Chevron Left
Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research に戻る

エラスムス・ロッテルダム大学(Erasmus University Rotterdam) による Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
138件の評価
37件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome! Are you looking to learn more about how to conduct scientific research, specifically in an urban or local context? Then you have found the right course: Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by the Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies (IHS), Erasmus University Rotterdam. During the course you will gain more insight in the different steps of the research cycle, and build a firm foundation for your own future research endeavors. Before any (urban) researcher may start conducting research, it is crucial to understand the different aspects and elements of doing research. The course will guide you through the various steps of the research cycle to provide you with the basic knowledge necessary for any Master-level program, but with a special focus on urban and local development. The course starts with introductory lectures on the problem statement, research objective, empirical cycle and the research question. Over the following weeks you will also learn the components and criteria of the theoretical framework and operationalization, research strategies, and the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data. You will be provided with the necessary tools to understand and evaluate these key steps in scientific research by watching video lectures with in-video questions and by completing the final peer review, which will use all the elements you have learnt throughout the course....

人気のレビュー

TS
2020年11月22日

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

AT
2020年7月16日

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

フィルター:

Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research: 1 - 25 / 37 レビュー

by Syeda I N

2019年9月24日

It has helped me a lot. It was a very effective course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research in Studying Cities. Thanks a lot to Course era and the IHS family to give me such an opportunity to gather knowledge once again after completing UMDT 5 in 2014. It was great!!

by Gabriel M

2020年12月21日

Excellent course ir you are in a process of making a thesis in a urban problem. It is very organized with a great content

by Augusto A

2020年5月26日

This is a great course for those who want to pursue in studying cities.

by Katheryn P

2020年10月7日

Very good course. It helped me with my degree project.

by Branislav T T

2020年5月22日

Everything went almost perfect, except the last task which was too demanding. I recommend to think about another, more appropriate and not so time consuming knowledge assessment methods in this course. Also, some student are revengeful, meaning if you assess their task objectively that those are wear tasks, they do the same to your task no matter how good you did yours. Try to think about more objective way of assessing the final task as well.

by Olenka P

2021年4月10日

Personally I found the this course useful because presents all the steps to prepare a research proposal from the very beginning, all the presentation are clearly explained (there could be some terms not everyone know, but is possible to review complementary bibliography to understand better some concepts). However, something to improve could be the quizes since sometimes are too textual anyway are helpful to remember what was explained in each session. The final task is interesting, it allows to evaluate examples of research proposals as well as to be critic to score each part of it justifying properly and also to evaluate other students' evaluations and provide them a feed back. Many thanks to the team of professors!

by vidya G

2021年6月7日

The most important part I liked is the very comprehensive evaluation by me , a research proposal of Tenzic Temang, during his successful completion of for M.Sc degree in Urban Management ( UMD) from the Institute for Housing & Urban Development (IHS), Erasmus University, Rotterdam ( EUR) in the year 2017.

by Satwant B

2019年12月28日

The course on Studying cities has helped me to expand my scope pf research in urban studies form Historical research methods to a interdisciplinary methodology. The video lectures, notes and assignments have kept me on my toes and enhanced my research skills as social scientist.

by Caroline c

2020年12月17日

The course really helped me to have a clear picture on conceptualizing research with substantial knowledge on relevant procedures. It is going to help me in my present job as well as to prepare proposal for my PhD.

by Nurbek A

2020年12月13日

This course is really interesting in design and the way it examines knowledge, attention, and general logic. Itself, the course is very important and helps to provide insight into the learning experience.

by Tabinda S

2020年11月23日

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

by Аксанов Д О

2020年3月21日

The course is enjoyable and exciting! Being a non-specialist I got great pleasure studying this interesting and comprehensive course to improve my general knowledge.

by Aye N C T

2020年7月16日

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

by Bruna S

2021年5月7日

The course offers a great opportunity to learn about methods of academic research with a focus on urban planning.

by Vaida

2021年3月15日

Thank you for a consistent, helpful and informative course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research.

by Michael

2020年7月13日

Exceptionally well crafted modules. The videos and assignments encourage and task learning .

by Nur A

2021年6月8日

This course is one of the best Social Science Research Course I have ever taken

by abdo m

2021年4月23日

Great course for students who want to prepare their thesis proposal.

by Lina J

2020年11月4日

A very clear and concise course, good marking methods.

by Arwin B

2021年1月8日

Difficult to accomplish yet so satisfying to complete

by Jigme T

2020年11月12日

Very insightful and lively learning materials

by Mohammed T

2021年1月24日

Super useful, I would highly recommend it!!

by Jannatul F R

2020年8月31日

Excellent course and I have learnt a lot.

by Akpene G

2020年12月9日

The course was educative and informative

by Saurabh P

2020年6月8日

Great Teachers and very useful course.