Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
9,837件の評価
2,551件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP
2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
2020年8月21日

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 26 - 50 / 2,542 レビュー

by Rita N

2020年6月14日

Better than I hoped for. I learned everything I needed in order to feel competent in the basics of SQL. It was just the right amount of instruction and challenge, perfect for a beginner like me.

by Felipe F

2021年1月13日

This course most definitely needs a revamp and an update on videos, content, exercises as well as more clearly stating what is expected from students. Honestly, I don't think the true grading is a one star, it would probably be between 2.5 and 3, but I believe that at this point if we don't give a terrible rating back, neither Coursera nor UC Davis and the faculty/staff serving this course will take action to improve it. There is a lot to be criticized/updated.

I strongly recommend you read other reviews, going back to as long as 2 to 3 years in the past where these flaws are clearly outlined and appointed by former students, and yet in Jan 2021 they are all still there. In summary:

-videos are of hardly any help. The instructor (clearly a knowledgeable person) is hindered by having to read from a teleprompter. The text given to her is not what she would've said spontaneously, so more often that not we see her get caught between what she is thinking versus what she is reading to speak, and this causes confusion during explanation of some hard to grasp moments.

-slides are static and don't provide any significant help in making the hard content really easier to understand. In a course aiming at teaching a code language, we need dynamic video content, seeing the queries being written and the resulting output, and a demonstration of how a change in parameters results in a change of the output.

-the sandbox environment for practice is extremely limited and gets in the way of allowing naive students to really understand some of the dat structure in the background.

-the gap between theory and practice is gigantic, and the code assignments at the end of each module are light years away from what was taught. This is particularly painful with the last peer reviewed assignment, which would require at least one additional full week of time after the end of the 4 modules to give students a chance to understand the data, work with it and craft their answers.

If you take this course, you will end up learning useful SQL content, but this will be at the cost of several additional hours spent googling results and support everywhere on the web. If googling was going to be our primary source of learning anyway, then what is the point of having the course in the first place? People enroll in course because they expect that the instructor, lessons and exercises will steer and help them through the initial learning before they are ready to move on their own, and this is exactly where this course fails. I came to the course already knowing other programming languages and with a good database and data background, so I could "brute force my way through googling", but I can only imagine what other less prepared students could feel. Your money is probably best spent elsewhere if you want to learn SQL (or even no money at all in some good websites on the net).

by Mugdha h

2020年6月27日

This is such an important course yet there is no adequate room for practice. The lectures are pretty straight forward with very minimal examples. The quizzes are like diving into the lake learning how to swim from YouTube. Just like showing us in the class that two plus two is four then asking us to calculate the mass of the sun in the exam. What is the point of doing the course and learn most of the materials and get fluent from numerous other sites by myself? This course needs immense improvements. It did waste a lot of time for me given I have done numerous courses on this platform. I would suggest the other learners to refrain from enrolling in this course until University of California, Davis makes necessary amendments for this course with proper guidance and materials. Even if you do get enrolled, learn how to swim from YouTube and practice swimming on the floor beforehand. Best of luck.

by Sergiu S

2019年1月12日

The Content of the course is good, quizzes are fine, but the final project is a total mess up, inconsistent and don't contain the course potential, so you won't be able to apply the knowledge by doing it

by Peilin G

2019年2月2日

As a beginner, the course is easy to understand and follow, and the course teaches a lot of useful commands. However, I think the course still has a lot to imrove. Some codings in the lectures have problems (e.g. lack ','). When introducing new commands, the teacher did not show the running results of the coding example. I also think the course lacks some application in the real world. Maybe providing more real business cases will help students understand better about when some commands will be applied.

by Alfred S

2020年6月29日

Some of the quizzes do not make sense and I have to select something that is wrong to pass. It is really hard to follow sometimes and the content of the video mostly does not relate to the content of the tests. I had to google most stuff that came up in the videos, many quotes from w3 school (another provider of programming courses).

I choose to pay for courses on coursera so that I do not have to read through tons of free material online or get quoted content that is for free on other learning platforms. This course taught me some neat things but mostly wasted my time.

by Rohan G L

2020年7月22日

I finished the first course in the series, however it quickly became apparent in the second course that the instructors are unprepared and the assignments are thrown together without student learning as a priority.

If you want to learn SQL or Database systems, I highly suggest taking "Modern Big Data Analysis with SQL" from the CLOUDERA team and "Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence" from the U Colorado team.

Both of those course paths are much more informative, structured, and up to date. You are wasting your time if you choose this path.

by Casey S

2020年9月18日

The final project assignment is a bit of a mess. Some of the questions are very unclear, and the database provided is incomplete in ways that make it hard to address some of the questions. I also found the lecture format and materials frustrating. I learn much better by reading and by being able to go back and reference materials, but that really isn't possible in this course -- the doesn't contain any of the actual code examples and is often really vague.

by Javier G

2020年8月18日

Hola, no es tan bueno que no puedas correr código mientras aprendes con ejemplos.

by Stephen C

2021年2月22日

I originally wrote this review about halfway through the course and gave it 2 stars, but I just got to the final project and am amending it to be 1 star. My reasoning for one star is as follows:

1) The instruction is often difficult to follow. The instructor will narrate with a snippet of code and a table or set of tables on the screen, but there won't be any visual aid to help follow along, as the slides are static. She also frequently stumbles over herself while reading from her teleprompter, so the combination of the static slides and her directionless cadence makes it very hard to keep track of what is going on.

2) The evaluations are split into two types, one of which is informational, one of which is coding. The questions of the former type very rarely reflect any sort of understanding and are more about rote regurgitation of information found on the (poorly formatted) slides. After taking a quiz or two, you come to realize that virtually any time a list is written on the screen, you had better write down every item on that list because there will be a "select all that apply" question at the end. Sometimes writing it all down doesn't even work, as she doesn't take care to make sure her headers and data match up. A parallel to the kinds of lists she often uses would be:

Types of Vegetables

1. Celery, 2. Cauliflower, 3. Vitamin C is good!, 4. Carrots, 5. Make sure to eat your vegetables!

The subject she is teaching revolves entirely around key-value pairs, and her slides don't reflect any sort of understanding of that relationship. If that table only accepted "vegetable" as a data type, she would get an error.

3) The coding evaluations, on the other hand, are extremely difficult as they extend the information well beyond what was taught in the preceding lecture, and almost no time is given to allow you to explore how the code works. The course thrusts you into a situation where you're writing code in a language with which you have almost no familiarity (and SQL has pretty poor error handling, and no custom error handling is written to help you understand where you went wrong). I strongly, strongly recommend Coursera learners take another class or use some other tool to learn SQL. I used a free instructional tool and felt so much more competent after 10 minutes of messing around on it than I did after watching an hour of lecture.

4) The material is often presented as her opinion rather than factual information that should be learned. I've taken a number of courses on Coursera, and they've been treated professionally, where information delivered was generally factual. If the professor wanted to inject opinion, it would be made clear it was opinion, and an evaluation may read, "Which of these may make x easier" or something like that. This instructor will phrase things like, "What did I say was the most important thing to know..." which just seems unprofessional. EDIT: Another example in response to a correct quiz answer was "You're not actually writing the query to the database or anything. What you're doing is you're just kind of storing it for the time being."

Look at that last sentence.

I could go on, but all in all, this course didn't even begin to resemble the level of professionalism or quality I've seen in other courses on Coursera. It reminds me of being peer taught during my education degree, full of teaching methods and lacking instructional skill. However, it's the only one that popped up as a beginner's course on SQL, so I finished it out. I regret doing so.

by Kate W

2020年6月12日

Fortunately, this was not my first introduction to SQL, or I would have been unable to complete the final assignment, or even some of the modular quizzes. There is almost no hands-on learning, just talking head videos where the instructor doesn't even show you the actual coding syntax for many of the examples. Nothing builds or is linked together conceptually. And the SQLite interface is very limited, so when it comes to the over-complicated final assignment you have to perform coding backflips to get anything meaningful out of the appalling dataset. I cannot recommend this course to anyone.

by Chank C

2020年8月11日

Could you please give at least ***ONE EXAMPLE*** for each function introduced in lecture videos???

At week 3 & 4, more complex functions/features were introduced with ***JUST CODES, NO SAMPLE OUTPUT***!? How do you expect me to know what the output would be?

You may say I could run the code and to it myself, I learn better that way. True, BUT it is the situation of "1-minute job for you, but 10-minute job for me". You are leveling up the bar of who can benefit from the course - this should not be the case for beginner level course!

by Treston W

2020年6月16日

This course is incredibly poorly designed and does not provide sufficient guidance to learn SQL.

by Rajnish K J

2020年7月5日

Most of the command line does not work.

by Шайдуллин А

2020年8月3日

In general, the course is not bad, but there are a number of disadvantages, ranging from minor to serious omissions. I wanted to give the course 3 stars, but the last homework was quite fun and productive (you can put 4.5, according to the rules of mathematics, round to 5, but with a very large advance). The basic skills were acquired during the last assignment.

First, about the benefits of the course:

1+ In the course, you can practice on real data without using other software, it is really useful and productive;

2+ Theoretical aspects are more than enough;

3+ Theoretical tests correspond to the lecture materials.

Now to the disadvantages (there are still more of them), first to the serious ones:

1- There is a lot of so-called "Water", information that is completely unimportant and purely theoretical. Almost the entire first week was devoted to theory ("Why is this subject important? Separation of duties among employees, etc.). I think the course would have done well without these materials. Often, one fourth of the length of each video is an explanation of what we will be studying today. I think , the student wants to quickly learn important material for him.

2- The first 2 weeks of coding looks very good, easy to understand and solve for yourself. But something strange happened on week 3, the tasks became much more complicated, they did not correspond to the lecture materials, where theoretical material was mainly given. Week 4 has already been done normally. Probably, without prompts (sometimes direct), I could not have done these tasks. It was very difficult!

3- The course is rather short (only 4 weeks), little time is devoted to programming, there is not enough practice, maybe it was even worth adding a small invaluable practice after each video.

4- The lecturer tried to convey the idea that the usual repetition of programming steps may be ineffective. Unfortunately, today, nothing is better than "I copy after the lecturer, who explains something in parallel, and then independently practice it on real data." The lecturer's methodology was not the most effective; nevertheless, after completing the course, many questions remain.

Minor disadvantages:

- For the convenience of work, you can download the presentation of the lecture, but I think it is convenient for some students to print these lectures and work. Unfortunately, the design and background were chosen in a dark color, which is why the material after printing is inconvenient to read (-a lot of paint is wasted), it is rather difficult to correct it yourself.

- The material chosen for reading by the lecturer is slightly robotic, it is convenient to set at a speed of 1.25 or 1.5.

In any case, I was able to familiarize myself with this programming language, I was able to learn something. I think one day it will suit me. At the moment, I still prefer to work in Python and other programs. I was still able to get a certificate of completion of the course. Thanks for the course and thanks for your attention to this long comment! Hope it helps you get better! Good luck :)

by charles

2020年5月24日

It is a very introductory course on SQL. I have never learn any SQL before and I can catch everything she said. People might find it extremely easy, but in learning programming you must make sure all the basics are well known to you before using them in more complex situations.

by Ilia S

2020年6月30日

Excellent course in all basics of SQL.

Built-in sandbox is the most important plus of the course.

A lot of practice, a balanced number of lectures.

At the end of a good project that allows you to try out all the methods learned in the course.

Excellent.

by MONOJIT P

2020年7月18日

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

by Alois T

2020年11月18日

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

by Ashley A M

2019年6月8日

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

by Mohamed A

2019年9月29日

The Course was quiet good & descriptive, yet it didn't cover a lot of SQL such as how to use its platforms and how to connect to database, also, the differences between other platforms.

by Gary L

2018年5月3日

This was an amazing course. I learned so much practical and application skills from the course. The lectures are great, as our the assignments and tests.

Thank you for a great time!

by Tanmay C

2020年7月1日

Great course with lots of things to learn about SQL. Assignments were pretty challenging and the instructor explained the concepts nicely. A fantastic course to start with SQL.

by Victoria T

2019年9月16日

Sadie St. Lawrence is a completely motivating person. Thank you, Sadie, for such an excellent combination of professional teaching and interesting tasks. Well-balanced course

by Maxine L

2018年12月22日

Very clear and useful class! The outline of each module is easy to understand and follow, and the assignment is helpful to strengthen SQL skills.