Chevron Left
Capstone: Your Story に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Capstone: Your Story の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
333件の評価
131件のレビュー

コースについて

Everything comes together in the Capstone. You will draft a complete story, narrative essay, or memoir of 8–15 pages. With the advice of your peer readers, you will revise, rewrite, and complete it. The skills you’ve learned of plotting, setting, physical description, characterization, and stylistic clarity and innovation will culminate in an original work of art all your own. We’ll discuss the steps that professional writers take to bring their work into the public world. Along the way you’ll learn the patient habits of revision that make up the writer’s life....

人気のレビュー

TB
2020年5月8日

I got so, so much out of this! It's not only helped me with my own writing, but it's helped me with being able to be a better editor, also. Enjoyed being able to read other writers' works, as well.

AM
2018年10月24日

It was challenging and inspiring, one of the best courses I have taken. I took my writing to new places and learned quite a lot : ) Thank you so much for the opportunity and platform for learning.

フィルター:

Capstone: Your Story: 26 - 50 / 130 レビュー

by Milagros V

2019年1月20日

This last course in the Specialization walks you through the process of writing, editing and submitting a short story. Salvatore's prompts, interviews and the advice form other writers are very helpful. This is truly a capstone of the other four courses in the Specialization. I never believed I could learn so much and improve my skills just by doing the exercises, understanding the principles and finding my way of putting them not practice. Many of the pieces form other participants that I had the opportunity to review were really great. An amazing specialization in all regards. Thank you to all the professors that shared their insights and experience and metored us!!

by Carlos B

2017年3月22日

This specialization was outstanding. It unveiled so many of the mysteries of creative writing that I've puzzled over for a long time. My skills are unquestionably improved. In addition, the courses guide you on the practice of writing. How important it is to make it a social aspect of your life and not write in isolation since that often leads to losing momentum. Joining a writer's group and/or attending writer's conferences and workshops are key elements in keeping up the writing and getting better. The professors and guest speakers for this specialization were fantastic. Can't say enough positive things about it - this specialization exceeded my expectations.

by Eileen M

2021年5月2日

This was a great course and I learned a lot about creative writing. The presenters were top class. Where the course falls down is in the appraisal system. I have looked forward to the suggested two-page appraisal of my story to be given by one person just a mark out of five and no comment at all. The next one said in one sentence that I had too much dialogue and gave a mark out of five. The third person did it correctly and gave great feedback. My point is that people whose English is not sufficient to give an appraisal should not be doing a specialisation Maybe there should be a prerequisite for such courses.

Best wishes.

Eileen McParland.

by Jacqueline M K

2021年2月12日

The steps from draft to "final" learned in this course and applied in the Capstone helped to find my true voice. The comparison between my first draft and my "final" showed me that if I force the story, it sounds that way. By using the skills taught in the rest of the course, I feel like my story is much more natural and brings the reader along with characters more effectively. Thank you to everyone involved in presenting this course. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in embarking on a writing project or anyone interested in honing their skills. Well done.

by lisa r

2016年9月10日

I have enjoyed every second of the five-part creative writing specialization. These courses have made me reassess my writing practices, they have allowed me to hone my skills as both a writer and working on the editing process. The course materials were brilliantly developed to support the aspiring writer and the knowledge and writing tips are of a very high caliber.

Each guest writer and tutor have given great insight into the writing process and how every writer is different, everybody has their own methods of working. Superb and challenging.

by Sara C H J

2020年10月30日

This capstone was a great experience. It didn't only motivate me to go throughout my short story, but also gave me some insights to review my peers' work in a better way, especially because I'm part of the Scribophile community where many fellow writers help each other in the editing process of their writings. The instructor, Mr. Scibona, is a great facilitator. He helped me a lot in clarifying some concepts about writing styles from the course The Craft of Style. Thank you so much for this opportunity to learn more about my passion: writing.

by Ibrahim N

2017年3月8日

I really enjoyed this specialization course from the University of Wesleyan. All mentors and guests were providing very valuable and helpful information for the beginner writers and course participants. I mastered some skill which will be very useful for me during my creative writing career and that is why I want to declare my deep thankfulness to all member of this team who made such a great specialization and Capstone project.

by Maria R

2021年2月15日

Incredible course! The professor makes each and every moment of the process relevant and interesting. Loved the shared class discussions and reviews of students' work. Thoroughly enjoyed it and love the fact that everything was approached in a very practical way, with the understanding that everyone taking the course has their own specific set of circumstances and time constraints.

by Janet W

2016年12月20日

This course has been one of the best writing course that I have ever taken. I tell all of my writing friends that they should take the course, even if it's just for a refresher. The instructors were very clear on the assignments, the course were well planned. I hated for it to end. I would be very interested in a more in depth course on fiction if there is such a thing.

by Susen E

2018年2月14日

This program has been a wonderful experience. It's given me an opportunity to hone my writing skills and learn to accept praise and criticism. It's been a pleasure getting to know my classmates through their stories. I will miss their creativity and competence. My only regret is that it's over! I want to keep on going. Perhaps I'll take the specialization again......

by John E S

2018年1月29日

Great course that really caps the four that preceded it! It's a great experience to explore my new and enhanced writing abilities and have them put to the test in the peer review proces.

And very interesting to view other's capabilities and progress.

Many thanks to Salvatore and the rest of the team for their great guidance and example!

by Julia T

2020年11月20日

This part of the course was MOST helpful to me, given I have completed 28 chapters of what may be a 30 chapter novel.

Brandon Skyhorse's sharing his own experiences was most helpful in terms of helping a writer see that he/she needs to work to get the piece to be submitted into the most error-free state of being as possible.

by Aditya R

2020年11月14日

An exceptionally masterful course. It answers all the candidate's plights with its rich material. The fact that there are regular assignments keeps you on your toes. All instructors as well as guests possess great understanding of fiction and will surely help you improve. Definitely recommend.

by Federico B S

2018年7月31日

Fantastic experience. I found myself reviewing a story by a well-regarded author. I learned a lot from reviewing the writing of others. That alone is worth the five stars. The commentary I got back was not that thorough, but when people took it seriously it was quite helpful and encouraging.

by Mary C

2017年4月4日

I loved this class. The instructors were so gentle, articulate, and specific with their advice, and the instruction was excellent. I'd love to take it again and again. It did a lot for me as a writer personally, and I enjoyed seeing what other writers were doing. Highly recommend!

by Douglas B

2021年6月18日

I loved this specialization. I will miss it. If you are lucky, you'll receive helpful feedback, but don't count on it for every assignment. There are some so called learners who don't want to do the work. Overall, I learned a lot from the assignments.

by Seeta T S R

2021年3月29日

This is a great course that allowed me to fine tune my writing. Concepts and skills learnt will last me a lifetime of writing. I hope to complete my first novel in a few months, this specialization has put me in good stead to achieve my goal.

by Vatsala S

2021年2月5日

The entire specialization was full of actionable advice, focus, and the lively, uplifting, and unique personalities of the instructors and their guests. I thoroughly enjoyed it and want to visit Wesleyan. Their courses are invaluable to me.

by Melinda

2019年9月23日

I loved this capstone. It was the motivation that I needed to finally put pen to paper. The deadlines kept me on track, and the videos each week were very helpful. I'm so glad that I finished this entire specialization.

by Giuseppe G

2020年7月8日

Wonderful series of courses. I want to thank Coursera and Wesleyan University for offering this specialization. I learned so much and it was a pleasure to follow the five courses. Thank you to all the professors.

by Tabitha R B

2020年5月9日

I got so, so much out of this! It's not only helped me with my own writing, but it's helped me with being able to be a better editor, also. Enjoyed being able to read other writers' works, as well.

by Alejandro M G M

2018年10月25日

It was challenging and inspiring, one of the best courses I have taken. I took my writing to new places and learned quite a lot : ) Thank you so much for the opportunity and platform for learning.

by Dahou N

2020年11月14日

An impressive course that help you improve your writing skills and takes your creativity to the next level. If your future dream to be a writer than I recommend this course for you.

by Donna R

2021年2月23日

This course was very interesting and I learned a lot . The course materials and videos are relevant and of high quality. I would therefore recommend others to enroll.

by deepshikha

2020年7月7日

I love this course. It helped me discovered the writer within me. Thanks to Wesleyan mentors for guiding us. It had been a wonderful experience learning from you all.