Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
7,070件の評価
1,837件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP

Jul 18, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 76 - 100 / 1,828 レビュー

by Katharina F

Oct 24, 2019

It was really helpful. As a beginner I really appreciated that it started right at the beginning. The videos were all easy to understand and well structured. I would recommend paying for this course to get the whole package because it really helped me to do the quizzes as well to practice. I found it helpful that it always consisted of a theoretical and a practical part.

The only negative thing was the very last assignment. It took me way longer than it said it would and I had problems understanding a few things around it. Looking through the comment section it seemed like I wasn't the only one. I think it would've been helpful to have another video or text before this to prepare better for this last assignment.

by Vakhilchuk O V

Aug 02, 2020

I took this course with basic knowledge of SQL, that is, I had experience in programming in the MySQL language. This course helped me understand more about databases and learn more about the structured query language operators used. I created a table with data for competently building queries, and therefore the code that was given in the lectures had to be adapted to my table. But you can download the Chinook Database in the public domain, as many examples are written for this data. The training is conducted in the SQLite language, but also tells about the features of other languages.

Have a nice course to everyone who wants to study it!

by Jacquewyn F C

Apr 26, 2020

It was a lot of learning - not as simplified as I initially anticipated. I learned so much, and the practice quizzes as well as graded ones provided a platform for efficient amount of practice. It leads you through a course while reshaping your mindset on technology and data, if you are a beginner, and very new at this.

As an ethnographic researcher from the tangible fields, shifting the qualitative thinking capacity trained from anthropology and ethnography enabled me to perceive, correctly, the difference of ethnography from the technology concepts, and adapt to a new mindset in behavioral data analysis.

by Wei O

Sep 12, 2020

Anyone with a passion in SQL can learn and comprehend this course. To excel in this course, the more you help to look at your peer's problems and resolve theirs, the more you learn on how to overcome yours faster. I think many students are a little lost when the ER diagram is not displayed in the intro for each of the video using it to teach. Overall, Professor Lawrence is awesome in her clear and easy to follow teaching. You will be challenged to think and resolve real-world project, be diligent in your own work and you'll feel your mind is growing!

by Anuj S C

Apr 26, 2020

Very engaging and active course. I liked how there were knowledge-based quizzes and quizzes that we had to utilize coding to complete as well. The peer-reviewed project at the end took considerably longer than I anticipated and was more difficult than I anticipated, however, I think this exercise was important for real-world learning to occur. Having this project peer-reviewed (and reviewing others) was instrumental in learning as well. The diverse set of learning and grading in this course has been excellent.

by Charae B

Apr 24, 2020

This course was really great. I enjoyed it and the lectures were detailed and right to the point. The example code in the lectures was extremely helpful, but the assignments still left room for critical thinking and creativity when writing code. If you are looking to learn SQL for the first time, and you already have some programming background, this will be a quick course for you. If you haven't programmed before, you may find this a little more challenging, especially the Peer Review Assignment.

by Nina L A

Dec 28, 2019

I took this course without having any background in programming; I had never written a single line of code. This course is fantastic for beginners like me who saw the power of SQL and the potential of SQL to solve current business needs. Completing this course has empowered me to take more computer science classes; I now KNOW that learning a programming language is not impossible, and when one understands the principles and power of SQL, an entire new window of caree

by Zenia B

Jul 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this class! The instructor broke everything down in a way that made it easy understand and fun to learn. I also thought the exercises were also very helpful in making the material easy to learn the material we had just reviewed. I looked forward to completing my course every week! Thank you for making this class so enjoyable! If this instructor is teaching another course that's relevant to Data Science, I'll absolutely be taking that course!

by Reuben Y J J

Oct 04, 2018

Simple and straightforward introduction to SQL for business-oriented/frontend-facing end users (data analysts, data scientists). Very good as a refresher for those, like myself, who have been exposed to SQL in the past but did not have much opportunity to use it. Instructor covers the course material without overloading with technical jargon, and mentions best practices, which some courses lack (material addresses the 'how', not necessarily the 'why').

by Elizaveta P

Nov 15, 2018

I'm so satisfied with this course! Good structure, a lot of practical tasks and examples. In parallel, I solve hackerrank tasks and this course gave me everything to pass it easy.

Really appreciate final peer-review assingment, it looks close to real-life analytics and was a little bit challenging for me. But I had so much pleasure done it)

So strange pronunciation of SQL)) But I thank you a lot for this course and sharing your knowledge.

by Joshua

Jul 03, 2020

Being a beginner it was worthwhile to learn things and this course I think was designed in a way that can be understand my even a laymen. If you can spend a little more time learning concepts and practicing only then will you be able to have a clear understanding which helps build a lot of confidence.

This is my experience and if it happened to me I'm sure you will also experience the same.

All the best! God Speed Guys!

by Chelsea H

May 25, 2020

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The instruction was slow and light enough to understand. The instructor did not present the material as overcomplicated, even if it was complicated. I really liked the additional links, and the intermittent quizzes.The modules and quizzes were instrumental in my learning because they gave me hands on practice. I look forward to continuing my learning. Thank you so much!

by PhoebeNgg

Nov 19, 2019

This course is perfect for my level as a beginner. However, the real study time is more than 20hrs as it was supposed to be. To learn deeply and actually understand the content, there should be some effort to self-learn and practice the concept. It is useless if just watch the video and click multiple choices, you must go around on the Internet, read more materials, create your own example and practice the code.

by Meiling C

Mar 31, 2018

Clearly-explained, organised lecture flow and materials, easy to follow, not burdened with great details for beginners while emphases are made on crucial aspects of database management with SQL. The course fuels motivations for learning outside of the class. For a no confusion foundation on SQL, this is a great course as it really builds in me the confidence to claim a new skill and to take on my own project!!

by Hardik

Jul 31, 2020

Really enjoyed. Didn;t need to install anything, the practice questions were good. The best part was the peer graded assignment, i would have loved another peer graded assignment. But It was brilliantly taught by Sadie, also loved the fact that she gave many times her experience in real world project, that she use this a lot working on real time, this gave us a feel to the use of SQL in real world projects.

by Eslam M

Apr 14, 2020

thank you very very much for your excellent work with us and the many information data you given it to us , i learned so much in this course i understand why we use SQL and How use it and how it can help us to work with our data and how i can retrieve or filtering data , manipulating data , using mathematics operators , aggregation function , case statement and many ad many

thank you very much :) 3>

by Sudheer N R

Jan 27, 2018

I accessed this course just to evaluate this as a potential course for my colleagues who have working knowledge of SQL (running stored procedures but not writing own queries). This course is good for anyone who does not even know what SQL is. I like the instructor too, her pace is adequate and ability to transfer knowledge is high. Definitely recommend this course to anyone who works on "data"

by Imantha G A

Dec 16, 2019

The course was well structured and covered all the basics needed to know with SQL. The instructor was clear and taught in an understandable manner. Ability to run SQL queries on the same environment of quizzes and assignments should be highlighted. The only negative point is with peer graded assignment as some questions are not very clear and even the answer given for grading is not specific.

by Shreyansh M

Oct 22, 2019

A great course for anyone looking for the basics of basic stuff regarding SQL. The pacing is perfect for an introductory course as well as I am actually surprised how the assignments allow you to experiment with your own SQL codes as well as the last assignment which has questions which depend on how you would analyze the situation. Kudos to the teacher for making it a pleasurable experience!

by Tim

Sep 29, 2019

Up to this point, this is the best SQL course that I've ever taken. Not only does it give students a ton of practice with SQL code, but it also tests students on SQL and database concepts and on what to do in common SQL-related situations. In other words, this course covers both the "how" and the "why" with an ideal proportion for each instead of placing too much focus on just one of those.

by S S N

Jul 27, 2020

Pretty good course, will definitely help those who are wanted to learn basic fundamentals and key concepts of SQL to be used in Data Science life cycle. This course is pretty useful and most of required information has been covered in this course. If you are looking to learn basic aspects of SQL for Data Science, then this is definitely for you, just go for it and have fun learning !!!!

by Shreya S

May 15, 2020

This course is very interesting. It starts with basics and explains to a great extent. Every concept is clearly explained. I found the assignments very helpful. There is one practice assignment and then an assignment for grading for each module which is very helpful as question-level starts with basics and goes till advance covering every part of that topic.

I enjoyed doing this course.

by Laila B

Jul 07, 2020

Very good structured course, for me that was a beginner with no experience on SQL was very easy to understand things, some of the exercises were demanding for my personal experience but that's what help us too, get out of the comfort zone. I would recommend the course even to the one's that have experience working with SQL because of all the concepts we learn through the course.

by Chintan G

May 27, 2019

Overall it was a good course, I just wish it was in a different format. Instead of the instructor on the left and presentation on the right of the screen, I wish the instructor was not present on the screen and was using a pen to explain the concepts. Also, they could code more examples with the students on the screen, instead of showing us already written code as examples.

by Edgardo M

May 25, 2020

This really is a great place to start if you have no idea what you're doing. I did find it helpful to supplement this course with other materials (e.g., youtube videos), but that's to be expected and is even addressed by the prof. The coding practice is great, but you never practice creating tables for some reason, though not a huge deal. Very happy with the course!