Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
13,099件の評価

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JG

2021年8月22日

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 101 - 125 / 3,472 レビュー

by Katherine N

2022年2月18日

This was the first course I ever took on Coursera and I honestly wondered if they were all like this and how Coursera was able to stay in business. I stopped halfway through for a variety of reasons. The instructor was incredibly awkward on camera and just read a teleprompter the entire time. I ended up doing some other courses (by other instructors) and realized how many basic pieces of information she had left out. There was very little hands-on practice throughout the course and the quizzes wouldn't even show you the correct coding if you got it wrong, so you weren't able to learn what you did wrong. Glad that I have found some other courses to take on this subject, but I'll be avoiding this teacher/school from now on.

by Ala A

2021年10月8日

Material was good, but the staff is why I'm giving 1 star. Finished the course and submitted my final assignment for peer review, it has been "in progress" for 4 weeks, this is not acceptable to delay learning progress. Staff should have a way to monitor the assignments time and resolve. We respect your time, please respect ours.

by Tianyi L

2022年1月6日

This course only shows the syntax, but didn't teach how to write. I'm still very confuse about the syntax after taking this course. NOT RECOMMEND

by Mark P

2018年1月3日

I'm fairly proficient in R and wanted to add a database language to my data science repertoire. Most data science jobs ask for SQL so I thought this was the perfect starting point for learning. I found learning the language fairly straightforward, especially because many SQL-type commands are built into R packages (like dplyr). My job has a comprehensive relational database but, I usually use a point and click interface to make queries- now that I'm more proficient I'll start using SQL though. Additionally, I was hoping to pick up SQL before starting my grad program in analytics so I can "hit the ground running" and be ready for classes focused on database management and data engineering. I was able to accomplish this without any question.

I really liked the course, which is not surprising given all of Coursera's data science content is excellent. The final assignment was very thorough and helped put together lots of focused questions you might encounter using SQL as a data scientist. It really helped solidify my learning. For about $60, this was a no brainer for getting started in the language.

by vijay k d

2020年1月4日

DO Slowly, Build up. This is a wonderful course and you will not know when you have learnt so many things. The instructor is wonderful she explains things nicely. The people who have designed the course must be working professionals because Of their depth of understanding of the subject and knowledge.

The most interesting thing about the course is you will learn a few things in a module then try your hands on. you don't even need a laptop to code because they have integrated everything on the Coursera's platform. I have watched most of the videos on my smart phone and submitted a few assignments too.

and the last part of the journey through this course for me is realization. You solve the questions given in the peer graded assignment specially part 2 and for a person who Has been listening the terms like PREDICTION, SENTIMENT ANALYSIS kind of stuff , Learning a few lines of codes in SQL from this course has actually let me do them.

Wonderful course Amazing team

Thanks Coursera

Thanks Sadie St Lawrence

by Camilo M R

2021年10月2日

Excellent course to begin to understand the basic clauses of SQL and understand how to structure them to generate clean code. The teacher provides excellent examples of codes that programmers face every day, just to highlight some skills of the course, I want to say that the way the teacher teaches the clauses' CASE ',' WHEN ', WildCards,' COUNT ',' FROM 'and' SELECT 'are highly professional as it explains them in such a simple way that even beginners will understand. I want to say thanks at the UCDAVIS team and teacher Sadie St. Lawrence for doing such an interactive and professional course, something that I love is that the teacher is always in the videos explaining all the topics and in general the exercises, this is very professional already that other courses only put audio and slides and that character that teachers bring to classes is lost. Thank you very much for allowing me to learn with you. Best, Camilo Mejía-Rivera

by Andrew P

2022年1月22日

I thought this was a very good course for an introduction into what SQL is and how it's used. The video lessons are presented well and mostly easy to understand. By the end, I felt like I had a strong grasp on how a data scientist/analyst approaches and uses data to ask questions, get answers and solve problems. The best advice I would give to someone interested in taking the course would be to really be ready to practice on your own and try to apply the knowledge learned outside of just doing the lessons. The lab sandbox they provide is a great tool and there are an abundance of free resources available online. I found that the more I practiced and experimented with the coding on my own, some of the concepts really started to sink in and I learned from mistakes.

by Shweta K

2021年11月5日

This course is very well-designed. All the concepts one will require to work on a database are covered. The explanation of all the commands was very easy to understand. The quiz in between the videos were helpful to test the knowledge. Also, the coding quizzes are amazingly designed. Those have questions starting from easy to difficult level. The final assignment was a mix of all the concepts covered from week 1 and it was definitely a good one. Peer assignment review was a nice idea. I got to see how different people would write the same query differently. The logic of the query was same but the way of writing it, the formatting and the easy-to-follow method were some of the points I will be taking away from it. Really a great course that Coursera is offering!

by Chamnan S

2021年11月4日

I​ really like how the instructor's giving lecture. I also like that each video has questions along the way. It keeps me interested and focused with the material being presented. One thing though is the peer review project at the end. I thought more detail instruction on how to get data set were given. Overall, I really like the course and I think the time was well spent. I am happy to get a free certificate that I can share on LinkedIn. I have no background on data science in college (my major is quantitative econ), but my interest has shifted toward data science a lot and I slowly build my skills on it. So having a certificate to update on my LinkedIn profile will help me prove my network indirectly that I have developed my knowledge in data science field.

by Katharina F

2019年10月24日

It was really helpful. As a beginner I really appreciated that it started right at the beginning. The videos were all easy to understand and well structured. I would recommend paying for this course to get the whole package because it really helped me to do the quizzes as well to practice. I found it helpful that it always consisted of a theoretical and a practical part.

The only negative thing was the very last assignment. It took me way longer than it said it would and I had problems understanding a few things around it. Looking through the comment section it seemed like I wasn't the only one. I think it would've been helpful to have another video or text before this to prepare better for this last assignment.

by Vakhilchuk O V

2020年8月2日

I took this course with basic knowledge of SQL, that is, I had experience in programming in the MySQL language. This course helped me understand more about databases and learn more about the structured query language operators used. I created a table with data for competently building queries, and therefore the code that was given in the lectures had to be adapted to my table. But you can download the Chinook Database in the public domain, as many examples are written for this data. The training is conducted in the SQLite language, but also tells about the features of other languages.

Have a nice course to everyone who wants to study it!

by Harshvardhan K

2020年10月25日

This is just one of those courses, everything about it screams professional. The slides are concise, and mostly provide all the content of the lecture itself, the instructor is great too. However the real gems of this course are the Exercises/Coding Assignments. Every question is varied, and at the end of the course, you will yourself learn a few neat tricks on Joining Tables, Grouping multiple data, and Complex Subqueries.

I would suggest to include a few more examples, for things like Self-Joins, Grouping, and Operations. Keep in mind, this is more of a beginner course, but it covers enough topics to dive into Analyses of your own!

by Maria C F

2020年11月7日

This is such an excellent beginner SQL course.If you are seeking hard challenge however, prepare to be disappointed. The course just teach queries in SQLite but does not go in depth regarding data types nor table creation. This is because this course only teaches the fundamental skills of data scientist - to query and analyze data, not create database.The quiz and assignments are actually very easy, but if you make it complicated then you will go down the rabbit hole. The course is supposed to be fun and motivates you to learn SQL.I highly recommend if you know nothing about SQL or Data Science! It's a really good intro course!

by Jacquewyn C

2020年4月26日

It was a lot of learning - not as simplified as I initially anticipated. I learned so much, and the practice quizzes as well as graded ones provided a platform for efficient amount of practice. It leads you through a course while reshaping your mindset on technology and data, if you are a beginner, and very new at this.

As an ethnographic researcher from the tangible fields, shifting the qualitative thinking capacity trained from anthropology and ethnography enabled me to perceive, correctly, the difference of ethnography from the technology concepts, and adapt to a new mindset in behavioral data analysis.

by Martin v G

2022年6月10日

It was a refreshment of my SQL knowledge after 5 years.

But this course is the best so far! It is very interactive with a lot quizzes, questions and assignments.

The best part is the last section where you are to considered a data sciencist/engineer.

You need to analyze the data what you want to show. After that you are going to specify which data it is required and to write the code.

What new was for me is the 'JOIN' concept. Very interesting and a lots of positive 'frustrating' fun.

Sadie explains it very well.

So, my compliments Sadie....

Kind regards,

Martin van Genderen

Netherlands

by A K

2022年8月9日

This course is excellent. Very weel structured, especially for someone completely new as myself. I thought it would be very difficult to follow but instead I was able to follow through and completed.

It actually helped me to land a job at Google as an analyst :)

The only thing off is the last part of the final assignment. As many folks mentioned, i had the feeling that we were tested on things we hadn't be taught or at least it needed a more analytical/mathematical way of thinking, which if you don't have the relevant background it's hard to have developed within a short course.

by David F

2022年8月1日

More than just a tutorial on SQL (SQLite) commands, this course provided a useful overview of the history and application of RDBMS where SQL is applied as well as a selection of readings about other kinds of data settings that will require NoSQL tools. Found that the videos and quizzes included both content questions to test knowledge as well as SQL coding assignments. Even though it was online, there were opportunities to interact with peers. The last assignment in particular challenged one to put it altogether with SQL coding work along with analysis of data.

by Arnaud D

2021年5月19日

This mooc is really good, Sadie did a good job

positive point :

good structure

well constructed quiz

The practical cases allow you to apply the different tools

the slides in the videos are synthetic, with the objectives always stated at the beginning and a summary at the end of the video

negative point :

the questions in the final assignment (Data Scientist Role play) are not always clear

the codes are not detailed enough sometimes

I would have liked to have more details on the Many to Many relationship as a conclusion I recommend this mooc, offers good skills in SQL

by Alex N

2022年1月4日

This course was structured quite well! The material was easy to digest and paced well, also. I began the course knowing virtually nothing about SQL, and now I can confidently say that I can query a database utilizing ER diagrams, joins, cases, subqueries and a plethora of other functions to find the data I need. Some of the quizzes had questions where it was unclear what was being asked, so they could use some tweaking, but in the real world that happens all the time so I'll chalk it up to extra practice at interpreting prompts. Thanks for teaching me SQL!

by Wei O

2020年9月12日

Anyone with a passion in SQL can learn and comprehend this course. To excel in this course, the more you help to look at your peer's problems and resolve theirs, the more you learn on how to overcome yours faster. I think many students are a little lost when the ER diagram is not displayed in the intro for each of the video using it to teach. Overall, Professor Lawrence is awesome in her clear and easy to follow teaching. You will be challenged to think and resolve real-world project, be diligent in your own work and you'll feel your mind is growing!

by Anuj S C

2020年4月26日

Very engaging and active course. I liked how there were knowledge-based quizzes and quizzes that we had to utilize coding to complete as well. The peer-reviewed project at the end took considerably longer than I anticipated and was more difficult than I anticipated, however, I think this exercise was important for real-world learning to occur. Having this project peer-reviewed (and reviewing others) was instrumental in learning as well. The diverse set of learning and grading in this course has been excellent.

by C G

2020年4月24日

This course was really great. I enjoyed it and the lectures were detailed and right to the point. The example code in the lectures was extremely helpful, but the assignments still left room for critical thinking and creativity when writing code. If you are looking to learn SQL for the first time, and you already have some programming background, this will be a quick course for you. If you haven't programmed before, you may find this a little more challenging, especially the Peer Review Assignment.

by Carlos A S M

2021年10月10日

Nice, this is the first time for me in SQL, and It was really amazing. However, there is always an opportunity of improvement related to the actual exam per each week. what I mean is that the teacher explains some basics exercises that are easy to understand but once you get into the actual practice there are SOME really tricky that should be worked on during the explanations. but the rest was ok, really happy and I want to keep learning SQL along pythong and VBA for excel :)

by Nina L A

2019年12月27日

I took this course without having any background in programming; I had never written a single line of code. This course is fantastic for beginners like me who saw the power of SQL and the potential of SQL to solve current business needs. Completing this course has empowered me to take more computer science classes; I now KNOW that learning a programming language is not impossible, and when one understands the principles and power of SQL, an entire new window of caree

by Carolin T

2021年10月30日

I really liked the course. It was easy to follow and understand. It was really beneficial to get the documentation so i was able to add some extra notes.

It is a perfect course to refresh SQL knowledge and the later on in the course to dig deeper into data science and how to analyze data.

The assignment can be challenging for a beginner so i would rate it intermediate.

But you have a lot of little tasks, questions and testing in each week to test your knowledge.