Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
12,771件の評価
3,288件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 3276 - 3300 / 3,368 レビュー

by Deleted A

2020年5月13日

I wish that the instructor used examples that mirrored the type of questions in the coding exams. We did not cover all the material in the coding exam.

by Darren R

2019年9月27日

The structure and guidance provided on the final assignment was very poor, resulting in far more time required to complete than expected.

by Riccardo B

2020年3月27日

too much theory, I needed something more 'pratical' that allowed me to start using and write code and not see a lot of slide with code

by SARTHAK S

2020年10月27日

1.Very basic course.

2. Assignments level does not match with training level.

3. Need to provide class which includes query writing.

by Carolina E

2019年6月24日

The teacher was not readily available to answer questions. The course was alright but I do not feel prepared to use my skills yet.

by Mathias M

2020年3月19日

Very slow and badly organised start of the course with no to very little practice of how to use SQLite before the coding quiz.

by Seidler C

2021年4月28日

The first exercises are still ok. But the final exam is really a mess. The questions are not as precise as they should be.

by Yash K

2020年8月5日

Too much talking in videos with less examples. The exercises were vague and not enough information was given to solve them

by Bill P

2020年12月1日

The videos had the wrong emphasis, and were far too long.

More time should have been devoted to the exercises/quizzes.

by Christos A

2020年4月23日

Not satisfied. There are better MOOCs for SQL/Data Science out there. I wouldn't recommend it for a SQL beginner.

by Terrela P

2021年9月15日

G​reat information, however, the site that host the datebase for the quizes is outdated and no longer supported.

by Bram M

2021年3月9日

The course is good in itself, but answers circulate on the internet, making the certificate not very meaningful.

by Naomy A

2019年12月16日

there is a lot of questions about how the questions were asked, i highly recommend you do see the discussions

by Neeli K

2020年3月3日

Not enough examples were shared.

Certain concepts were explained without telling their underlying basics.

by Eslam R M A

2018年11月3日

There are few examples about every lesson, and may not have examples for some lessons

by Kerry-Ann K

2022年5月13日

Not information was given and it is clearly out of date.

by Billy S

2019年7月29日

The presentation and speaker

by Adriana R

2020年4月10日

Not the best for beginners

by Inês M D C

2020年4月22日

Didn't like the teacher.

by Ahmed E

2020年12月17日

Not enough Examples

by qizhou c

2020年2月21日

Too hard

by Brian M

2021年5月25日

Average

by Raymond Z

2022年6月13日

T​here are so many issues with this course. The lectures, while generally clear, are obviously read from a teleprompter, with no slides or real exercises provided. They lack a lot of substance and examples to fully illustrate the content, and have no interactive components. The instructor is clearly extremely capable and knowledgeable, but is unable to convey any of that information due to the structure of the lectures.

The assignments meanwhile are way too difficult compared to the lecture material and severely lacking in feedback, explanation, or clarity. Half of the questions either have blatant errors, confusing wording, or requirements impossible for SQLite. Maybe this was partially my error, but it's not like the course was very helpful. In one of the lectures, on using DATE, the example in the lecture is formatted incorrectly, leading to a lot of trouble when doing the Quiz.

S​ome questions will ask you about "correlation" or "predicting", which is fine and all, except for the part where SQLite doesn't support many of the fuctions neccessary for such analysis.

I​ cannot recommend anyone take this course. There are maybe 4 hours of actual content in the entire course (including quizzes and assingments), except it'll take you significantly longer to complete as you sit there confused by the questions. Yes, you'll learn something, but you also could've done the same with a free tutorial somewhere else.

The forums are filled with people confused by the formatting, phrasing, or structure of assessments. Meanwhile, no effort is made by the instructors or UC Davis to correct the many issues here nor answer any of these posts. It's frankly an embarassment for a school like UC Davis to be putting out such low-quality content, even if it is from their extension program.

by Heiko K

2020年2月25日

The course is overall very high in quality and I found it really useful. The teacher explains the concepts really well and the exercises are very good. I really found joy doing the final course assignment. However, I feel that I got tricked into paying one more month of subscription, seconds after I paid for another month, I did receive the course certificate. I submitted the peer graded assignment one week ago. My plan was to continue with the other courses in this specialisation but after my experience with this subscription/payment philosophy, I will not discontinue and look for other online platforms with a better customer experience for me. Thank you nonetheless for the high quality of this course, I am certain many learners find the material extremely helpful, as did I.

by christian s

2022年4月12日

This is not a beginner course, it is very high level with little time or explanations spent on each topic. The quizes expect syntax that has not been gone over in order to correctly answer the questions. I received better explantions for what was needed from W3school brief high level explanaton then I did this ocurse.

The instructor tends to stumble over her words alot which causes confusion and the examples within the presentation are not really clear as they arent based off real world, just table 1 table 2 etc.

I debated if I should review or not as I wonder also is this just not witin my leanring style, but reallized in a course of this type it should fit a variety learning styles as the Google courses do.