Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
13,056件の評価

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 3301 - 3325 / 3,462 レビュー

by Phillipe S S R

2018年1月3日

Quiz and graded materials not available for free.

by Hari G

2019年12月11日

Too much theory and very little or no practice

by Deleted A

2021年7月5日

The course is basically theoretical.

by dager6

2018年5月4日

Good general basic introductions.

by Tong Z

2021年12月26日

do not like the peer review part

by Gaoge Z

2021年1月4日

Could show results in demos.

by Fabian M

2021年3月16日

Too little practice

by William J G

2022年6月4日

good but dated

by Renuka G

2019年12月20日

good one

by 318126512050 S R B

2021年6月21日

good

by Carl D A

2020年8月13日

good

by Krishna G

2020年6月10日

good

by Chen G

2019年2月15日

Soso

by Gergely H

2021年7月30日

Y

by renas c

2021年3月12日

.

by Manas d

2020年9月19日

.

by Ben T

2021年12月12日

Really bad. I'm trying to be fair here, and I understand that there are reasons the instructors made some choices that they did, however:

-You can't teach a course designed for absolute beginners and not help us install a chosen software and explain the interface. I felt SO LOST trying to download SQLite on my own, and then find out the instructor chose to teach a software with NO USER INTERFACE from the download. Why would anyone chose SQLite as the software FOR A COMPLETE BEGINNER: I have no idea. I ended up using a different course (see below) and used MySQL as my software (free, great user interface, not so intimidating for a beginner.

-I can't stress this enough: THIS IS A THEORETICAL COURSE. There is no videos in which the instructor has an SQL software open and you code along with them. IF THAT'S WHAT YOU WANT go to "Programming with Mosh." The way that this course works is, she just talks about SQL: you never are given a database from which to query / retrieve / test your programming. Like, how is this even a course if you're not at least providing some sample data to work with?

I'm really disappointed in Coursera: I've completed two specializations here already, really enjoyed each and had no desire to leave the website, but after this I'm going to be much more careful and looking at other websites like Udemy.

by Leonard L

2022年4月18日

While this course does help to equip learners with basic knowledge of SQL, the overall implementation and conduction of the course materials leave a lot to be desired. First off, the videos are very dry and un-engaging, making it difficult to focus on key points within each lesson. Also, I am very surprised that there is no coding exercise after each video lesson to reinforce the topics touched on considering that this is a course for a programming language. Instead, all coding exercises are done within the graded quiz at the end of each Week course, which by the time you get to, you might have forgotten materials previously touched on.

Another point is the lack of establishing good formatting practices early on for learners (it only comes around halfway through the course and is only very superficially touched on). This is demonstrated through the course materials where I do notice inconsistencies within the coding formats presented. I think this is a very important point that a programming langugage course should have to develop good formatting behaviours and improve code readability overall.

by Ryan B

2022年4月22日

The start of this course was farily decent, with a basic overview of data science and how it related to the use of SQL. However, I became extremely frustrated at the lack of user driven qury examples and the sheer volume of information presented without clear examples of use in actual SQL writings. There were multiple times, especially during week 2 and 3, where I felt overwhelmed with the information presented in the lectures because it was just a hose of data with no applications. Having the only use driven activites being a very simple practice quize and then graded assessments made learning the data a chore. Additionaly, the way the information was presented in those lectures post-week 1 was often confusing and overly complicated compared to other SQL training systems.

by Eric R

2021年5月21日

Weeks 1 - 3 contained good information and had good problem sets. Week 4 totally drops the ball. The lectures do not fully flesh out the many uses of datetimes, cases or views. The problem sets for week 4 should be much more extensive to practice these concepts. The lectures on sql for Data Science are fluff - no skills are included; and then the student is expected to perform these skills in the peer reviewed assignment. The peer review assignment has several poorly specified questions. Overall the lectures could be improved by showing the ER diagrams for the tables the lecturer is referring to rather than only showing a query. Many lectures should be reshot where the lecturer misspeaks/does not complete her thought, or where she burps while speaking.

by Jennifer S

2019年7月17日

These lectures seem incomplete. For several sections, I had to Google more information to understand the lecture topic.

This course is listed as a beginner level course with no prerequisite, but throughout the lessons I felt like I was missing some key basic information. The course recommendation is 20 hours, 3-5 hours a week. The first week fell into that parameter, but after that the hours required increased each week, with the last week being about twelve hours including the final project.

Ideally, this course considers adding in more complete explanations for the examples in the lectures (including outputs), more practice coding, and more depth on exploring data and making inferences from your queries.

by Marc B

2021年6月9日

Check out the 1 star reviews, i agree with most that's said there. I still learned a lot in that course though mostly from Stackoverflow trying to answer the assignments. Problems are: the final course assignment is a mess to do and to correct, many questions are ambiguous and this class doesn't prepare for it. More than half the peers i reviewed were plagiarizing. This really shows the limits of Peer-Reviewing, more supervision needed. Finally the SQLite used for the course is 9 years old, as i discovered some functions were absent or not working. This course is due for a big update, on content (show outputs and better quizzes), SQLite version, and refreshed quizzes and assignments.

by Matthew C

2022年7月30日

Not great-instructor stumbled through some parts of lectures and, while it's not a huge issue it made it a bit more difficult to follow. Quizzes seem to have been written by a different person (or in a different syntax) than the lectures making them frustrating to complete. The final project was far and away from the information given in the lectures and was really intimidating, especially without in-person help.

Basically the best thing about this course is that it's so disjointed and confusing you'll have to do a bunch of extra research to pass. Which, as my programmer friends tell me is something they do often at their job so I guess it kind of sets you up for the workplace?

by Faheem I

2020年11月5日

Would not recommend. There's no real teaching, the instructor is just reading off of slides with little to no explanation. The slides are confusing, don't provide outputs to the codes that they're showing and many times have errors on them. The course including the quizzes forces you to do most of the work, and I mean that in a bad way. The videos are incredibly lazy and very little explanation is provided for some key points considering this is a beginner's course.

The only good thing I found was that it provided some structure to what I should study. I ended up studying mostly from tutorial websites. I would suggest you look for some other courses if you want to start SQL.