Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
7,070件の評価
1,837件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP

Apr 06, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP

Jul 18, 2020

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 101 - 125 / 1,828 レビュー

by Tan A

Jul 25, 2019

Great course. Accessible for a beginner but also had enough difficulty to make it challenging/useful. My only suggestion is having query results in the videos somehow. That will make the queries make a lot more sense and the overall content can be more digestible. Other than that, I recommend the course to anyone wanting to learn or strengthen some skills.

by Ritvik G

Jul 21, 2020

This course really helped me to understand basics of SQL and tech how to write SQL queries. Sadie St. Lawrence taught this course from basics covering each and every topic . Though I felt that the questions in the quizzes were a bit easy and could be made a little harder to give a more hands on experience.

Thank you Sadie St. Lawrence for this useful course.

by Meghraj P

Jun 02, 2020

The course starts with basics and gets you to the intermediate level of knowledge in SQL. The teaching method and the intermittent quizzes as well as hands-on coding assignments ensure that you thoroughly understand the course contents. I would recommend this for those who want to have basic to intermediate knowledge in SQL primarily for querying databases.

by Shuvmay C

Sep 30, 2018

Learning this has been fun, specifically the way this course is designed and the platform available for coding is very user friendly and easy to understand. The team has done a wonderful job in explaining the key concepts, special thanks to the instructor. Also the quizzes and coding questions are so designed that it helps you understand the basic concepts.

by Reza S

Jul 23, 2020

The course is quite comprehensive and understandable. Although the lecturer explains in a very slow fashion, it doesn't really bother me since we can speed up to 1.5x. I really like the final project that we have to solve but there are a few things to be improved: It's better to make a system that we can write queries directly while listening to the video.

by Faith R

Jul 06, 2018

I enjoyed this course and really learned a lot. I loved being able to go at my own pace and start the course over if my schedule was too busy. You can do practice quizzes as many times as you want and you are given opportunities with extra time to redo your quizzes. This format gives you a great opportunity to learn and at your own pace which was awesome.

by Dhruv

Jun 09, 2020

This course has an amazing structure. It allows and highly encourages to think like a professional and provides resources that allowed me not only to pass the course but will also be relevant when I move ahead in this skill and career path. The assignments are also very well designed. Passing the final assignment gives a lot of confidence in the subject.

by Rafael T M

Mar 01, 2020

Muy buen curso para empezar a tocar SQL. Tanto las pruebas intermedias como la final te ponen contra las cuerdas y te obliga a utilizar casi todo lo aprendido. Si no has programado nunca o empezaste y lo dejaste te aconsejo tener algo de paciencia para completarlo. Entender cada video y cada paso que das. Sin lugar a dudas escogeré el siguiente curso.

by Sadya S

May 09, 2020

The concepts in this course are explained very well and are very descriptive. They are taught step by step and she also gives an explanation as to why we use these concepts and why theyre important. I was able to delve deeper into SQL and was able to acquire the basics in order to solve real life SQL problems. She is one of my favourite instructors!

by Rainer K

Oct 30, 2019

Even though this course is aimed at beginners, the assignments encourages a person to do some additional research. This simulates how a person should continually research and explore to enhance one's knowledge and experience. The final peer graded assignment was fun. Make sure you allow enough time to spend on it and you will reap the rewards.

by Antony L

Jul 25, 2018

Really great introductory course to SQL. I highly recommend taking this course for those who have little to no experience with SQL. All of the course work and material was easy to comprehend and very digestible. In addition, the quizzes and assignments were great supplemental exercises to reinforce the concepts that were taught in the course.

by Muhammad B J

Sep 07, 2020

Today in the morning at 7:00AM EDT I was so happy that I can't imagine, Sadie made me positive and passionate in my career. Because of her, I can now achieve my dream to become a data scientist and learn more and do good in life. Hopefull! This is the best course of SQL hands down! I failed many interviews but now I am sure I will pass it.

by Dalya B

Jul 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the course as per the content and the review questions at the end of each week! I have learnt a lot to build on and can't wait to practice SQL and use it in my work. I totally recommend it to anyone who needs flexible hours to learn how to deals with big data and to learn how to retrieve and be tidy with the data in hand.

by Tang E

Jul 19, 2019

The course is simple and clear for a beginner. The slides,video and notes are helpful and it guides me slowly to understand different SQL syntax and its applications. The quiz and assignment are really good platform to practice all the knowledge i learnt from those 4 courses. Lovely! Highly recommend to others who never learn SQL before.

by Sumana K

Apr 12, 2020

The course was well explained. I struggled a bit with some topics like combining multiple joins and subqueries. A few additional examples in the form of a case study might have helped understand the concepts a bit easier.

The quizzes , projects were all good practice making us think and apply the knowledge we gained.

Thank you.

by Benjamin S

May 10, 2018

Great course. Final project needs some work and this course will be top notch!! For the project, it would be great if we could port the data into R or Python and do some sort of basic analysis of it. Would make it more interesting. I like the separate coding and concepts quizzes. The teacher is amazing and upbeat!

by Luna K

Jul 22, 2019

Good introduction to learning SQL, data science best practices, and tools to continue developing this skillset. The lessons and quizzes are well-organized and easy to follow, as well as give good food-for-thought questions to get the problem solving gears going. Would recommend to anyone getting into learning SQL.

by VINAYAK G

Mar 26, 2020

The lectures videos are the right size. Assignments are too simple at times. Final peer-review assignment was decent difficulty and allows for a lot of involvement; it also introduces you to data analysis in a structured manner. Liked the course very much. I'd recommend it to beginners in SQL and/or data science.

by Amir T

Feb 26, 2019

I liked the way the material necessary for data analysis was presented and organized. I think there could be a bit more difficult exercises during the course to prepare learners better for final project and give them better idea what is expected in real world.

Overall, it was awesome and well designed. Thank You.

by Cedric T

Jul 25, 2019

Dear teachers I thank you for this course because I took this course to understand the analysis of data sql data science and also to get ahead in my job and especially what I appreciated is the course methodology and homework flexibility that allows the learner to succeed and master. Thank you and see you soon.

by ANUP S

Jan 07, 2019

Absolutely wonderful course. For someone who knew absolutely nothing about using SQL, this course has helped me to understand SQL coding and more importantly understand the logic behind trying to attain the desired result. Would absolutely recommend this course for anyone interested in a career in data science.

by Nidhi V S

Apr 16, 2020

This is a brilliantly designed course. I was a novice in the field of data science when I started this course but now at the end, I have learned a lot. The course was easy to follow and the in-course assignments helped me practice the application of SQL. I am confident in my skills as a data scientist.

by Srishti S

Jul 11, 2020

The instructor was very good in teaching various aspects of Data Science. She was very knowledgeable regarding the course. Also, easy queries were maintained to solve the real-world problem as well. This course has helped me in upgrade my skill in the field in which I am the most interested. Thank you.

by Antonio M

Dec 29, 2018

This course provides me the basic techniques to jump into the electronic medical records and start to code queries and provides reports to Clinical and Research Management. The test are intense and the final project is a real challenge. The good news is I learned to code as a beginner SQL programmer.

by David L

Aug 23, 2020

Well structured and covers the basics of SQL queries. One thing that could be added is a guide explaining some of the different software the is available for running queries locally, rather than through the web page portal that the course offers. Otherwise the course was an excellent introduction.