Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
2,850件の評価
701件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 176 - 200 / 699 レビュー

by Jullian K

Jan 17, 2018

Thanks for your courses as it help me understand SQL and data science as whole in a better way than I ever could have.I would recommend people join it.

by Sheldon D

Apr 04, 2018

very useful course

by Syed R u R

Apr 22, 2018

Great course for beginners

by Antoine G

Apr 03, 2018

What a great introduction! Really enjoyed this. So easy to understand.

by CWu

Mar 16, 2018

I think this is a simple yet helpful introduction to SQL. I enjoyed it very much.

by Insan N

Dec 08, 2017

Nice for basic SQL, I learn a lot about detail query and how to use it.

by Deepak G

Dec 14, 2017

Thanks to Sadie for making this SQL course so simple & fun way to learn . :)

by Daren C

May 04, 2018

This is a great learning experience. Although I have learned Database System Concept during my undergraduate course, this course taught me something new and novel. This is my first course in coursera. Hopefully I can work harder.

by Punit K

Feb 18, 2018

The course material is designed with great thought about the audience and does mainly focus on implementing the SQL syntaxes.

by Timothy L

Apr 13, 2018

The instructor is phenomenal. It is deep enough concept-wise but not too in the weeds if you've already taken some SQL.

by mark w

Dec 17, 2017

I enjoyed the course and learned a basic understanding of SQL. The final project is very difficult and seems geared more towards advanced SQL users. If this is your first exposure to SQL you will find the final project frustrating and you will need to refer to other texts to t

by Haojin J

Jan 01, 2018

I think it is a great course

by Mark P

Jan 03, 2018

I'm fairly proficient in R and wanted to add a database language to my data science repertoire. Most data science jobs ask for SQL so I thought this was the perfect starting point for learning. I found learning the language fairly straightforward, especially because many SQL-type commands are built into R packages (like dplyr). My job has a comprehensive relational database but, I usually use a point and click interface to make queries- now that I'm more proficient I'll start using SQL though. Additionally, I was hoping to pick up SQL before starting my grad program in analytics so I can "hit the ground running" and be ready for classes focused on database management and data engineering. I was able to accomplish this without any question.

I really liked the course, which is not surprising given all of Coursera's data science content is excellent. The final assignment was very thorough and helped put together lots of focused questions you might encounter using SQL as a data scientist. It really helped solidify my learning. For about $60, this was a no brainer for getting started in the language.

by Benjamin S

May 10, 2018

Great course. Final project needs some work and this course will be top notch!! For the project, it would be great if we could port the data into R or Python and do some sort of basic analysis of it. Would make it more interesting. I like the separate coding and concepts quizzes. The teacher is amazing and upbeat!

by Shubham g

Jul 04, 2018

One of the best courses out there to learn SQL from scratch.

by Michael B

Mar 27, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. There are a few issues that need to be addressed, but if you can overlook her occasional stumbles, she is effective and entertaining and the material was engaging and held my interests which is NOT easy.

by Ree A L

Feb 02, 2018

Easy to follow.

by MING C L

Apr 03, 2018

an easy to pick up introduction for SQL

by Naum S

Jan 08, 2018

very helpful course

by Miguel Á B P

May 07, 2018

An amazing course which brings the fundamental for SQL.

by Mark S

Apr 01, 2018

Really good first step in data science.

by Chris C

Dec 18, 2017

Excellent program!

by Mohammed A N

Mar 03, 2018

Its a good platform to learn

by Aparajit K

Feb 07, 2018

It will be a good start to SQL, but you will have to invest some time in order to catch up.

by Alok K

Dec 22, 2017

This course builds blocks to work with SQL. After week-2 it requires logical thinking to solve assignments. The lectures and the way it has delivered ain't boring.