Chevron Left
SQL for Data Science に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による SQL for Data Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
8,913件の評価
2,332件のレビュー

コースについて

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

人気のレビュー

JP
2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AT
2020年11月17日

Well it was a short course, the assignments are a little bit repetitive (mostly in the last). The course reviews every 'practical' aspects of SQL, how to assemble the bricks while writing queries,...

フィルター:

SQL for Data Science: 2226 - 2250 / 2,320 レビュー

by SAKET M

2021年2月24日

Could be more better. You could have taught more SQL

by Phillipe S S R

2018年1月3日

Quiz and graded materials not available for free.

by Hari G

2019年12月11日

Too much theory and very little or no practice

by dager6

2018年5月4日

Good general basic introductions.

by Gaoge Z

2021年1月4日

Could show results in demos.

by Renuka G

2019年12月20日

good one

by Carl D A

2020年8月13日

good

by Krishna G

2020年6月10日

good

by Chen G

2019年2月15日

Soso

by Manas d

2020年9月19日

.

by Jennifer S

2019年7月17日

These lectures seem incomplete. For several sections, I had to Google more information to understand the lecture topic.

This course is listed as a beginner level course with no prerequisite, but throughout the lessons I felt like I was missing some key basic information. The course recommendation is 20 hours, 3-5 hours a week. The first week fell into that parameter, but after that the hours required increased each week, with the last week being about twelve hours including the final project.

Ideally, this course considers adding in more complete explanations for the examples in the lectures (including outputs), more practice coding, and more depth on exploring data and making inferences from your queries.

by Faheem I

2020年11月5日

Would not recommend. There's no real teaching, the instructor is just reading off of slides with little to no explanation. The slides are confusing, don't provide outputs to the codes that they're showing and many times have errors on them. The course including the quizzes forces you to do most of the work, and I mean that in a bad way. The videos are incredibly lazy and very little explanation is provided for some key points considering this is a beginner's course.

The only good thing I found was that it provided some structure to what I should study. I ended up studying mostly from tutorial websites. I would suggest you look for some other courses if you want to start SQL.

by Kevin C

2020年11月30日

The lecturer is terrible. They read off of a teleprompter and the way the script is written is so unintuitive and verbose. What is the point in having a lecturer who's actually an expert on the topic, if they're just going to read a script like a robot?

The quizzes are good, but the topics covered in them are often not covered during the lectures. The lectures may go over the surface level of a topic, and show a really simple example but the quizzes are much more complex and will require you to find examples on the internet. The quizzes are the strong point in this course. The lectures are absolutely garbage.

by Shira G

2019年10月22日

Few suggestions for improvement:

1. provide a worksheet that summarizes all the material in a simple manner. It exists in many other sites so it shouldn't be a problem to provide this

2. In the quizzes and assignments - it would help to give a hand when the student does not understand the question or makes mistakes. to say "correct" or 'incorrect" is not enough.

3. the final exam is in no way align with the level of the classes.

and the worse thing is that in the forum it seems that a lot of students have complained but nothing has changed... therefore I would not recommend this course.

by Charles M

2019年9月16日

There are 3 major issues with this course: 1. the instructor appears to be reading from a teleprompter and constantly struggles with her text, making the lectures both distracting and soporific. The cheerleading ('Are you excited about joins yet?') doesn't do anything to change that. 2. Some portions of the final assignments are poorly worded and the mentors aren't active. 3. There is a huge backlog for assignment grading which is frustrating and causes the discussion threads to be polluted by students asking for others to grade their assignment.

by Aron R

2021年2月22日

This was a shockingly different approach to teaching a software language. I did not enjoy the style whatsoever, and found myself constantly seeking outside sources to understand what was glossed through. Unless you have a strong programming background, I would not recommend this particular class. Instead, seek something where you will complete SQL code yourself, with explanations of syntax, structure, and purpose, specific to the format you will be using. You'll do yourself a favor by doing so.

by Pelin T

2020年9月30日

The instructor shows queries without showing the tables that are selected from nor the end result of the query. Often it is not clear what a query does by just watching the videos. Also you are not provided with the database that the instructor is using, so you can't rerun the queries and play around with them, which is essential for learning sql.

The questions during the videos and the module quizzes are too simple compared to the course material and the topics looked at.

by Julia

2018年2月11日

Although the structure of the course is well organised the assignments and videos contain lots of mistakes. I had to spent a lot of time by searching in the internet what is wrong in my code to realise that the instructor code was wrong as well and should not work (although they provide the results as it works just fine). Moreover, some questions are written not clearly and the explanations in the videos lack advanced examples while talking a lot about unnecessary things.

by Aaron B

2020年5月3日

Course was a good overview of SQL for beginners but the quizzes and assignments were VERY POORLY DESIGNED. The questions often made little sense and often implied coding requirements that are way beyond the scope of the course. This lead to a significant amount of time being wasted in figuring out what is being asked. This seems to be a very common issue based on the forum posts. I HIGHLY recommend that the course instructors investigate and re-word the questions.

by Constantin P

2020年4月24日

Unfortunately, the lectures did not provide engaging delivery, or insightful examples. There were unaddressed errors in the quizzes and many questions addressed topics that either reflected the subjective opinion of the instructor, or were not mentioned in the lectures at all. In those instances, external resources were required to come to a solution. This would not be a problem, if this did not affect the majority of information required to pass this course.

by Lynda P

2020年11月26日

I am new to online learning and to SQL and there is not enough information about how to proceed and complete the course, how to submit assignments and ask questions. To me there is not enough information in the course to complete the quiz and it took looking things up on the internet because much of the information in the quiz/test/assignments is not covered in enough detail to understand and complete the questions without additional research.

by Gregory B

2019年5月14日

If I hadn't already been a little familiar with SQL before this I would have been pretty lost for a lot of this. A lot of the information presented could have used a little more details.

The quizzes often asked questions that involved material that wasn't in the course, as did the coding parts.

At the end of the day, I have had better experiences with some of the free courses available online (and learned more from them).

by Svetlana G

2019年10月8日

Good overview of SQL principals but very little practical information.

Tasks don't show correct solution so if you don't know how to solve it - you will never learn it.

Very poor support from admins/moderators. Even questions related to technical issues will stay unanswered. So again - if you didn't understand something from videos or have question outside of the scope - you will not learn it from this course.

by Maximilian W

2020年4月12日

The basics were explained adequately, but after that, the explanation often were very abstract and not really practical. I am a visual learner and I like to see pratical examples. The questions in the final exam were sometimes just tedious typing work. Sometimes the gap from what was explained in the video courses what was asked in the questions was a bit too steep.