just reviewed. I looked forward to completing my course every week! Thank you for making this class so enjoyable! If this instructor is teaching another course that's relevant to Data Science, I'll absolutely be taking that course!

by Reuben Y J J

2018年10月4日

Simple and straightforward introduction to SQL for business-oriented/frontend-facing end users (data analysts, data scientists). Very good as a refresher for those, like myself, who have been exposed to SQL in the past but did not have much opportunity to use it. Instructor covers the course material without overloading with technical jargon, and mentions best practices, which some courses lack (material addresses the 'how', not necessarily the 'why').

by Elizaveta P

2018年11月15日

I'm so satisfied with this course! Good structure, a lot of practical tasks and examples. In parallel, I solve hackerrank tasks and this course gave me everything to pass it easy.

Really appreciate final peer-review assingment, it looks close to real-life analytics and was a little bit challenging for me. But I had so much pleasure done it)

So strange pronunciation of SQL)) But I thank you a lot for this course and sharing your knowledge.

by Lara B

2021年4月5日

Before this course I had no knowledge in SQL, neither any other programming language really. This course quickly got me acquainted with what SQL is, what it can be used for and how to use it. The videos, presentation slides and transcript were very useful. And the combination of theory and practice examples helped with a effective and efficient learning process. I recommend this course to anyone getting started with SQL.

by ARNOGIANNAKIS A

2020年9月27日

Great introductory course. My only complaint is that the lecture has a level of difficulty 1 out of 5 and the practise quizzes are 4-5, so upon reaching the quizzes of the week, personally I would get discouraged but after some grinding, I would solve them and feel confident about my understanding on SQL. But, I wish there would be some bridging between the lectures and quizzes and some tutorial for sqlite environment.

by Joshua P

2020年7月3日

Being a beginner it was worthwhile to learn things and this course I think was designed in a way that can be understand my even a laymen. If you can spend a little more time learning concepts and practicing only then will you be able to have a clear understanding which helps build a lot of confidence.

This is my experience and if it happened to me I'm sure you will also experience the same.

All the best! God Speed Guys!

by SATHISH S

2020年10月9日

fantastic course, perfect for beginners, gained a lot of confidence to go into SQL and DATA SCIENCE. though sometime feeling lost during weekly assignments and final assignment (which is just awesome), the tip is stick to lectures and solving quiz in the way she told - think about your problem, build slowly, check results intermittently while writing your complete query... they all help you. thank you instructor.

by Chelsea H

2020年5月25日

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The instruction was slow and light enough to understand. The instructor did not present the material as overcomplicated, even if it was complicated. I really liked the additional links, and the intermittent quizzes.The modules and quizzes were instrumental in my learning because they gave me hands on practice. I look forward to continuing my learning. Thank you so much!

by PhoebeNgg

2019年11月19日

This course is perfect for my level as a beginner. However, the real study time is more than 20hrs as it was supposed to be. To learn deeply and actually understand the content, there should be some effort to self-learn and practice the concept. It is useless if just watch the video and click multiple choices, you must go around on the Internet, read more materials, create your own example and practice the code.