Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
12,757件の評価
3,284件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 151 - 175 / 3,367 レビュー

by Manjula K

2021年2月21日

An extremely comprehensive and well-structured course. Sadie St. Lawrence is an amazing instructor and articulates the course content in an effective manner. I do not possess a background in coding but this course helped me build my fundamentals in data science. Truly grateful to UC Davis, Sadie, and everyone involved in helping create such a great course. Thank you!

by Edgardo M

2020年5月25日

This really is a great place to start if you have no idea what you're doing. I did find it helpful to supplement this course with other materials (e.g., youtube videos), but that's to be expected and is even addressed by the prof. The coding practice is great, but you never practice creating tables for some reason, though not a huge deal. Very happy with the course!

by Amr F K

2021年1月23日

The course is really great. It gives a general introduction to SQL and it goes beyond this to deeper issues. All the assignments and projects are from real data which helps a lot to give an idea about what you will face in real life. I think by finishing this course and solving all the assignments and projects you will be ready to use SQL in real life applications.

by Zainab S

2021年5月7日

A beneficial course designed for beginners who want to learn SQL for data manipulation and analysis. The course content is well developed, and the assignments, especially the final YELP dataset task, prepare you well to apply your fresh learnings. I would highly recommend this course to anyone passionate about learning SQL, even if you have no previous background.

by Tan A

2019年7月25日

Great course. Accessible for a beginner but also had enough difficulty to make it challenging/useful. My only suggestion is having query results in the videos somehow. That will make the queries make a lot more sense and the overall content can be more digestible. Other than that, I recommend the course to anyone wanting to learn or strengthen some skills.

by Ritvik G

2020年7月21日

This course really helped me to understand basics of SQL and tech how to write SQL queries. Sadie St. Lawrence taught this course from basics covering each and every topic . Though I felt that the questions in the quizzes were a bit easy and could be made a little harder to give a more hands on experience.

Thank you Sadie St. Lawrence for this useful course.

by Meghraj P

2020年6月1日

The course starts with basics and gets you to the intermediate level of knowledge in SQL. The teaching method and the intermittent quizzes as well as hands-on coding assignments ensure that you thoroughly understand the course contents. I would recommend this for those who want to have basic to intermediate knowledge in SQL primarily for querying databases.

by Shuvmay C

2018年9月30日

Learning this has been fun, specifically the way this course is designed and the platform available for coding is very user friendly and easy to understand. The team has done a wonderful job in explaining the key concepts, special thanks to the instructor. Also the quizzes and coding questions are so designed that it helps you understand the basic concepts.

by Reza S

2020年7月23日

The course is quite comprehensive and understandable. Although the lecturer explains in a very slow fashion, it doesn't really bother me since we can speed up to 1.5x. I really like the final project that we have to solve but there are a few things to be improved: It's better to make a system that we can write queries directly while listening to the video.

by Tina W

2020年12月31日

I really like the instructor Sadie. She introduce all concept but on an entry level basis, which makes this course situatable for new learners. After watch her 4 weeks videos and completed the practices, I also searched for more practices online such as W3school. I feel I am very comfortable to use some simple SQL command to pull out datasets at work now.

by Faith R

2018年7月6日

I enjoyed this course and really learned a lot. I loved being able to go at my own pace and start the course over if my schedule was too busy. You can do practice quizzes as many times as you want and you are given opportunities with extra time to redo your quizzes. This format gives you a great opportunity to learn and at your own pace which was awesome.

by Artem B

2021年11月11日

This course is an absolute hands-on class! All theory is based on practice and real examples, which makes it is easy to understand and immediately imagine the situations, where you would use the described "method". Definetly I would reccomend this course for the people who are new to this theme, but wants to explore the world of SQL precisely! Take care!

by Dhruv

2020年6月9日

This course has an amazing structure. It allows and highly encourages to think like a professional and provides resources that allowed me not only to pass the course but will also be relevant when I move ahead in this skill and career path. The assignments are also very well designed. Passing the final assignment gives a lot of confidence in the subject.

by Rafael T M

2020年3月1日

Muy buen curso para empezar a tocar SQL. Tanto las pruebas intermedias como la final te ponen contra las cuerdas y te obliga a utilizar casi todo lo aprendido. Si no has programado nunca o empezaste y lo dejaste te aconsejo tener algo de paciencia para completarlo. Entender cada video y cada paso que das. Sin lugar a dudas escogeré el siguiente curso.

by Sadya S

2020年5月8日

The concepts in this course are explained very well and are very descriptive. They are taught step by step and she also gives an explanation as to why we use these concepts and why theyre important. I was able to delve deeper into SQL and was able to acquire the basics in order to solve real life SQL problems. She is one of my favourite instructors!

by Panumate C

2020年12月10日

Good points: Provide the knowledge from zero, Always clarify the learning objectives, Good assignments and grading system, and Final assignment with peer-reviewed system is cool!

Weak points: The number of examples is not enough, Should have a pointer on the screen to make the learner understand more easily

Overall, Impressive!

Thank you very much

by Kanak K

2020年11月6日

Great course for anyone who wishes to understand how SQL works with relevance to data science. This course will set you up for advanced data mining using SQL. The topics covered in this course are sufficient for understanding a proper working of SQL. Other than that , you will have to practice to get good at it.

But overall great course. Kudos.

by Rainer K

2019年10月30日

Even though this course is aimed at beginners, the assignments encourages a person to do some additional research. This simulates how a person should continually research and explore to enhance one's knowledge and experience. The final peer graded assignment was fun. Make sure you allow enough time to spend on it and you will reap the rewards.

by Antony L

2018年7月25日

Really great introductory course to SQL. I highly recommend taking this course for those who have little to no experience with SQL. All of the course work and material was easy to comprehend and very digestible. In addition, the quizzes and assignments were great supplemental exercises to reinforce the concepts that were taught in the course.

by Muhammad B J

2020年9月7日

Today in the morning at 7:00AM EDT I was so happy that I can't imagine, Sadie made me positive and passionate in my career. Because of her, I can now achieve my dream to become a data scientist and learn more and do good in life. Hopefull! This is the best course of SQL hands down! I failed many interviews but now I am sure I will pass it.

by Dalya B

2020年7月12日

I really enjoyed the course as per the content and the review questions at the end of each week! I have learnt a lot to build on and can't wait to practice SQL and use it in my work. I totally recommend it to anyone who needs flexible hours to learn how to deals with big data and to learn how to retrieve and be tidy with the data in hand.

by Mahmoud H

2021年4月7日

One of my favorite courses on SQL so far. I would definitely recommend it for beginners as well as those who want to brush and broaden their knowledge in databases and query optimization. The instructor is highly knowledgeable and very well articulated. I have enjoyed the course so much because of the clear presentations and explanations.

by Tang E

2019年7月18日

The course is simple and clear for a beginner. The slides,video and notes are helpful and it guides me slowly to understand different SQL syntax and its applications. The quiz and assignment are really good platform to practice all the knowledge i learnt from those 4 courses. Lovely! Highly recommend to others who never learn SQL before.

by Joe G

2022年5月1日

Some of the beginning is a little too easy. The last assignment of week 4 was much more time consuing than anything else - expect to take 5+ hours if you're going to do a fantastic job. You could probably rush through it in less than 2 hours but as a peer grader, I could tell who rushed through, and who took time to do a fantastic job.

by Lucia L

2022年1月13日

The course provides a lot of useful material and additional resources. The lessons are clear and interesting and help the students stay on track and keep learning. With a considerable amount of time practicing what I've learned during lessons, I think I have understood the underlying principles of SQL which I can use in the future.